We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Mayo clinic patients”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel. Check in was a little rocky, their computer system crashed and we had to wait an hour. We were pretty tired when we got there (10 pm after a day of work and a 4 hour drive). This was slightly irritating, but the staff was very friendly and accommodated us with drinks at the bar and free breakfast the next morning. They did everything they could to make up for it. Room was big, but small bathroom. They were also very accommodating about check out, we were supposed to be there 4 days, but only ended up staying 1 due to good news at Mayo Clinic. Very close to the Clinic within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location - close to Mayo, the Civic Center, restaurants, shopping. We attended a play at the Civic Center and took the skyways to get there, only a couple easy blocks away. (Nice if the weather is bad.) The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a great restaurant and lounge also, called Thyme. Very delicious food and pleasant staff. Had a perfectly cooked steak and fresh veggies along with a fresh-baked warm loaf of grainy bread. Martinis weren't bad either. The bar is cozy and the gal bartending was warm and playful. Very pleasant. So check it out. You'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and had a great view of the river and the city.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereintheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This Holiday Inn is very clean, it appears the room I was in was recently upgraded. The paint was fresh and the room was very clean. New TV as well. The bathroom was spotless and newly updated as well. It is close to Mayo Clinic and can be reached entirely inside walkways!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nukeguy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Wow - this was really disappointing, even for Holiday Inn. just checked in and already had multiple service failures:
- Paid $17 upgrade for "full breakfast" and got a $20 coupon.
- terrible desk personnel who will do nothing to accommodate us.
- Wifi that doesn't work
- Rock hard beds.

Hard to believe it falls short even for Holiday Inn.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Sean M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our apologies for the over-all issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, we have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family and I made a trip to Rochester to visit the Mayo Clinic and thankfully it was only 2 blocks away. We were very satisfied with the renovated rooms, restaurant and the superior customer service from everyone. Thank you for all of your help and yourcompassion. It meant the world to us!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone traveling to Rochester MN.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very long wait to check-in. They mixed up our reservations. After checking in - our rooms had smelled of cigarette smoke - which I am allergic. They said they couldn't switch us - cuz they were full. They said they would send someone to clean it out - they never came. Overall, the room was nice, good food, close to the Mayo Clinic. Air conditioning was also a problem - there was a blast of air and then it went off, until it got hot and then a blast of air came on again. Free Internet and business center use. Good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samalibhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear samalibhai,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had during check-in. We also apologize for the unusual smell of your room and the problems you had with the Air-Conditioner. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Your feedback will help us improve the service and quality of our hotel and to provide world class accommodations. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The rates at this Holiday Inn are lower than those of the Hilton Garden Inn across street, yet it offers equally nice rooms and is as close to the main Mayo campus. For those staying a few days, the rooms include a mini-refrigerator and microwave. The lobby is on the second level of the building, but there is an elevator for those who can't use an escalator. Plus the staff is gracious and knowledgable.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, consider asking for one high up over looking the parking lot. Not a great view, bu...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 51 in Rochester
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 51 in Rochester
754 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 51 in Rochester
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 220 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-6514 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: £84 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by the pedestrian skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and featuring live music every Friday night. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.50 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing