We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, comfortable, gracious and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very clean, comfortable, gracious and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for a week while at the Mayo Clinic. The room was extremely clean, the furnishings comfortable, and the staff friendly, welcoming, and helpful at all times without being intrusive. We commented to each other several times during our stay on how impressed we were. This is a budget extended stay motel, so we expected to provide our own shampoo, etc, and knew that the daily maid service would be minimal. The standard for this sort of motel is different from overnight hotels.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better. Windows open for a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zig Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    35
    16
    16
    12
See reviews for
36
26
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I echo Debra M.'s recent review. I was stuck in a smoking room, even thought there were other rooms available. If I wanted one, I would need to pay another $15. The clerk was rude, two other staff I encountered that day were extremely unhappy. I was given a can of Fabreze to make my smoking room better, which of course did not work. This is not the first time I have had a negative experience at an Extended Stay America hotel

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, ask to be placed far away from any smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Alec - The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not have any non-smoking rooms available at the time of your check-in. Please know, while a booking through a third party does not guarantee a room type, if you call us directly after booking, we would do our best to fulfill your request at no additional charge. Still, our maintenance staff is working to eliminate the smell as soon as possible.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at RST2@extendedstay.com. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Although I made the reservation two months in advance for a non-smoking double queen room, I was put into a smoking room because they had nothing else available. The room smelled horrible and so did the beds and pillows! The manager did nothing to make the situation better and did not seem to care that we were unhappy. I had reserved a block of nine rooms for an event and other people in our group also had problems. I do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't assume you will get a non-smoking room just because that is what you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I booked this hotel because of a good rate. The hotel staff was very helpful and cheerful.

It was advertised as a full kitchen, then I found no oven (so no pizza). The trash was not taken out daily. No hair dryer. No small hair care products. I booked a non-smoking room and I did not receive that.

Because of these factors I will not be book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsmalley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

While missing things like a pool and fitness room, the room was nicely appointed and very quiet even though we were next to the freeway. Another great thing, the windows opened up so we could get some nice MN summer weather. Don't count on a fancy breakfast - but it is okay. Staff was very friendly - even when i kept needing new keys. :-). All in all a great value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineKaren2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with stay and that my staff is friendly, and that we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Very, very nice hotel at a great value. Wonderful, friendly staff! We will stay here again when my husband returns to Mayo Clinic. Rooms have a large refrigerator & freezer...save money and food shop just a short distance away. Be prepared to not have housekeeping services and to exchange your towels at the front desk. I prefer not to have housekeeping come in because then I can leave my stuff out. We usually stay at timeshares so we don't have that service anyway. Having a mini kitchen and a super clean room make up for what some would consider shortcomings. Jayla & Kathleen at the front desk make up for the rest!!!

Room Tip: If you smoke, this is one of the last frontiers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Shirley - Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed your room and the amenities that our hotel has to offer. As well, it is great to read that our staff was so helpful to you during your stay, especially Jayla and Kathleen.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Buxton, Maine
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Clean, neat and with everything you need to stay. Whether that's for a night or much longer. This is a basic hotel, but well taken care of and very clean. The bathroom was in excellent shape. The only minor complaint I would have was that for me, the bed was too firm. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others as a convenient, quiet and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coop228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean, quiet room and our convenient location. Still, I do want to apologize for the firmness of our beds.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Rochester South
6.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - North
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Rochester - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Property: Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
Address: 55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Rochester - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Extended Stay, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Rochester - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Rochester
Extended Stay America Rochester
Rochester Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing