We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Rochester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Rochester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MainStay Suites(Rochester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
462
406
150
50
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
462
406
150
50
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindow seatmayo clinicwafflesrooms are smallfree shuttlereasonable ratescontinental breakfastroom was cleanshort stayhard boiled eggsqueen bedrestaurants and shoppingone night staywould stay againdesk clerkgreat place to stayshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,065 - 1,070 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2011

If we had stayed one night only, this would have been a four star review. We stayed two though, and found out more than we wanted to about this hotel. The first night was super quiet. Room was so clean, bed was comfortable. Tiny room, but I guess that's why they have micro in their name, it wasn't an issue. Breakfast we good, not a lot of choice, but they have waffles, cereal and pastries, cranberry and orange juice and milk. Enough to make a decent breakfast.
Our room was on the third floor, room 329. It has a non smoking sign on the door, but make no mistake, this is a smoking floor. It was strong in the hall, but not bad once you get inside the room. I would have preferred to be on a floor that was totally non smoking but like I said, once we got in the room it was ok.
The biggest issue we have with this hotel, and the one that will keep us from ever staying at one again is NOISE. Our first night was quiet, probably because they were not full and we didn't have anyone across from us or on either side. The second night though, we had people on both sides and across the hall. Amount of sleep...NONE. We could actually hear the person in one of the rooms turning over in bed. And across the hall was a family with a very fussy toddler. It was like the baby was in the room with us, and he cried, screamed, squawled all night.. Absolutely NO SLEEP. Because of this, we would not stay at a Microtel again. They skimped big time on sound proofing. It's a shame because the rest was very nice. Staff and housekeeping was very nice and did a good job, but that doesn't make up for paper thin walls and lack of sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerladytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

We have been told by many that are rooms are rather small in size and that our smoking rooms on third floor brought out the smell in the hallway. Our staff is always ready to tackle new issues that our brought to our attention and will be delighted to know that their hard work is recognized. Our management team is always invitive to new ideas on how to improve our hotel to make it the most enjoyable for all of our guests. This situation will most definetly be directed their way. Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and I pre-paid for a nonsmoking room and noted on the reservation that we would be arriving late since we left Milwaukee after work to drive to Rochester. When we arrived we were sent to a room on the third floor. As soon as we opened the door to the room it was obvious that it was not a non-smoking room since it reeked. I returned to the desk and asked for a nonsmoking room. The clerk insisted that the room was non-smoking. He said there were no other rooms available except the handicapped accessible room on the first floor which had been booked but the guests had not arrived. We were not willing to take the chance that the guest who needed the features of the room would arrive and find us in the room they needed so we spent the night in the reeking room with the window open as far as it would go. Again I spoke to the clerk in the morning and asked to speak to the managers, but the desk clerk said they were in a meeting. The third floor of this motel is a smoking floor. The lower two floors are non-smoking with signs posted on the doors. Apparently if the motel is full they just stick guests in a smoking room on the third floor and insist that it is not a smoking room despite all evidence to the contrary. Despite our very reasonable complaints, the staff did nothing to compensate for a nasty night.

Room Tip: Do not pre-pay so you are free to walk out of here
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mketraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

It is disturbing to see that your stay was far from pleasant. The most disturbing part of this review is the behavior of our staff. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, however it is very upsetting that this situation was not addressed from the moment it happened. Our sincere apologies go out to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Two mom's and two teenage girls in town for a volleyball tournament -- received great rate on a suite -- upon arrival we were offered 2 choices for the same price because something needed to be repaired (handicap suite, or 2 adjoining rooms with 2 beds/1 couch/ 2 baths) -- chose the latter -- enjoyed 2 great rooms and a wonderful free breakfast and great service!

Room Tip: explain what you need and why you are staying
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waffle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

It is exciting to see great written so many times in one review! Our staff is quick to provide other options when unexpected issues come about. It is a pleasure to know that even when problems occur we are still able to make your stay enjoyable. Thank You for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Microtel Inn. The personnel were always helpful and friendly. We got just the basic room, one queen bed, small desk, window seat. For what it is, a place to sleep, it has a comfortable bed and pillows, very clean and well maintained. The heating/AC unit is very quiet and has a fan mode to keep the air circulating. This may seem strange but you are able to fully open the window for fresh air. The breakfast was fine with waffles, fruit, bagels, cereal. The shuttle to Mayo was always on time and easy to use, this is the first pickup on the route we always had a seat. On check out they have business cards to take that encourage you to write candid comments on "Trip Advisor". They obviously know the value to continue good service and comfortable accommdations. Stay here, I don't know how you would be disappointed unless you want a large room to walk around in, then stay in one of the suites with refrigerator and microwave

Room Tip: Rooms on front side quieter - but are the suites
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikecohike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Yes our one queen bedrooms are smaller than an average size room. Many guests have complimented on how efficient they are for the size where as some guests do prefer the larger room. It is great to hear such nice comments especially to know that people are spreading the word to friends about our hotel. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

*Easy to find. Located on the west side of hwy 52 at 41st Street. Restaurants and shopping of all types minutes away.
*Rooms maliciously clean and well ordered.
*Friendly staff ready to take care of any needs you might have
*Heat pumps in each room to keep you as warm or cool as you like
* Excellent Continental breakfast
* On shuttle bus line to Mayo
*Very reasonable rates!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisacannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

WOW! What a great review. Our staff here at the Microtel work towards making sure every guest has a great stay. We are pleased to here that your stay was enjoyable and look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you very much for your comments!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews