We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always lovely”
Review of Michael's - CLOSED

Michael's
Price range: US$8 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The "Classic American Restaurant" has been serving quality steaks and fresh and innovative seafood for over 62 years. The "New" Michael's now proudly run by third generation restaurateurs, Michael, George, James, Laurie and Barbara blends a combination of established traditional steakhouse cuisine with current cutting edge foods and new culinary trends to create an ever-evolving dining experience for our guests. This will mean healthier, more organic salads and vegetables, sustainable wild-caught fish and seafood, and a larger selection of prime/high choice, natural and grass fed meats. Enjoy a daily lunch, dinner, a special business meeting or romantic occasion in one of our many warm and inviting dining rooms. Please join our new and longtime patrons who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as dining guests in our restaurant. Michael's a "New" Classic American Restaurant.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always lovely”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wonderful food. Great ambiance. I've never been disappointed. It's my "go to" place when people come to town or I need a business lunch place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    83
    38
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This has been on broadway of Rochester as long as I can remember. It is know for good steaks and seafood. The food is good. It has an old world charm to it. It is a rather dark ambiance inside. Notice all the well-known pictures of visitors on the wall. You should try at least once.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“all around good”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stop there every time I pass through Rochester. It has fine food and great service. Nothing to complain about. Even parking is easy and free!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, IL
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed...”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

After reading all the glowing reviews, we were looking forward to trying Michaels. We had a reservation and we were seated immediately. The room we were seated in was very crowded and on the loud side. Our server seemed over-extended, so our service was slow and we felt unattended to. Food was good but not great. I am sad to say that we would not probably return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful evening of dining”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We walked into Michael's from the parking garage and the minute you see all the pictures on the wall from past visitors you know the place is special.
The ambiance was wonderful, warm, friendly, and classy, wait staff were very professional, and friendly as well.
The food, we ordered Fillet's and shrimp, shrimp was excellent, and the fillets on a scale of 1-10 were about a 7. They were good, but if you have eaten at places like Shula's they were a little shy of that mark. Dessert we had cheese cake and creme brulee' both were excellent, so save room for dessert! Overall a great experience would eat there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J63P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing