We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to go elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Try to go elsewhere”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Kahler Inn and Suites is very handy to Mayo Clinic and downtown and it has restaurants nearby. The rooms are large and clean. It looks less like a nursing home than the Kahler Hotel which is nearby but the common areas are not nice at all. The clerk at check in was not friendly and clearly held my reservation is low esteem because of me having gotten it through Expedia. She first told us check in was not until 3 when I arrived at 2:30 and did not greet me otherwise. She then said our room was ready and went through a monotone lists of the many rules of the Kahler Inn and Suites concluding with a disdainful statement about having to pay for parking because of having booked through Expedia. The pool and hot tub were ugly and looked as if they had a medical purpose in a previous life. There was rust and trash under the heating elements clearly visible from the hot tub. Both hot tub and pool were very shallow. The towels at the pool were tiny and thin. There is nothing at all enjoyable about this facility. Breakfast is included and served near the pool in a small room. It is a very ugly, dark and dank room with unappetizing looking food. Of course the price is not inexpensive. I am sure there is a much better choice in this price range. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    207
    118
    46
    34
See reviews for
277
90
72
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were told by Mayo Clinic to reserve 5 to 7 days so we got a reservation for seven days at this hotel. The diagnosis only took 2 days. When we asked the hotel management if they could refund any of the $750 of un-used nights they said that they could not because we booked not through them. I then called the booking agent through the hotel's request and they sent me emails telling me that they talked with Eva at the hotel and she had charged for the entire stay so evidently they lied to us and if you look they have posted they are the hotel with a heart! We will never stay at the Kahler Inn and Suites Hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very disappointed with the way you were treated regarding your reservation at the Kahler Inn & Suites. Unfortunately I have heard this story too many times. When a reservation is made with a 3rd party (Expedia, hotels.com, etc) these reservations are made as non-cancelable reservations. Since it is a non-cancelable reservation we are unable to refund due to the agreement with the 3rd party reservationist. I apologize this happened to you and your family and I would suggest next time making the reservation directly with the hotel you are booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, wis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had two suites while attending Mayo Clinic graduation ceremonies. Clean, comfortable, and close to the action. Will return here every time. This was our family's second stay and we were happy with all the details of the visit.

Room Tip: The suites were really nice as we had to travel with older adults who really could spread out and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Though the hotel itself is very average, and the rooms are a bit dated, when I requested an air purifier due to allergies, I was thrilled that they very quickly had a Pure Room (pureathome.com) purifier in my room by the time I arrived! For someone who has allergies, this was worth every penny spent on the hotel. I immediately reserved a room for my follow-up visit to Mayo!

Room Tip: I was told to request a room that was higher up in the hotel - very good advice, and I would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRhodes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not a luxury hotel by any means but it serves the purpose when your going to Mayo. You can't get any closer and you can walk through the subway if it's January. Lobby is very small and congested. Main restaurant is just ok. I did appreciate the free breakfast on the 2nd floor although it opened about 10 minutes late the day I was leaving. It was described as "continental" but included scrambled eggs and biscuits with gravy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbtrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not a bad hotel for a quick two night overnight for a baseball tournament. Staff and amenities were as expected for location and rate. Pool is a bit small, but anything is going to look small with 30 kids jumping over each other. All in all a good trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterSandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent room, very convenient location. Parking information a bit sparse, try the north garage area first and if it is full then try the south underground garage before going to the "Graham" parking garage on the north. Had to ask to have the bed linens changed.
Forget the "fresh" food place at the Kahler...there are much better places to eat. Try the dining area in the basement of the Mayo Clinic building before the dining area in the hospital building.

Room Tip: Rooms to west, upper floors have best view, but if you are there for treatment you may not really ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnaandbob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing