We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...especially in the winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location...especially in the winter”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

For the dollar, this property is one of the best bargains (if there are any) in Rochester. It connects to the Mayo Clinic underground pedestrian subway which is wonderful in the dead of winter. The rooms were clean and the hotel was very quiet.

Front desk people were friendly and efficient. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libertyva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    68
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
80
29
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
fla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

anyone who says this hotel is great full of it. The rooms are nice size, the furniture is VERY uncomfortable (old dilapidated), maid service is non-existent (room are dirty : glasses, floors kept with visible soil(dirt) and i seen cleaner motels rooms. THIS REVIEW IS OVER A WEEK

good luck, if you want to come to mayo and clean your own room after a hard day of test this place is for you.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank review411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

This was our second visit to this Residence Inn and we were actually more pleased this time than our last visit in July. After a two-day (21-hour) road trip, we decided to check in a day early and called ahead to verify our room request. When we arrived (very, very tired), not only was the room we requested available, but all our information, parking space number, etc. were waiting for us at the front desk. In fact, a luggage cart had been placed beside our parking space! To our surprise, a welcoming gift of a mug with hot chocolates, candy, etc. was delivered to our room. What a nice touch! This location is so convenient – especially being connected to the Mayo Clinic, shops, restaurants, etc. by subway…much appreciated in January!

  • Liked — Location; service
  • Disliked — Maid service (several did not show up for work; therefore, creating a back log in getting rooms cleaned)
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank supreme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

The hotel has positive points: location--right next to the Mayo, large clean rooms, on site parking, the staff will go grocery shopping without an additional surcharge, walk to the downtown restaurants.
On the negative: on a long term stay the hotel is suppose change the linens every 3 days--I have had a problem with this; the hotel has wi-fi in the rooms--slow and they also have a hard wire connection- the room came with a 2 ft wire making a person use the Internet sitting on the floor after 3 requests finally I was brought a 10 foot cord; they have afternoon snacks that are fattening and/or cheap served with cheap wine and beer and finally breakfast---typical motel bacon, eggs, yogurt, poor cereal selection, fruit, bagels and english muffins--it gets old and tired after a couple of days.
The Residence Inn is ok but not great.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Housekeeping, Internet, Front Desk
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ugaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

I am a Marriott Rewards Member
This was my third time at this Hotel in Rochester. I like that Marriott is non-smoking. I had a problem being put in a room with no window in the bedroom part of the suite. The living room window faced into a brick wall. I checked to see about another suite and I was told that none of them had windows in the bedroom section. I paid to upgrade to a one bedroom.

When I was getting ready to check out the maid was cleaning in a suite that had an additional window in the bedroom section. I informed the person at the desk about the misinformation. While this may seem like a small issue to some folks it was an issue to be in a clostraphobic room for the first two days and nights.

My biggest disappointment is the fact that Management had to insist that I had misunderstood them and that no one could possibly given me the information I was telling them.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tandum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

This hotel is very close to Mayo Clinics. It is very clean, the rooms are spacious, housekeeping staff is excellent, and you can cook in your hotel room kitchen. Some rooms include separate bedrooms.

It also hosts a nightly social in its lobby. And, in the a.m.,free breakfast is served. And it's good quality, not just a few cereal boxes and milk, a high quality breakfast with eggs, pancakes, fruit, oatmeal.

Mayo Clinics is a grouping of buildings within 2-4 blocks of each other. This hotel is two blocks from Charlton (the Methodist Hospital), and 2 from Gondo which is connected to the Mayo Building. Easy walking distance.

I highly recommend this hotel. I was so grateful to have it to return to each day.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NC-member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2007

The people who work at this hotel are just amazing! They always have a smile on their face and everyone always has a hello for you.

  • Liked — The employees
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carriebearb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Broadway Plaza
Broadway Plaza
#32 of 52 in Rochester
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 441 W Center St, Rochester, MN 55902-3037
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rochester
#13 Business Hotel in Rochester
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of home, all the convenience of a hotel, directly connected to The Mayo Clinic via an underground walkway. Our all suites hotel offers full kitchens in every room as well as complimentary breakfast, a lounge area and an outdoor patio to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester
Rochester Marriott
Rochester Residence Inn
Residence Inn Rochester Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing