We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty shrimp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Fish Shop - CLOSED

Hot Fish Shop
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visited this shop in a north side strip mall. Very clean, and my young friend who was dining with her Mom and I said the bathrooms are great. We all had the all you can eat shrimp special (Thursday night). The shrimp were battered in an almost tempura like breading, very light. Had a side salad and a baked potato. The fried fish served at another table also looked very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    5
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First try”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We live in the area and loved the original in Winona so gave it a try. I really wanted to like it for old time's sake but ....not so much. First, my wife had scallops and liked them. I had frog's legs and they were ridiculously bad. Smallest ones i've ever seen and super thick soaked with grease breading. Frozen fries right out of the bag. I never write restaurant reviews but come on now. You've got to try a little.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S4anibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LAME!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This past weekend my wife ordered their shrimp tacos.When it arrived it was a tortilla,a splash of cole slaw,some wilted lettuce and some microscopic salad shrimp that came out of a can.Add a splash of some mystery sauce & that was their excuse for fine dining.My son & I ordered the battered fried catfish and true to the other reveiws it was extremly greasy.Later that evening our son actually ending up getting sick at the place where he works.This is one family that will not be returning.Wishing I had my $57.00 back!!.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This looks like a fast food place with a few tables and chairs to sit. You order what you want, pick it up and pay. We brought our food to the car and ate looking at the sunset, a few minutes drive out. The fried fish was delicious with the sauce and fries were also English version of Fish and Chips!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicknet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Being from Winona wanted to give it a try. Kind of disappointed. As other reviews have stated, food was a little greasy. Had onion rings. Good flavor but kind of greasy. My wife had cod and I had shrimp, both batter fried. Shrimp was good tasting and batter was good, just greasy. Cod was about the same. French fries were very mediocre. Disappointed (shocked is more the word) that I had to pay extra for beets. A staple at the Hot Fish Shop was the pickled beets. And they used to be good!! To have to pay extra for a little dish of beets??? Oh well lesson learned I guess. For those who were wondering-it's not the same. Ok but nothing great. For the price I probably would not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Fish Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing