We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Extended Mayo Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn during my husband's stem cell transplant at the Mayo Clinic and it was excellent! The one bedroom suite was clean and roomy and offered full kitchen, micro, dishwasher, and full-side refrigerator. The hotel provided complimentary grocery service, which proved a godsend as we could not go out in crowds once the procedure started. They also did a "deep clean" on his actual transplant day and then provided clean linens and trash emptying without entering the room after that, to minimize outside contact. We took advantage of their generous and tasty hot breakfasts each morning. Unlike some complimentary breakfasts that only offer cold items and pastries, the Marriott breakfasts always included scrambled eggs, a breakfast meat, and potatoes, in addition to a waffle maker, breads and bagels, yogurt, hold and cold cereal, and fresh fruit. The staff was friendly and professional and sincerely eager to serve. And, the Mayo campus was easily accessible through the subway system, even when we needed to go in for an emergency visit late in the evening, so we did not need to use cabs or head out into what proved to be a pretty grim winter landscape in January! We highly recommend the Marriott Residences for your Mayo visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here about 9 days, and it was fine. Its location is very good when you are a patient at the Mayo Clinic (or a family member), especially in the winter as you can get around indoors using the underground walkways (Subway) or above ground (Skyway).

It was quite expensive, especially in comparison to some other hotels, but did have the full size refrigerator and a stovetop--although our Studio King did not offer an oven. Still, it was much better than a micro-fridge room.

The room was comfortable and relatively nicely appointed. In addition to a sofa/sofabed, it had a separate desk, and a kitchen table and chairs. Bed was comfortable.

Most residences offer weeknight snacks with beer and wine 4 nights a week, but they only did this Mon-Wed, and the offerings were less than great. And, they didn't offer beer or wine, which had many folks grumbling, as this location is not near any good grocery or liquor stores.

Housekeeping was good, except despite being told not to touch the recycling I'd set aside to take across to the bins, each day they trashed them.

Breakfast wasn't bad, with a few good options including fresh pineapple some mornings. They varied the main dish, so sometimes they had more than just scrambled eggs, and of course the waffles and continental breakfast stuff. However, the common room was small and the tables for breakfast were hard to come by.

There was no pool or hot tub, which we sorely missed.

Also the hotel doesn't offer its own shuttle service, but relies on the Mayo Shuttle on weekdays (which only goes to the clinic and hospitals--although if you learn where places are, you can get stuff done within walking distance of St. Mary's if it's not too cold) and the WalMart shuttle also runs 6 days a week --but that's a 40 minute ride each way, so it takes planning.

Guest laundry is good and not too expensive at $1 each a washer load and dryer load--and I always got my clothes dry in one cycle.

It was extremely cold during our stay, and the hallway was very cold.

The guests are a melange of various cultures, and it's not uncommon to get to the small common room and see the TV set to an Arabic or other foreign station.

Would we go back? Yes, if we had a short stay and needed the convenience of downtown. The price makes it prohibitive for a long stay for most people. But it is also great for those with people at the Mayo Methodist Hospital, as you can come and go at all hours without fear, and don't need a taxi. I never felt unsafe in the subway, regardless of the time of day.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Catholic church, so we did hear church bells daily. It did not bother us, but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan Fagnani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a special getaway with my Wife, the hotel was amazing, the staff friendly, and even a nice breakfast! Room was so nice, had a kitchen which was so handy. TV Was nice, lots of channels, enjoyed resting in the Bed watching TV.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My family and I stayed at the Residence Inn. We arrived and were welcomed with warm smiles. We instantly knew we were in the right place. My mom was in the hospital, the access to the hospital was so convenient. We were treated with compassion, it seemed the staff always had an ear to lend! The staff always went out of their way for us, whatever we needed, they were there for us. The rooms were really nice.....very clean, roomy, and for as long as we were there, very comfortable!!! The most important part for me? The staff, I'm still in touch with Brooke, that's how much they touched our lives at such a tough time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great experience from pleasant and knowledgable front desk staff to clean rooms and wonderful breakfast! This is always my first choice when I travel and I recommend it often to friends and family! The location to the Mayo can't be beat and is so efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triptwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was a great choice of a hotel for my extended visits to Rochester, MN for work. I stayed at the hotel for two weeks a month beginning Sept 2013 until February 2014. The front desk staff, especially Demetrius and Lauralee were very cordial and Miss Julie, the housekeeper was great as well. They help me with getting taxi service, food delivery, dry cleaning services and much more. I would recommend this hotel because it had easy access to Mayo Clinic especially during the cold winter days. I did not even have to go outside, the hotel was connected to a subway system.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hotel has very hard access for those in wheelchairs. A single door with a second single door airlock. It is also locked in the late afternoon for security so trying to navigate the doors and using your hotel card in a great deal of effort. This is compounded in the winter with bad weather. This location also has limited indoor parking but does not save any spots for handicap guest.

The parking lot is down around the block and the employee lot is next to hotel kind of strange. Lots of walking to get the car.

Very small lobby and entrance - the rooms are dated. The suite had a fire place and is a must in the winter as the hotel controls the heat (not the thermostat).

Location to Mayo Clinic is fine and the rooms rates are fair for the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 1-A-M-R-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam K, General Manager at Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to report on your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott. I apologize your experience did not meet your expectations. Our staff works very hard to provide the best experience they can while a guest stays with us. Thank you for noting our indoor parking, we are one of the only hotels to offer that in downtown Rochester. Our outdoor parking lot is just around the corner from the building, the lots adjacent to the building are not owned by our hotel. Once again I apologize your experience with us did not exceed your expectations and I hope we can serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
796 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 441 W Center St, Rochester, MN 55902-3037
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rochester
#13 Business Hotel in Rochester
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £100 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of home, all the convenience of a hotel, directly connected to The Mayo Clinic via an underground walkway. Our all suites hotel offers full kitchens in every room as well as complimentary breakfast, a lounge area and an outdoor patio to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester
Rochester Marriott
Rochester Residence Inn
Residence Inn Rochester Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing