We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfeul caring Staff, excellent shuttle service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really a great hotel for Mayo Clinic patients. Excellent shuttle service every 10 -15 minutes, good meals, free continental breakfast and close to a beautiful park. Interesting restaurant great staff, very accomodating

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Best Western for six nights when we accompanied my sister-in-law to the Mayo Clinic. The room was reasonably priced, the hotel restaurant was excellent, the shuttle bus to and from the Mayo Clinic was so helpful and the swimming pool was the perfect temperature. We will recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to the Mayo Clinic for treatments! We couldn't have been more satisfied!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The breakfast featured waffles, eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage and many other items. All were fresh and delicious. We also dined in the restaurant. While it had many fine options - vegetarian, gluten free, etc., it was overpriced. The room was OK but the sink did not hold water and the listing for TV channels was missing....the desk supplied a new one when asked. Service of personnel was good but some employees were distracted by use of personal cell phones.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marquisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel offers shuttle bus service within 5 miles. It has the Twigs restaurant attached which is wonderful and it also offers a hot breakfast, which is good. It is convenient to freeways and other major roads.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Margery A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western SOLDIERS FIELD. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and our Express Shuttle Service that we offer to our guests. We are so happy to hear how wonderful you found Twigs Tavern and Grille. We are glad you were able to enjoy our expanded breakfast buffet that we serve daily. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Room was clean. Bed was small for a large person of height. Breakfast was well presented. Good location and close to Mayo. Nice room for extended stay, small kitchen has everything you need to cook in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Leonard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and found the extended stay suite to have everything you would need during your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location to the Mayo Clinic Campus. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our expanded breakfast buffet that we serve daily from 6am to 9am. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Rochester for Mayo Clinic. Suite rooms with kitchenette were ideal for an extended stay. This allowed us to cook meals in the room to save money and address food allergies. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Loved the shuttle bus for transportation to and from appointments. Made our life so much easier!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 569lynnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments from your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our extended stay suites and were able to enjoy meals in the convenience of your guestroom. We couldn't be happier to hear how friendly and helpful all of our staff was. We can't wait to share your comments with them. We are glad that you were able to use our express shuttle service and we were able to help get you to and from all of your appointments quickly. Thank you so much for your recommendations, it means the world to us. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were traveling out of town to visit the University of MN Rochester and decided to stay and Best Western Plus Soldiers Field. We really enjoyed our time there.The hotel was very affordable and had a great veterans discount. My hubby is a Veteran and they gave us a great deal that way.Our room was very clean and comfortable.My hubby has a very bad back and he thought the beds were great. The pillows were super comfy.It had a nice view out the window of the city. It was nice also they included lotion with the amenities. They have a complimentary breakfast at this hotel and free parking which is nice. The pool looked nice although we were very busy this time and didn't take advantage of swimming maybe next time. They are connected to a very nice restaurant that had great food and service. We went there our first night and thoroughly enjoyed that. They have a pretty wide menu something for everyone. I recommend the Chicken Kabobs and Ruttabega Fries. Everyone in both the hotel and restaurant were very friendly. We felt very at home would stay there again.

Room Tip: I recommend if you stay here to take advantage of the great food at Twigs. There are alot of options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff n sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We couldn't be happier to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to hear how clean and comfortable you found your guestroom accommodations. We are so happy that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and pillows! We are glad that you enjoyed the expanded breakfast buffet and our free parking. We are ecstatic that you were able to dine in Twigs Tavern and Grille and enjoyed a great dining experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Chicken Kabobs and Rutabaga Fries. We are thrilled to hear how friendly our staff was at the hotel and in the restaurant, we can't wait to share your wonderful comments with all of them. We are so happy that we were able to make you feel at home and we look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#7 of 50 in Rochester
772 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rochester, MN
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#33 of 50 in Rochester
1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#22 of 50 in Rochester
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#15 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £90 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing