We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice property”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed 4 nights for a conference in early Nov 2011. 4th floor. Room was a suite, kitchenette. Clean room. Quiet. Really couldn't tell if other people were around my room or not, but told that the hotel on most nights was full.

Smaller work out room with 1 Elliptical machine, 3 treadmills and a very small bench with a center of room large TV with probably 60 channels, but the 3 times I worked out I was the only one there.

Has indoor garage parking which was extra $14 per day that I did opt for.

Free wireless internet.

Does connect underground to the Mayo clinic which is probably 2 small blocks away. The Mayo Civic Center was about 8 blocks away (15 minute walk outside, 25 minutes via the skyway and walk-subway system)

There is almost no nearby restaurants and no close by grocery stores. There is a Starbucks and a Caribou coffee and a Jimmy John's sub shop 2 blocks away, and past this some restaurants that I couldn't find much information about and did not go to.

They had a small standard breakfast availabile in the am that I did use.

Thought that price was expensive for the room, but understandable considering that I booked this with 1 week notice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    68
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
80
27
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waldport, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Worth the money. No need for a car. Shuttle services available to get around. Walmart bus to get needed supplies. All shuttles free. Full kitchen, good breakfast. Safe, convenient, made the trip comfortable for my traveling companion. Did have to get a taxi the morning of my procedure at ST Mary's (under 10 dollars) as the shuttle service doesn't start until 6:30 A.M.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I have stayed at the Residence Inn twice during trips to the Mayo Clinic.
The Residence Inn is a short two block walk to the Gonda Building at Mayo, and does offer a shuttle.
This time I had a room through Marriott Rewards points, so it was a queen studio, which was two nearly separate rooms which shared a TV, but no door to the bedroom.
The bedding was very fresh and clean, with comfortable pillows. The sofa looked like it was ready for replacement upholstery soon, but all was clean.
This hotel has the best garage in Rochester! It is right off the front desk area. well lit, clean, and secure looking.
Breakfast was fine, the usual RI fare.
All in all, with the extremely clean and comfortable bedding, and comfortable surroundings, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSTRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Good Morning,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that you will consider us for your lodging needs when your future travels bring you to the Mayo Clinic. Your helpful input helps us to maintain our guest satisfaction focus and brings us the satisfaction of knowing that our hearts are in the right place. We are at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We come to Rochester several times a year and this is the place we always stay. The management and staff are excellent. Any time we have had a problem or question they were there to help immediately. Front desk staff is well trained and knowledgable about the hotel and Rochester. The premises are well maintained and housekeeping service is excellent.. Breakfast is a real treat and the "breakfast staff" are very friendly and seem genuinely glad that you are there. The manager has built an excellent team. It is a pleasure to stay at this facility.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSTRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for this positive review. We value our guests and strive to make them feel at home when they are away from home. We look forward to welcoming you again when your travels bring you to Rochester, MN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had to stay here b/c of an unwanted trip to Mayo. We were forced to extend our trip by 8 days and Lori (the General Manager) went above and beyond to accommodate us for our extended stay. The rooms were clean and the studios had a ton of space. The location is perfect to get to Mayo as everything is connected via "tunnels".

I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSTRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Good Morning,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are always looking for new ways to take care of our guests while they are here visiting the world reknowned Mayo Clinic. Should your travels bring you to our area again, we hope to be of service.
Sincerely,
LD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel is very nice and well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful. We were in Rochester for the Mayo Clinic and since the Residence Inn is connected to the Mayo Clinic via the subway tunnel, it was very convenient (about a 3-5 minute walk to the clinic). The hotel and clinic are located in downtown Rochester which is very nice. We walked a lot and felt quite safe. The hotel rooms are clean and have nice flat screen TV's, comfortable beds, and kitchens with full refridgerater, stove top, microwave, dishwasher. The continental breakfast is good, too. They have some hot foods such as eggs, breakfast sandwiches, belgin waffles in addition to the normal continental breakfast foods. All things considered, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkiemom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSTRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your kind words and helpful input are always appreciated as we strive to care for our guests. Have a wonderful day .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I've visited Rochester many, many times, and so far, this is the best stay ever.

Our room was very spacious, with everything we needed in it. A coffee maker was in our room, but we opted to go to the lobby for their excellent fresh brew. The complimentary breakfast was better than the majority of hotel offerings. I noticed that fresh fruit was available everywhere. Thanks for that!

Staff was friendly and helpful, giving us suggestions on the ever-changing restaurant scene in downtown Rochester.

We've stayed in other hotels, and now we know which one we'll revisit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSTRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. I'm glad that you like the fruit!
We consider it a little "extra way" that we can take care of our medical guests.
An apple a day :-)
Hope to see you next time you come to Rochester MN.
Have a wonderful week .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 441 W Center St, Rochester, MN 55902-3037
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rochester
#13 Business Hotel in Rochester
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of home, all the convenience of a hotel, directly connected to The Mayo Clinic via an underground walkway. Our all suites hotel offers full kitchens in every room as well as complimentary breakfast, a lounge area and an outdoor patio to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester
Rochester Marriott
Rochester Residence Inn
Residence Inn Rochester Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing