We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mayo Clinic Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
2nd Street Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Rochester B&B and Inns
Blanco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mayo Clinic Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed on two different occasions in the same room. The bathroom exhaust fan was powerful enough to keep the humidity down during a hot shower. There was plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable and the room held a good temperature. The appliances functioned properly. There is ample parking. The front desk was very helpful.

The Inn is served by a free shuttle to various Mayo facilities every half hour during the day. This was extremely important for our purposes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
5
1
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Like many visitors, I am in town to visit the Mayo Clinic for some health problems including bad allergies. Other than my allergies reacting to the dust in the room, I was very pleased with the cleanliness. When I asked them about vacuuming and dusting the place, the lady at the front desk and the housekeeper I happened to run into were very nice about it, offering to do it daily. Well, the dust must have settled, because my allergies calmed down so I did not need vacuuming anymore. I now had no complaints about the hotel and was pleased with my choice. Then I met the weekend housekeeper, Dennis. Steer clear of this person if at all possible. Because it rained that Saturday, I elected to stay in and put up a Do Not Disturb sign. Well Dennis came knocking on my door, showed me his notes that said "Vacuum daily" and not in a friendly way. I thanked him but told him it was no longer necessary. to which he replied: "Then stop leaving stupid notes." It is just one person, but it now makes me leery about their screening process if a person as antisocial as this Dennis is allowed to work here. This hotel is well worth the money and all the employees I've encountered have been very nice except for that one employee. It'd be 5 stars otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here for a month as a visiting medical student to the Mayo Clinic. If you are accepted to an away rotation you need to bring the letter with you when you check in to receive the discounted rate. There is ample free parking in an unsecured lot, and I didn't really worry about my car while it was back there. The hotel is near Highway 52 and there was never any traffic in Rochester, so I could easily go shopping at the Apache Mall or buy things at Walmart or Best Buy up the road. Going straight north on 11th Avenue would get you to a nice grocery store (Hy-Vee). I would definitely recommend having a car if you stay in Rochester; I did not try the public transportation however.

There are multiple buildings; I stayed in one of them on the top floor in a one bedroom apartment, which had a decent-sized living room with sofa and desk; a microwave, a full-size refrigerator and freezer and small table in the kitchenette; and a bedroom with attached bathroom. The air conditioning was nice and cold. The carpet was old and worn looking, but reasonably clean. There were large closets (nice to hang suits up in) and dressers to put your stuff.

My room lacked a television set, even though there was a stand for one and a card with the channel selection on it. I told the desk about this when I checked in, and reminded them a few times, but it took them over a week to give me a replacement (checked in on Sunday, didn't get a new TV until the following Tuesday). I didn't have a lot of time to watch TV but it was nice to finally get one.

The wireless internet was extremely slow. The Speedtest showed 0.10 Mb/s up and down ( http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/2836896625 ) and it was basically unusable for the month. I resorted to using the 4G connection on my phone as my main internet service. I did use my laptop for email and such, but if I ever needed to get any serious work done I just went to the Mayo library.

For the student rate, you receive new towels every day but they only change the sheets once a week. One morning I woke up at 5AM to shower and was greeted by muddy brown-red water coming out of the showerhead. It took a few minutes for it to clear up. I am still not sure what happened, maybe they were doing maintenance on the pipes. It did not happen again during my stay.

The best part of the hotel is its location, kiddie-corner to St. Mary's hospital (about 2-3 minute walk), where you can catch the employee bus to get to the Gonda or Mayo buildings. Otherwise, it is about a 12-15 minute walk to the Mayo building down 2nd Street.

All in all, it was by far the most affordable hotel available, but probably more expensive than renting a room from someone for a month. It certainly had its drawbacks but the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the top floor to decrease noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I needed a place to stay before taking my boards exams in Rochester. The room was smallish but neat and clean. Air conditioning worked great as well. The gentleman at the front desk was very polite and helpful. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I am not sure what the other rooms are like..mine was a queen with a comfy bed and adequate space to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#8 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2nd Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2nd Street Inn & Suites

Property: 2nd Street Inn & Suites
Address: 1013 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-2983
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 2nd Street Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 2nd Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing