We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for Mayo Visits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspen Suites Rochester
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I just completed a stay at the Aspen Suites Rochester for a visit to the Mayo Clinic. On my first visit I stayed at a top brand name at a much higher cost than the Aspen. The rates for the amenities are fantastic. I stayed in a queen suite with pull out sofa bed, recliner with kitchenette and could not have been more pleased with my room. The Aspen was very clean, and the laundry facilities are free! The breakfast is very good and the shuttle service to the clinic is very helpful. The Aspen also gives a Mayo rate which is below their normal rates as well. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Aspen Suites Rochester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first experience at Aspen Suites. Excellent breakfast, & timely free shuttle to clinic. The suite had all the amenities & was well furnished. Extremely clean & heated underground parking. There were three adults in our group & it was perfect. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I spent one night at this great hotel. It was sparkling clean everywhere. We have no complaints of the staff at all. They were all great. We had a suite facing the busy street and it included a bus stop, so air brakes were heard constantly. I would request a room away from the main street for sure. The breakfast was quite delicious, too. For sure we'll return to this hotel if needed, in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happygal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenManagement, General Manager at Aspen Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Aspen Suites Hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you need to return to Rochester for a visit. Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We planned to stay three nights and needed to stay a fourth. The staff was quite accommodating with all our request, from staying an extra night to providing extra soap, finding a lost article of clothing, and calling a taxi for us. The suite was clean, quiet, comfortable. The linens are amazing. I can't believe how well equipped the kitchen is, down to paper towels and dish detergent. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious. The shuttle is convenient to the Mayo campus and the driver was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaCartgr492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

While my 7 year old son was being treated at Mayo, we needed a clean room with a kitchen nearby the clinic and hospital. So glad we chose Aspen Suites! We shared a studio suite (2 children and 2 adults) and found it to be just what we needed. Very clean. Nice sheets, blankets, pillows. Nice size kitchen for a four day stay. The hotel is across the street from the hospital and a very short shuttle ride from the clinic - perfect location. The staff at the hotel were all very kind and accommodating. The heated parking was great. This hotel is a great value!

Room Tip: Rooms facing 2nd street can be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This little hotel was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were clean, the linens were top quality, the staff was friendly, and all for a reasonable price. We needed a hotel with handicap facilities and the Aspen Suites offered a suite with a huge roll in shower, a queen bed and a recliner. The only hotel we called that offered that and did I mention at a reasonable price. There is underground parking and it is free. They offer a full breakfast buffet and evening snacks. The snacks included chicken salad sandwiches one night and chili with all the trimmings on another night. There is an excellent restaurant next door called the Canadian Honker. Good food and reasonable prices. The hotel is right down the street from Mayo's which makes it even more convenient than one of the hotels with the underground walkway or the sky walk. We loved our stay and if we go back to Mayo's, we will stay with Aspen Suites again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenManagement, General Manager at Aspen Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your generous comments about the Aspen Suites. I appreciate the time you took to share your experience with future guests. You will be pleased to hear that we will be adding additional handicap showers to other handicap rooms sometime this year - as these accommodations continue to be a favorite for our guests. Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If your loved one will be staying or getting treatment at St. Mary's Hospital (part of the Mayo network), we recommend Aspen Suites most highly.

Rates are some of the most reasonable in Rochester (ask for the Mayo rate). Location to St. Mary's couldn't be better. Literally a stone's throw (one-minute walk) from the hotel entrance to the elegant original 2nd-St. entrance to St. Mary's. (The hospital's new main entrance, where you can drop people off and which is handicapped-accessible unlike the 2nd-St. entrance, is a block west of the Aspen Suites.)

The fully equipped kitchenettes help you save money (we shopped at the Hy-Vee grocery store and Walgreen's just a few blocks north) and feel more at home by cooking your own meals. If you dine out, Tonic (whole foods), Presto Cafe (diner), and Canadian Honker (American) are within a one-minute walk.

We were wowed by all the complimentary accommodations here: full breakfast (eggs, waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit); indoor parking (the place we stayed last time charged us for surface parking); laundry facilities; fitness room, activity room.

Aspen Suites is impressively clean and well-maintained. Every staff member we encountered was courteous, cheerful, and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.7 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#20 of 51 in Rochester
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.0 mi away
Aspen Select Hotel
Aspen Select Hotel
#12 of 51 in Rochester
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 51 in Rochester
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Suites Rochester

Address: 1211 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1941 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Rochester)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#5 Family Hotel in Rochester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £110 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspen Suites Rochester 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aspen Suites in Rochester, MN! Located just off of Highway 52 and less than 10 miles from the Rochester International Airport. Whether you are in town on leisure or business travel, we invite you to experience our award winning hotel which is conveniently located directly across the street from St. Marys Hospital and less than 1 mile from downtown and the Mayo Clinic. Local businesses include IBM, Schmidt Printing, Kemps, Benchmark, University of Minnesota Rochester, and Rochester Community and Technical College.The Aspen Suites is an all suite hotel designed to let travelers feel more comfortable! Guests may choose from our studio, one bedroom, and the two bedroom/two bathroom suites; all featuring fully-equipped kitchens complete with full size refrigerators, 2 burner stoves, microwave oven and utensils.Our spacious living areas offer comfortable furniture and televisions with a DVD player. All rooms come with free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), two phone lines and personalized voice mail, ample closet space and storage areas, 24-hour business center with computer terminals, complimentary guest laundry, fitness center, and whirlpool spa. All guests will enjoy a free deluxe breakfast every morning and an evening Suite Social on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings where we serve a light snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aspen Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing