We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
235
75
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
75
21
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanadian honkerunderground parkingmary's hospitalacross the streettwo bedroom suitemayo clinicfree laundryhome away from homeevening snacksmini kitchenpots and pansdvd playerfull size refrigeratorstove topoffer freeheart surgerywashers and dryers
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Location is perfect for access to St. Mary's Hospital at Mayo. It is directly across the street from a hospital entrance. There is even a controlled walkway. It is a shorter walk from the hotel than from hospital parking - and no need to pay for Mayo parking.

The Aspen is a beautiful hotel - modern and well decorated. It always felt clean and fresh.

The amenities made a couple week stay very comfortable. Hot breakfast includes eggs, a couple meats, waffles, fruit, and more. Snacks are provided a couple nights a week. The kitchenette in the room included a fridge, freezer, stove, dishes and dishwasher. There is a laundry room with several free machines. DVD player with movie library was a nice touch.

The large desk and comfortable office chair in the room helped me get work done from the hotel.

Room Tip: It can be a long walk from the elevator on one side of the building to the rooms on the other side.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've just booked our second stay at Aspen Suites, so that should say something. The rooms are nice with enough room to not feel "closed in", with reasonable kitchenettes and all you need to cook for extended stays. The breakfast is a bit better than typical, and there is also a good breakfast restaurant next door if you want a "full" breakfast. We'll likely end up making this our Mayo Clinic home away from home when we travel for medical care.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Aspen Suites provided a quiet, comfortable and — for the Mayo Clinic area — affordable place to stay. It apparently has some age, but has been refurbished. Hallways are narrow and cramped when pushing luggage carts or handling big bags but honestly, nobody spends much time in the halls. The room was spacious and included a small kitchen, something very helpful for families of patients at Mayo. Aspen Suites are directly across the street from St. Mary's Hospital, a 15-minute walk to the main clinic area and shuttle buses pick up passengers at the front door. The staff was helpful and accommodating. I will visit the Mayo Clinic again and I will stay again at the Aspen Suites.

Room Tip: It's an old hotel so I would ask for a room on the fourth floor. I suspect those on the lower floors hear heavy walking from upstairs. That's only a guess though.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infinitycruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your sharing your comments with other travelers. I am happy that you felt we were a home away from home during your visit to Rochester. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel is near restaurants and the hospital. The breakfast area is attractive and nice size and the complimentary breakfast has a nice variety. They have a convenient laundry room for guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have made several trips to Mayo in Rochester over the last couple of years. We stayed with them when they were Staybridge Suites and after the renovation to become Aspen. The improvements are terrific. The rooms didn't change all that much, but the staff knew us by name & kept an eye out for mail and packages. In general, it was a very nice reprieve from the clinic waiting rooms and the hospital. There's a full game room, hot tub, and small exercise area with a fantastic view.

It is directly across from St. Mary's campus and the shuttle is timely. A little hint, if you miss the last shuttle and are at the Clinics, take the patient shuttle to St. Mary's and walk across the street. You'll save a few buck in cab fare.

Room Tip: First floor in convenient, but it faces the west so wind can be an issue and so can snow removal of the parking lot just outside. Higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews