We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable hotel especially for a long stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel especially for a long stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a pretty bare bones hotel but the property is clean, the staff is friendly and I got a great rate ($50/night plus taxes). The rooms are spacious but you will need to supply your own toiletries, coffee and the morning breakfast is a grab-and-go with instant oatmeal, muffins, some fruit and coffee. Room cleaning service is included in stays of 8 days or longer. The bed was firm but not hard. I had a single queen room and that had a desk, small dining table, recliner and dresser. There is plenty of extra floor space to store suitcases, etc. The kitchen area is smaller but has a 2 burner stove, full size refrigerator/freezer, coffee maker, toaster and microwave.

The hotel is located off the interchange of 52 and 63 so it is easy to get to anywhere in Rochester. The shuttle runs once each hour and stops at several hotels along the way. The shuttle was late and after the stops, it was 40 minutes to Mayo from the set time of departure so plan ahead. This is a property to consider if you have an extended stay at Mayo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel and your stay. The staff and I are proud to have provided you with a clean room at a great rate. As this hotel's manager, I am especially pleased to read that my staff was friendly. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    35
    16
    16
    12
See reviews for
36
26
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked online about an hour before we arrived for a rate of $60. Everything else was full. You essentially get what you pay for. A full kitchen is nice if you are doing the 'extended stay'. The bed was OK, but a little on the firm and somehow saggy side. A/C worked, but the unit was falling apart. Rooms were clean, but could have been cleaner. The grab & go breakfast was deemed 'pitiful' by my 14 year old daughter on her way to a basketball tournament. It consists of coffee, prepackaged muffins, apples, oranges, bananas and dry oatmeal packets. That's it. You get what you pay for - be aware!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNOAKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I regret to read that you felt your room could have been cleaner. I will be working with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that this experience is not repeated. As well, I do apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our breakfast selection. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at RST2@extendedstay.com. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed at this Extended Stay America at least once a year for the past 5 years when I travel to the Mayo Clinic. I stayed here for 3 weeks on 2010. I have been happy with the quality of the property and staff. The front staff is always happy to see you. They offer a lot of information about the area and shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway for quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Patricia - Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad that we have been able to provide you with multiple comfortable stays. We are proud of our staff for taking great care of you.

Thank you again. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a convenient location - close to stores, restaurants and < 10 minutes from the Mayos. I had read a couple recent reviews after I booked and was a little nervous, but this was not my experience.
My room was very clean and large with a decent size bathroom and full tub and a convenient kitchenette with a stove, coffee maker, toaster, microwasve and a full-sized refrigerator – very convenient for longer stays and everything was spotless.. The furniture was modern with a large bed, desk/chair, a recliner and flat screen TV with a nice clear picture.
Staff was friendly any time I interacted with them. There is no pool or much lobby to speak of really. Breakfast wasn't much - muffins, granola bars and coffee, but since I had my own kitchen, I stopped at the nearby WalMart and picked up some breakfast items for my room. One thing to note, you don't get the daily room cleaning you would in most hotels. I believe they clean it once/week unless you pay a few dollars to have them come in and clean more often than that. This was convenient for me because I keep things picked up pretty well on my own and everything was where I left them when I return so I didn't mind it.
I'd recommend it to someone heading up to the Mayos for an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyToBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had to find an inexpensive hotel as we were going to be there for a few day running tests at the Mayo Clinic. The Extended Stay has the cheapest rates we could find (without it being a real dump) and so we decided to stay there. The staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms are old and outdated. They have stains on carpet and do not smell the best, but we just opened the window to air the room out and always wore house shoes on the floors. We took the comforter off the bed and asked the front desk for an extra blanket. We made it work. There is no maid service during your stay, so if you want any towels, you have to go exchange your old ones for new ones. You have to empty your own trash. But for a few days, it is ok.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rakool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff. Still, I’m disheartened to learn that our level of cleanliness did not meet your expectations. I will meet with our housekeeping staff to review our cleaning procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Please know, our housekeeping service is provided once a week for guests staying 8 or more nights. For those who are staying for shorter periods of time, services can be purchased for a minimal fee.

If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me directly at, rst@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We made a short visit here but were very impressed with both the cleanliness of the rooms and the helpfulness of the staff. Everything in the room was spotless, couldn't even find any dust on the picture frames or the top of the doors. The front desk staff were especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Staff was very courteous, and I arrived late, just before the front desk closed. Room was average, but nothing better. Heater was definitely needed given the -5 degree conditions outside, but the heat smelled a little funky. Bathroom was in need of being updated, especially around the shower area...one of those I preferred to put a towel down in the tub for. Carpet looked to be in need of a cleaning. TV was old. Fine for a night prior to a flight out of RST, especially given it's fairly close location to the airport but I wouldn't really get that excited about making it my extended stay for a long visit to Rochester.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Christopher – The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found our staff to be courteous. Still, I apologize that the condition of your room did not meet your expectations. As well, I am sorry that your heater smelled unpleasant. I will be meeting with our housekeeping and maintenance staffs to ensure your experience is not repeated. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. If you have any additional comments, please reach out to me at RST2@extendedstay.com. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Rochester South
6.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - North
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
6.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Rochester - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Property: Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
Address: 55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Rochester - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Extended Stay, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Rochester - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Rochester
Extended Stay America Rochester
Rochester Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing