We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Stevensville, Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel experience”
Reviewed 6 March 2010

This was my first visit to Rochester Minnesota, and I was very pleasantly surprised by the personnel and accommodations at the Kahler Inn and Suites. My wife and I were there for a visit to the Mayo Clinic, so the reason for the trip was somewhat stressful. The receptionist at the main desk was very helpful and courteous, and provided us our room, even though we were checking in at 1pm, instead of 3pm. Our room was very nice, a somewhat older décor, but clean and very comfortable. Our daily service person was Cheryl, and she did a great job. We have stayed at hotels where we have requested our room be serviced say in the morning, and have come back to find it not taken care of. This was not the case at the Kahler, as they have a tag that you place on the door, requesting service. Each day the room was serviced by the time we returned. I was very pleased with the service, accommodations and certainly the location to Mayo is a big benefit. The underground walkways to Mayo and the immediately surrounding buildings is impressive, and as this was February, the temperature was to 6 degrees Fahrenheit, on some days. I would highly recommend the Kahler Inn and Suites to folks staying in Rochester MN, and especially if you have business at the Mayo Clinics.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vobung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    207
    118
    46
    34
See reviews for
277
90
72
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed in a mini-suite. Worked well for my father, brother and myself. Liked the layout and it worked well to have the bath/toilet separate from the sink. Also loved having Caribou coffee right off the lobby, as well as a Jimmy Johns sub shop and the parking. All things were close and convenient and truly eliminated stress of where to stay and how to get to the Mayo clinic. An easy corridor at the 'Subway' level provided simple access to the Mayo clinic. They were also gracious to allow us to keep our car in parking until our appt was done even after checking out that same day.

Already recommended it to family for future stays. There's no doubt this is where we'll all be staying for future May clinic visits. Also would be great for Civic Center events as it's in a great location in Rochester.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15frogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

The inn is clean, very helpful service, indoor parking, from room to Mayo's just a few minutes walk. Nice breakfast in the mornings. Would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogibearillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I stayed here prior to and after surgery at Mayo. The rooms were clean and roomy. It was quiet which was great because of needing rest after surgery. It is not a new hotel by any means but it does not have a run down feeling or appearance. I stay in a hotel about 300 days a year and I can tend to be rather picky. For the price and the needs I had during my stay this hotel fit the bill. The location is great for Mayo. It was very cold and snowing and I never had to go outside to get to Mayo, Methodist Hospital, or many fine shops and restaurants. I will stay there again when I return for my post surgery checkup.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed at the Kahler Inn/Suites in Rochester, MN for 10 days because of an extended visit to nearby Mayo Clinic. We thought the hotel staff was very helpful and efficient (front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance), and would highly recommend this hotel for travelers looking for comfort, convenience and reasonable rates. The hotel also features a franchise coffee shop and restaurant at ground level as well as a delicious in-house breakfast option. The hotel is connected to the Mayo Clinic subway system, which lets you access Mayo buildings without going outdoors (important in a Minnesota winter). We will be making other shorter Mayo Clinic trips in the next several months, and will definitely use the Kahler Inn/Suites.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCustomerAmesIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2010

If you are in Rochester to visit the Mayo Clinic this is where you want to stay. It is conveniently connected directly to the clinic via the pedestrian subway. We were able to get to our appointments without going outdoors (during winter in MN) or having to wait for a shuttle or cab. Free parking in the attached garage is a plus. We stayed in a Queen Suite, which was roomy and comfortable (including the temperature) and reasonably priced. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Jimmy John's and Caribou Coffee right off the lobby -- gotta love that! I had heard about "Minnesota nice" -- here I experienced it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuehmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed at the Kahler Inn & Suites while going to doctors appointments at the May Clinic. The staff is all so friendly and accommodating - they bend over backwards to see to your every need. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds are comfortable. The exercise area is very nice as well. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwing30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
1,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing