We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for a Mayo Clinic patient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
International Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent for a Mayo Clinic patient”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic! I am a regular patient at Mayo and stay here at least 2 times per year for at least several days. For my last appointment I had to come alone and was scheduled for a procedure that Mayo would not let me leave unless I was accompanied. Kahler, along with Mayo, have a fantastic program - A Ticket to Ride. What a wonderful program and Cory, the bell man, was wonderful!! Thanks to the entire staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    203
    116
    45
    33
See reviews for
273
89
71
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a small suite which turned out to be a blessing, as my husband developed pneumonia while undergoing some testing at the clinic. So our time was extended from one week to two and one-half weeks. It was no problem getting the extensions, which was greatly appreciated. We had a small suite - living room with tiny kitchenette and bedroom - very roomy and comfortable and an excellent "home away from home.." I appreciated the free shuttle and the desk's willingness to call a taxi for me on weekends and their pushers taking my husband back and forth to the clinic. Considering all the unexpected time, stress and illness that happened, the Kahler was a good refuge..

Room Tip: If you are staying any length, choose a small or mini suite - the extra room and kitchenette make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location is excellent for anyone having appointments at the Mayo Clinic. We appreciate having the continental breakfast available and the underground parking. I liked the addition of Freshens - food is delicious!!! Cory, the bell hop, is amazing - extremely helpful both times we have been there (April and June).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Honestly I don't know why anyone who is visiting the Mayo Clinic would stay anywhere else. I have been here at the hotel all week in the Jr Suite and couldn't be more pleased. I realize this hotel room is probably the biggest one in the hotel and is well worth the extra $$. There is a separate kitchen with all appliances. There is also a dining table, couch and a very large desk for business. The room contains 2 queen beds. The hotel is only a few steps across the street from the Gonda and Charlton Building. Yesterday I had 7 separate appointments at the Charlton building and was able to come back to the hotel several times during the day. Being able to come back to the room and checkin with my family was a huge plus for me. If I come back to Mayo I will definitely stay here again. The free breakfast included biscuits and gravy, eggs and fried potatoes plus all of the regular continental breakfast items. Very good for a free breakfast! I didn't have any issues with parking and always was able to find a spot in the North lot. If you need groceries there is a great organic grocery store People's Coop a few blocks down. The store is similiar to a small Whole Foods. All of the restaurants were good at the hotel. Jimmy John's was convenient for sub sandwiches and Caribou Coffee was excellent as always. We ate twice at the Crossings Bistro. The Walleye Fish Sandwich was my favorite. BEST TIP-make your reservations directly with the hotel either through their website or by calling. By doing this I was able to check out a day early without penalty and receive free parking.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a suite or kitchenette on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soona99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

So my flight going to Japan was cancelled and the Delta company had us stay over a night in this hotel. The room is clean. Nice place to relax and at the same time to have fun too! in the morning there was free breakfast! A very good breakfast! But, the Delta shuttle bus left me behind and me and my two other friends running late for our flight.. What the General Manager did was he called the Delta company and advised him to get to Airport going to St. Paul Minneapolis. He took care of everything. He assisted us and got us to Rochester airport by Taxi and he was so nice that he paid the transportation for us. P.S good internet connection too! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jereica Aiko E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very happy with our visit. Excellent customer service - thank you Olivia! Clean and comfortable rooms. Great expanded continental breakfast. Love the fact that Mayo clinic is just across the street. Caribou, Jimmy John's, Freshen's and Crossing's Bistro & Bar all right off the lobby!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MNdeborahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in a suite with my family for a visit to Mayo Clinic. The room had a strange layout, with the bathroom sink in the same room with the beds. This meant when someone got up in the morning everyone was up. The hotel is nothing great, bathroom fixtures are dated and rooms are a bit shabby, but it is connected to Mayo Clinic facilities and less expensive then others with this convenience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CW1670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing