We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed here twice in the past 18 months, both for conferences at the Mayo Clinic. The hotel location is absolutely perfect, right in the middle of the city. Everything was within walking distance and the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly in helping me find places to eat and setting up my ground transportation. The rooms are a bit dated, but well kept and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

The rooms might seem a little small but are very cozy. I liked the way things were positioned so you didn't hear your neighbors TV or toilet flushing. The beds were very comfortable. I liked that you could control the temp in the room easily. It was nice to be able to run the fan when the room seemed a little stuffy. It is very convenient to Mayo with the connecting subway-walking level. Amazing breakfast spread with lots of variety. Many things on property like Caribou Coffee, Jimmy Johns, and an in-house restaurant. It is very convenient to park in the underground garage. If you have a large vehicle though you may need to park elsewhere as there is low clearance. The staff was very helpful. I would stay here again if I need to go to Mayo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have stayed at the Kahler Inn and Suites since first coming to Mayo Clinic about 11 years ago. It has always been clean and acceptable. On this trip, the room we received had a very outdated bathroom. There was hair in the bathtub, and the faucet leaked. Plus, the bathroom door would not latch. In addition, we found hair on one of the pillows which made us wonder if all the linens had been changed. I know that some of the rooms have been remodeled, but they really need to work on updating bathrooms. In fairness, there have been some great improvements such as a complete update of the restaurant. The food and atmosphere is greatly improved. And, the complimentary breakfast has also been improved. I just hope that the issues that I addressed can be corrected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been completely remodeled, including the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

You could spend more money, but you will not get better service anywhere in MN. Wonderful staff and a GREAT location! When something is wrong, they fix it! Staff is exceptional! Ms. M. at the front desk is wonderful with matching your needs to the available rooms. The housemen are fantastic and I highly recommend asking for Big Mike or Michael. Breakfast is exceptional and is included in your room rate. The restaurant is very good and a great bargain. Jimmy John's is also located in the lobby as well. This is a great hotel and if you have to visit Mayo, this is the hotel where you will want to stay!

Room Tip: Second Floor has pool, guest laundry, and great breakfast! Ms. M at front desk is wonderful. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We looked online at the reviews before we booked and decided on the Kahler Inn and Suites. Some of the negative reviews had to be before they renovated the place; there were no problems with our room at all. We called them to make the reservation and found out that if you book directly with them you get free parking on site. The room was small (not a negative for me) and cozy. Everything was clean and neat and current. The king bed was very comfortable. For the first time ever we brought our own microfiber soft and warm sheets; it made the bed feel even more like home and we will do that every time from now on. I don't like cotton sheets anymore after having microfiber sheets and I don't expect the hotel to provide them. The hotel has underground access to the Mayo Clinic so you never have to go outside; excellent! We were able to park under the hotel and walk right into it and get right on the elevator; excellent! We looked at the Kahler Grand and other hotels after we were there and you can see there are more upscale places; along with upscale costs. I am very happy with our experience at the Kahler Inn and Suites and would not only stay there again but recommend it to anyone going to the Mayo Clinic. All things considered it is a great value. I also want to say how amazing the Mayo Clinic and all their staff are; they have truly earned their stellar reputation!! Now if I could get my old body to quit falling apart!! :-)

Room Tip: Though I have not slept on the other size beds, the king bed was really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeMC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

!00% for helpful staff and easy access.
Decor is tired and although some updates have been done we still felt it was a little 'old looking'
Can't fault location and again the staff 100%
Room service was good, the restaurant was a little on the expensive side for some items but the serving staff were incredibly helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

During my stay in Rochester for treatment at Mayo clinic, I stay in Kahler Inn &Suites it was very nice and the staff there helpful and room very good and its location close to Mayo clinic.
I enjoy during my long stay in this hotel and sure when I come back again to Rochester I will stay in this hotel.
Thanks
Nader

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nader178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
748 reviews
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £88 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing