We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned and not a great value”
Review of Michael's - CLOSED

Michael's
Price range: US$8 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The "Classic American Restaurant" has been serving quality steaks and fresh and innovative seafood for over 62 years. The "New" Michael's now proudly run by third generation restaurateurs, Michael, George, James, Laurie and Barbara blends a combination of established traditional steakhouse cuisine with current cutting edge foods and new culinary trends to create an ever-evolving dining experience for our guests. This will mean healthier, more organic salads and vegetables, sustainable wild-caught fish and seafood, and a larger selection of prime/high choice, natural and grass fed meats. Enjoy a daily lunch, dinner, a special business meeting or romantic occasion in one of our many warm and inviting dining rooms. Please join our new and longtime patrons who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as dining guests in our restaurant. Michael's a "New" Classic American Restaurant.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old fashioned and not a great value”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went to Michaels expecting a nice meal. The atmosphere was very old fashioned. The food was very average and the steak was like leather. Not worth the high prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    83
    38
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Eating in Rochester”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

On a pirate's map it could indicate "Here be good food".
So don't be put off by the dark interior decor, whichever of the several dining areas you find yourself in. Along with the waitresses uniformly dressed in black and white, it emphasises the stability and solidity of serving the good citizens of Rochester fine food for over a century. Equally, don't be misled by the high percentage of diners over 55. A quick glance at the menu will show that this is no cheap early evening diner for the elderly. They are there because they know where the good stuff is to be had.
For this is definitely a restaurant for a fine dining experience. Expect to hear more than one rendition of "Happy Birthday to You" from a tables with parties of smartly dressed customers.

So once you get seated what can you expect from the menu?
Appropriately praised for both steak and sea food, often with a Greek influence, we went for the 12 oz Prime Rib. If you are particularly hungry, try the whopping starter portion of deep fried onion rings. The steak was preceded by a choice of either soup - clam chowder, bristling with shrimp and clams in an appropriately tasty broth - or a spinach or lettuce salad. The spinach salad came with a lemon dressing which was curiously served warm : but it worked. Equally memorable, for the right reasons, was a basket with generous helpings of soft bread rolls, bread sticks and garlic toast.
So what about the beef? A pointer to the quality of food and the pride taken in its preparation is the warning in the menu that the restaurant cannot be held responsible for steak which is ordered "well done" - although our experience was that the chef is prepared to give a steak a further grilling if "medium" looks too "rare" for the taste of the squeamish.
The Prime Rib was tender to the knife and delicious on the palate. It was accompanied by either potato of your choice (we opted for the gratin) or vegetables (the asparagus with hollandaise was praised.)
We didn't have room for dessert, though there was a selection of tempting home baked goodies.

So this is one where you can take Great Aunt Mildred with confidence, when it is your turn to pay.
But it is also a good venue for the seriously hungry but discerning diner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,025 reviews
499 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
“Perfection through the ages”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I used to live in Rochester and went to Michael's several times a month. This is a special restaurant in fact my husband proposed to me in one of their cozy rooms. I took my daughter for lunch and we ate in the library. The decor is as if we ate in an actual English library. The waitstaff was very friendly and attentive. I ordered the broiled Canadian walleye entree which came with a salad with a very delicious bleu cheese dressing and a baked potato for $13. My daughter ordered the red snapper for $12. The waitstaff said the mashed potatoes were not real but they tasted great. I doubted her and ordered the baked potato but my daughter ordered the mashed potatoes and they truly tasted wonderful. Notice the halls that have celebrity pictures on the wall. I would highly recommend this Rochester institution.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesotans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice!!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice selection on menu....food good.
Location within the mall......steaks, seafood.
Had shrimp and steak combo and it was good!!! Order it again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, nutritious lunch”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent pear salad & flavorful shrimp stir fry as depicted in the submitted photo. Bread was only average. The waitress obviously enjoyed her job.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing