We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attended for Business - good location w/ skywalks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Attended for Business - good location w/ skywalks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for business 2 nights - pulled into the parking garage and the device read 'Full'. There is a person in one of the exit booths - I explained I was a hotel guest and he raised the arm so I could park - there were limited spots available. This is an older hotel but clean and well maintained. The skywalk from the parking garage will take you to the 2nd floor of the hotel - just follow the signs to the lobby; the lobby is small and on the 2nd floor, by the bar area. If you have kids and want to use the pool, ask for the 2nd floor rooms right off of the pool - you open your door and boom, there is the pool. I stayed on the 7th floor facing Broadway - the street noise wasn't too noticeable and the church steeple lit up at night is very pretty. I would recommend a small fan to drown out any street noise. The room had 2 double-beds - they were comfortable, a night stand between the 2, a desk, a dresser w/ a microwave and flat screen TV. There are limited outlets - none available to charge anything on the nightstand between the beds. The bathroom had a shower / tub - clean and everything worked fine. The hotel is a block from the Mayo civic center and if weather is bad - connected via skywalks. There is a nice river walk between the hotel and civic center. As a rewards member, I was provided a $10 off a $25 bill in the restaurant. There is no complimentary breakfast or evening beverages. Good place for a well-maintained basic needs lodging.

Room Tip: If you have children and want to use the pool - there are rooms on the 2nd floor that open right up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn - Downtown during your recent visit to Rochester. I am pleased that you accepted my invitation for our IHG Social Mixer, and thank you for being an IHG Member! Thank you for noting the convenience of our property, tucked in the center of Downtown Rochester, in close proximity to the Mayo Clinic and the Mayo Civic Center. If your future business trips bring you back to the Rochester area, I hope you'll choose to stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    61
    59
    28
    27
See reviews for
62
38
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston City, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I liked the hotel. We checked in very late on a Wednesday and looked forward to sleeping in a little in the morning. My complaint was that instead of propping the doors open when cleaning a room, cleaning staff go in and out of the room by letting the door slam on the top door latch. This went on repeatedly at each room down the hall starting at about 9:00. There is no excuse for that type of noise! How can you enjoy a relaxing stay with that going on outside of your room?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nova G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Nova G,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn - Downtown. I appreciate the information you shared about the housekeeping staff. I will be using this as a coaching opportunity with the team here, to prevent disturbances in the morning. My Housekeeping manager appreciates your comments, as well. If you make a return visit to Rochester, I hope you'll stay with us again. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel has seen its better days. Room a little shabby, worn bedding, small. Restaurant pretty ordinary. Lobby is on 2nd floor, so elevators are a little misleading which indicate lobby is on 1st floor. Got a good bargain through Hotwire, but the additional charge of $13 for parking made this hotel not such a great bargain for Rochester. Location was good though.

My advice: there are better options in this city.

Room Tip: You pay extra for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knitterforallseasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn - Downtown. I apologize for the fact that you didn't feel the value of this property met your expectations. We do appreciate your stay, and will look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is the first time I have stayed at this property. I was warmly welcomed when I arrived. My room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Best of all it was very quiet all night long! It was a convenient location for my Mayo appointment and for the festive Thursday summer activities downtown. I was treated to a food/drink reception and was able to meet other guests. There are wonderful restaurants nearby and at the hotel. I will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn when I return to Rochester because it was a great experience for me!

Room Tip: As in every hotel, stay away from elevators and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank celebr8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Celebr8life,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn - Downtown. I am happy that you enjoyed the IHG Member Reception that we hosted. Thank you for being our guest! If you make a return visit to Rochester, please come stay with us agian. We look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Was there for surgery for my daughter with my brother and sister-in-law. Very convenient to all Mayo buildings and downtown. Rooms were comfortable and quiet unless young children not supervised well were in the pool. Parking is another story. $13 per day. Really? I already knew this beforehand. Most people do not. Please post this with your rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Diane F,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn - Downtown during your recent visit to Rochester. I am pleased that your stay was a comfortable one for you and your family. Thank you, as well, for the notation on the parking rates. I will re-check to ensure that our parking rates are posted on all booking engines we utilize for reservation creation.

Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
342 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Most Holiday Inns are 3-level motels. This is a 12-story high-rise, in the heart of downtown. Right on the skyway close to Mayo or the Convention Center and the parking garage. This seemed like a nicer place than the average HI, too, somewhat befitting the "hotel" rather than "motel" model. Food was pretty good, but service was occasionally slow. When I had to extend my stay, they were gracious and accommodating, and even found a room for my colleagues. No complaints, no standout performances.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snochasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn - Downtown.

Our hotel is unique, as we have many privately owned condos that rest atop our convienently located hotel in downtown Rochester. With 8 guest floors, we have a large quantity of rooms to accomodate for our visitors. Our staff goes out of their way to be accomodating to all of our guests, and I am happy they were able to do so for your colleages.

Thyme Restaurant, located on the lobby level of this hotel, has a something for everyone, serving breakfast, lunch, pizza, and dinner. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at Thyme.

Thank you, again, for staying with us at the Holiday Inn - Downtown in Rochester, where we look forward to serving you agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had a wedding inside the event center and staff were pretty flexible with allowing us time to set up our site beforehand, However there was a lady who was very pushy, telling us how she wanted things to go and we didn't agree,

In the end there was another staff member who absolutely catered to my needs and everyone else's, very professional. He spilled my drink at one point during the event and wanted to get me another one, Very nice gesture. I said there was no need to worry and he thanked me for my patience. He also came over to the head table several times to check on what we might need, and quickly got anything we asked for, He even cut the cake when we asked and dished it up in no time. Stellar guy, Whatever you pay him, double it !

The next morning when it came time to checkout, we were under the impression that included in the price of the rooms for the wedding party guests is that the parking for them was included in the price, yet some guests ended up having to pay at the gate to get out.. One my the guests were absolutely furious about this, We felt like the GM of this hotel got a bit of an attitude with us, flat out told us it wasn't part of the room rate, instead of providing us with the ability to assure us it was 100% included or not, Perhaps one of his employees lured us in with the lie of free parking... Not sure.

What really pissed me off was we saw on multiple occasions that a select few employees were sitting around drinking our alcohol, and at the end of the night were seen "finishing the keg"
We also have pictures of them in our photobooth, clearly not doing their job, and using another thing we provided for the guests to use.

The suite we were given as part of the whole deal was in a very noisy location and we were awakened many times in the morning hours before we desired actually waking up.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeaceandLove2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear PeaceandLove2014,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced brought about by noise levels and unacceptable behavior of our hotel staff. We take such comments from our valuable guests into serious consideration for this will help us target these specific concerns and make necessary steps to improving our service.

I hope we get the chance to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Broadway Plaza
Broadway Plaza
#34 of 52 in Rochester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#20 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
#48 of 52 in Rochester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Address: 220 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-6514 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by the pedestrian skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and featuring live music every Friday night. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.50 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing