We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay especially if going to the Mayo Clinic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay especially if going to the Mayo Clinic”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We were plesantly surprised while staying at the Best Western Soldier Fields. The staff was extremely helpful and great people to deal with. They always seemed to go above and beyond our expectations. We stayed in the extended stay with kitchen. The shuttle service was fantastic - they made it so easy to go back and forth to the Mayo Clinic and restuarants. The room was clean and in good shape. The only thing that would have been better would be a little larger bathroom - we found the storage tight for three people. Also the food at Twigs was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Mayo Clinic or just a long stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. We are thrilled that our staff was so helpful and went above and beyond for you during your stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Extended Stay Suites. We are glad you were able to use our shuttle service that we offer only our guests and were able to get back and forth with no extra added [stress! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed Twigs Tavern and Grille and were able to enjoy a nice relaxing meal. Thank you so much for your recommendation, it means the world to us! We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    138
    53
    31
    35
See reviews for
185
66
41
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our volleyball club was in town for Rochester Cup and we had the best experience. We reserved a banquet "party" room for our team to gather. The staff was very accommodating and hotel rooms were very clean. And the BREAKFAST...wow I felt like I was at Perkins... it was amazing!
Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We love our sports teams. We are glad you were able to gather in our banquet room with your team and enjoyed your downtime from the Volleyball tournament. We are so happy to hear how accommodating and helpful our staff was and your guestroom was beyond your expectations. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our free expanded breakfast buffet. Thanks again for your great comments and we look forward to the next time your volleyball team stays with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

By far this is the worst Best Western i have ever stayed at. I am a PLATINUM REWARDS card holder. The customer service i received was below average. So i talk to the manger Myron. Now i see where his employees get their customer service skills from. If i was part of the Best Western franchise i would take the name away from them. i would rate my family's all around experience with this Best Western as well below average. The suite that i stayed in reminded me of my old college dorm room. The only good thing that i can come up with that was good about this hotel was the location. I will be staying at a different hotel on my next trip to Rochester.

Room Tip: Don't stay in their suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We truly apologize that you were not pleased with your stay here at the Best Western Plus Soldiers Field. I am sad that we were not able to resolve your concerns while you were staying here. As I tried to clarify to you on the telephone, it is up to each individual banking institution to decide how to process debit card pre-authorizations. I know that you were frustrated with the situation. I am genuinely sorry that the information on the pre-authorization was not explained clearly to you and we have discussed this with our staff to be certain that this situation does not occur again.

We have been notified by Best Western Corporate that they reimbursed you 10,000 Best Western Rewards Points. We hope that this gesture by Best Western helps to alleviate the situation. Please know how important you are to the Best Western Brand. Again, we apologize. If you would like to discuss anything further please contact me, myron@soldiersfield.com. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I are so thankful for everything.. We took our adventure to Rochester, MN for the purpose of the MAYO Clinic. A time of stress, sadness and uncertainty. There are no real words to express how grateful I am for the staff, the shuttle service, friendliness, cleanliness and overall compassionate atmosphere provided at this location. The breakfast - perfect. The pool and game room - perfect. I know that we will have to return to Rochester quarterly... and it is with the utmost certainty that I can say we have found a home at the Best Western Soldiers Field.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
WOW! We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us We are so happy to hear that all of our staff showed you the compassion and consideration that we strive for on a daily basis. Our job is to help make you as comfortable as we can when you are visiting Rochester and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of our staff, our shuttle service and we were able to help make your trips so much easier! We are glad that your guestroom accommodations were clean and comfortable! We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our free expanded breakfast buffet during your stay and were able to utilize the pool and arcade as well. Again we cannot thank you enough for your kind words about the Best Western Soldiers Field. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston City, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

When we first pulled up to the tower we were staying in, I was very hesitant. When we opened the door to our room, WOW! Clean, nice and comfortable and convenient to Mayo Clinic. The shuttle staff were amazing and made the trips back and forth easy. I would not hesitate to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomstersFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Best Western Soldiers Field. We couldn’t be happier to hear how amazing our shuttle staff was during your stay. We are so glad we could help make your trips to and from the Mayo Clinic as easy as possible. We are in the midst of a complete facelift of our exterior buildings and can’t wait to start the first phase this spring. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your guestroom and how comfortable your stay was. Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we can’t wait to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable. Reasonably priced. Staff was great! I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a place in Rochester. Kids loved the pool. We stayed in the tower and were very happy breakfast in the morning was very good.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank coop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Best Western Soldiers Field. We are so happy to year that you enjoyed your comfortable and clean room at a reasonable price! We can’t wait to pass on your comments to our staff, they love to hear how our guests appreciate them and we love to hear how great they were! Thanks so much for recommending our hotel to others! We appreciate it more than you will ever know!! We are thrilled that the kids loved the pool and you were able to enjoy our free expanded breakfast buffet that we serve daily! Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Like so many other reviewers, I booked this hotel for the easy access to Mayo. Literally around the corner & down the street from Mayo. The morning complimentary breakfast got us a good start to what was a long medical day. Then we hopped on the free shuttle the hotel provides to Mayo for our appointment. Otherwise, Mayo DOES charge for use of their parking garage.

The hotel was really very busy. You could tell that by the front desk's phone ringing off the hook & the amount of dirt in the carpet in the main hallway at the end of the day. The room was average, probably needing an updating soon. All the typical amenities were provided. Comfortable night's rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HouseWifey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Soldiers Field. We are happy to hear that you chose us for easy access to the Mayo Clinic and enjoyed our shuttle service. We are glad to hear that our complimentary breakfast buffet was a great start to your mornings. The rooms have recently been updated with new carpet, new bedding, and flat screen televisions. We are in the midst of a complete facelift of our exterior buildings and will begin the first phase this spring. We are thrilled that you were able to get a comfortable nights rest while staying in the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
743 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing