We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk the grounds”

History Center of Olmsted County
Ranked #19 of 52 things to do in Rochester
Attraction details
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Walk the grounds”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We parked here to board the trolley and took extra time to go through the museum. I recommend walking the grounds and reading the sign posts as you do if the weather allows.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinAltHSTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mayville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FUN”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Fun place to learn about the city, Mayo clinic and IBM. We also went to the Rooster baseball game and it was neat to see what a 1860's game was all about!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good medical history--hard to understand organization”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The coverage of founding of City of Rochester and of the Mayo Clinic and the Mayo family was interesting, supported by interesting displays and video or audio descriptions. Some of the remainder of the displays (e.g., local architecture, coverage of wars involving US) didn't seem to fit well. Maybe I just missed the rationale behind including them. The video on international immigrants stories was superb. Good value for admission fee. Worth the hour-long visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bro_WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice place to learn area history”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I recently moved to the Rochester area and wanted to learn about the area history so I stopped in. It was very informative. Exhibits explained the start of the Mayo clinic, the history of Saint Mary's hospital, the start of the IBM corporation in Rochester and about the diversity of cultures in the area. The grounds also have an old homestead cabin, an old school and a barn. I am very glad that I stopped. It was well worth the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jmaes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day in yesteryear”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We attended the days of yesteryear event again this year; it's a great experience for people of all ages, especially families. There are lots of tractors and machinery on display, with other machines running. There are people with displays and kids can shuck corn, make butter, rope, and other activities. They have wagon and carriage rides, and all the buildings are open for the weekend. The museum is interesting and the schoolhouse, farmhouse too. It's in August; you can buy a button in advance or in person.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MNfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed History Center of Olmsted County also viewed

 

Been to History Center of Olmsted County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing