We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect any help for terrbile General Manager” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Don't expect any help for terrbile General Manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was in Rochester for business on a Saturday. I checked in before 5:00 pm and checked out about an hour later before 6:00 pm when I discovered that my business reason had been cancelled. I had only visited the room and dropped my luggage. I used nothing.
The person at the front desk said she could not give me credit and that it would have to be approved by the General Manager on Monday. I called the accounting office after a few days and she said she would send an email to the General Manager requesting the credit. After 4 more days I called and spoke with the General Manager and he would not give me credit for a room I did not stay in or use at all ! ! ! They are a franchise and you have no recourse up the Holiday Inn chain of command.
This is the kind of treatment you can expect at this hotel. Be forewarned!

Room Tip: Very customer UNfriendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptJerry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marwan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear sir :
as i remmember talking to you regards your refund, because you stayed for one hour and then checked out, assuming that you will get refund and when we refused to give you refund we are terrible people and you rate the property as (one point) after you have used the room, i am sorry that your plan has changed and you have to leave earlier but this is the rules you checked in for over an hour, and we have to charge you.
again i am sorry you feel this way and i want you to know that i value you as guest and appreciate your business, and really if you stayed with us you will enjoy your stay. again thank you for the review and have a good day. next time you are in town i could accomdate you better but i can't go against the rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    60
    58
    28
    27
See reviews for
61
38
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My stay at holiday inn was a big disappointment. The hotel is run down, the restaurant was closed, the parking was nearly impossible/huge hassle and the front desk staff not very helpful. We were told to park in the oversize parking, which is a joke, no room to get out. I contacted the front desk and told him my concerns,asked for other options. He had no helpful suggestions when I aksed if this is the only place to park. YEP was his response more than once. (NICK) The next day my friend tried to get out of the ridiculous parking area and was screamed at by the parking attendant. Another man came along hearing this and told my friend to report him to the hotel as he was being a rude jerk. (I think this was a maintenance man.) All the while I have just had a major surgery and am waiting to get picked up at the hospital and my poor friend was getting yelled at by some old nasty man that works for holiday inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pink warrior s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marwan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Maam
I am very sorry for the inconvenience that you faced during your stay, we value you as a customer and we appreciate your business. As far as the restaurant; Easter day is big day for us we served over 750 customer, from 9 am till 2 pm and that is the restaurant hours for the Easter day , as far as the parking, it is belong to the city of Rochester not to the Holiday Inn, and the employees there they work for the city; and they don't work for us. I am very sorry if any one of them disrespect your husband in any way. We don't tolerate that and we could report him to the city if you brought the matter to our attention.
Again we appreciate your business and your comfort means a lot to us also your opinion, if you ever choose to stay with us my name is Marvin and i am the GM i will like to make it right to you.
Thank you again and have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Convenient to Mayo so we selected this hotel. Parking is city owned and not free or included. Hotel staff was helpful and very nice . Room was what you'd expect from a dated Holiday Inn. Room was 77 degrees and after hours of AC warmed down to 76. Like sleeping in a sauna. Bed was good though . An average stay at best.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pudelpointerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear pudelpointerman,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that our location was suitable for your needs and you found our staff helpful and nice. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the air conditioning system may have caused you. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel is facing South Broadway and the hotel parking is actually around the corner at the 2nd street parking ramp. This parking ramp has an accessible ramp that goes into the hotel lobby. You enter the Broadway entrance at street level and can take an escalator or elevator to the 2nd floor lobby.We used to stay here before the remodel which reinstalled the pool, turned the breakfast room into part of a conference room and ditched free breakfast. It is better to eat at the Mayo cafeteria anyway. The redo was done on the cheap and rooms all have plastic cups. The beds were a little too firm for us and we were unable to get extra hangers in spite of asking the maid twice. Being able to control the room temperature with your own thermostat is a nice feature. The pool is great if you have kids. Rooms around the pool are noisy. Thyme restaurant is average and service was slow during our visit unless you ordered at the bar. Burgers are good. Hotel is connected to Mayo by skyways and subways. It takes around ten minutes of brisk walking. A little bit farther than most of the other connected hotels. If the weather is good you can easily walk it in less than 10 minutes but you will be crossing streets. The hotel is also right across the street from the short but nice historic 3rd street. The business center (room) at lobby level seemed to work fine. Internet access is horrible to get and/or keep. Probably will not say there in the future. One plus is that the free shuttle to the clinics only takes about 5 minutes.

Room Tip: If you are going to the Mayo, call the hotel directly for the better "Mayo patient" rate w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stillwatercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear stillwatercove,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We are delighted you found our elevator speed commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review and make necessary improvements needed.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Visit to the Mayo Clinic was reason for the stay. Check in was super easy and the hotel location makes it easy enough to get to clinic via sky walks. The hotel is located right across the street for Historic 3rd St good eats and cute shops. The service here is fantastic and Jeremy at the front desk is awesome! The only reason I didn't rate the sleep quality better is the construction going on next door, they start 6am and it is loud but it won't go on forever!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalenDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
323 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our stay this year for the annual visit to the Mayo Clinic was the Holiday Inn on Broadway in downtown Rochester. The hotel is clean, and very friendly staff. The subway system that connects the hotel to the Mayo Medical Facility and many shops is very convenient. We arrived to very cold and windy conditions, so being able to walk protected from the elements made the stay very comfortable. There are many hotels to choose from in the area, we have stayed at others in the past. This year we are very pleased with choosing the Holiday Inn. Great price, comfortable room, easy access, and it's on the bus route to the airport. We will stay here again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that faced Broadway, some construction noise during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here for a basketball tournament. Full hotel with many kids running wild. Staff did a great job of keeping things under control when parents did not. Common areas clean and inviting. Lots of areas to gather on the main level. Wide hallways and big rooms. Comfy beds. Even with a full house, still was able to get extra blanket and pillows right away. Breakfast provided for tournament guests left much to be desired as it was only rolls and cereal but better than nothing! Not a fan of a downtown location as the parking ramp was a pain to get in and out of and a long walk to get into the lobby sometimes. Was a good location tho for all the game locations. Staff good. Pool clean and safe.

Room Tip: Stay at upper levels to avoid noise from crowded lower levels. 2nd and 3rd floor especially busy due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
#47 of 52 in Rochester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#17 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Address: 220 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-6514 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by the pedestrian skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and featuring live music every Friday night. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.50 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing