We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the street from St. Mary's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel is perfect for six a.m. check-in at St. Mary's Hospital. The parking ramp for the hotel connects by skyway to the hotel. There was a flat rate for parking and a nonspecific direction of "don't stay too long" when I asked when the car needed to be out of the ramp the next day. There have no adjoining rooms, so I selected a two-room suite due to traveling with a family member who needed some assistance. I was a little surprised when the desk staff asked in a clear voice if I preferred room 300 or 500: since I'm female, clerks are usually careful not to mention room numbers. In the suite, we had to make the sofabed, different than I have experienced in other hotels. It could have been cleaner and better lit, but it was fine for a short night. We did not use the internet or televisions. The room would have been well-furnished for a longer stay: wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, desk, and good space. On check-out, the front desk had a telephone on the counter to summon staff who responded very promptly to my call.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0vernight0nTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings about the Courtyard Rochester. It is from this type of feedback that we can enhance our guest’s experiences. We appreciate your kind words and compliments and we will be sure to share those with our team! As well we appreciate knowing how we could do better for you and other guests in the future. We will be reviewing your survey with our staff to ensure that future guests have a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed for a couple of nights at this hotel, when I got there the front desk staff was nice and promptly gave me my room keys and also a ticket for a free item from the market in a pinch store. The room was cleaned, but as soon as turned on my laptop, I started to have problems with the hotel wireless. They used a vendor that has been reported to have many problems for users who need a VPN connection or high speed service. I almost left the hotel because internet is something that I need in my room. called the front desk and they had a network cable available, this helped a bit. They have lcd screens in the room, no dvd players. Buffet Breakfast is not included but available for around $10 and there is a $4 parking, which was not too bad. The hotel is close to locals bars and restaurants downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicamlopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Thank you for the positive comments and your concern regarding our wireless internet. We understand that having access to the internet is important to most of our guest and we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests experiences. We hope to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I had to come to town for a funeral and needed a nice place to stay, the Courtyard had a great location and was perfect for getting a quiet nights sleep. There are a few nice places to eat in walking distance so I did not need a vehicle to get around. Thanks so much to the Courtyard Marriott for making my last minute trip easier!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelhoney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our hotel and location. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This property is across the street from St. Mary's hospital. It is a modern hotel in an area that makes you feel like you are walking down the street in the 1940's. The rooms are very roomy and we had three rooms for families. The onsite restaurant and bar are very convenient and there are many places to eat in the immediate area. There is are also a few places to get a cup of coffee just down the street. If you are a runner, there are great roads to run both east and west. In just a few miles, you are in the country enjoying the signts and sounds of farming life. The staff was very helpful and provided anything we asked for. The fitness center is small with limited equipment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Thank you for the compliments regarding our hotel, restaurant and community. The staff takes pride in our property and Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for four nights while our dad was at St. Mary's Hospital. We wanted a quiet, clean, comfortable hotel room with nice beds and lots of pillows. It is one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in and was a wonderful place to come to during a difficult time. It was very quiet, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. An added bonus was the restaurant which had excellent food and service. Our room was spacious, and the bathroom sparkled. Thank you to the Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room being at the end of the hall, and it had a balcony which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tchnrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

We are glad that you found comfort and convenience during your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott during such a difficult time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed there on 3 nights. The main strength of this hotel that it is just opposite St. Mary's Hospital. We saw the St. Mary's staff help a patient who was just discharged from the hospital put his suitcase and belongings on a wheelchair. He then wheeled the wheelchair across the street and checked into the Marriott Courtyard! The wheelchairs are, apparently, regularly picked up at the hotel and returned to the hospital.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. We did not see any bellhops to help with luggage etc. When we asked for help, they told us that we could drive our car up to the second floor of the hotel garage and unload our luggage near the elevator, and use the elevator to take the luggage up to the room. This worked out very well. There is a restaurant on the main floor. We had a quick lunch there and found the food to be quite adequate. Breakfast is not included in the tariff but you can get a good breakfast at the restaurant for $8-10. There is an exercise area - small but adequate. For Mayo Clinic patients, there is regular shuttle service from the hotel to the clinic (or they can walk across the street to St. Mary's and take the patient shuttle from there).

One small problem we encountered was that they were unable to email the folio to us (this is routine in other Marriott Courtyard hotels). They were very apologetic about this issue and promised to email the folios when the manager returned from his vacation. We did not find this to be a big deal as they gave us printouts of the folio. Would definitely stay at this hotel if we have further business at St. Mary's Hospital.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thank you for the positive comments about the Courtyard by Marriott. We are always striving to make each individuals stay as comfortable as possible no matter what reason they are here for. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My brother got married in Rochester and used this hotel for out of town guests.

Check in was simple and quick. The rooms were clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The bar inside the hotel usually closes at 11pm but the female bartender kept it open for a couple of hours. After the wedding reception we were able to use a conference room for the after party. The room rates were very reasonable. If it wasn't for the below I would have rated this experience a 5.

WARNING: There is a male with glasses and brown hair who served us breakfast in the morning. He seemed a little awkward telling my brother and I that he had lost 40 pounds in 30 days or something like that. This same male worked the bar prior to the wedding in the hotel. This employee showed up at the reception uninvited late in the night with a video camera. He scared female wedding guests by saying, "He knew how to get into rooms." Many of us didn't find this out until later the following day after leaving. The hotel was notified of this male. I don't know how or if this situation was addressed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluelineMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thank you very much for the compliments regarding our hotel. We are incredibly disappointed that a former member of our staff impacted your experience at our hotel. Please be assured that this type of behavior is unacceptable and not to our usual standard. We are so sorry that this affected your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 50 in Rochester
1,308 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
764 reviews
1 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Address: 161 13th Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902-0349
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £107 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys Hotel Rochester
Rochester Courtyard
Rochester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing