We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We met a friend who is a patient. We decided to stay at your facility because they were. The shuttle service was great and convenient. The drivers very respectful. Hotel staff was accommodating as well.


Room Tip: It would be nice to have a recliner in the room also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are so happy to hear how wonderful your stay was. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Express Shuttle Service and found the services great and convenient. We are ecstatic to hear how respectful the drivers were. We couldn't be happier to hear how accommodating all of our staff was and we can't wait to share your wonderful comments with everyone. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. My parents and I stayed here during a recent visit to the Mayo Clinic. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the shuttle service top notch. I don't think I ever waited more than 5 minutes for the shuttle. Loved the refrigerator and microwave in the room, which came in handy. Very comfortable bed, with lots of pillows (but beware if you don't like soft beds!). The water temp and pressure were excellent. And the rooms were surprisingly quiet. I heard hall noise one night, then nothing for the next 3 nights. Only complaint is that the rooms were a little dark.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stacy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are thrilled to hear how friendly and helpful our staff was. We couldn't be happier to hear how wonderful you found our Express Shuttle Service to be, we are so glad that you were able to get to and from your appointments without any worries! We are so happy to hear how great you found your guestroom accommodations and were able to enjoy a quiet stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the refrigerator and microwave, as well as the comfortable beds. Thanks again for your wonderful comments, we can't wait to share your review with our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel offers very good value for money despite employees who have never heard of cordial reception. The rooms are excellent for the price; very clean; and very spacious. The breakfast is included and if you have people big on breakfast in your groups, they will delighted. The experience is one of utter honesty - including the employees, who have never heard of customer service, and don't at all "approve" of customers. It doesn't matter that they are dullards because if you are in Rochester at all, it is not to have some great time. It you are going to Rochester, stay here for great value for money; excellent location; and the very lovely TWIGS restaurant next store.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jules996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really a great hotel for Mayo Clinic patients. Excellent shuttle service every 10 -15 minutes, good meals, free continental breakfast and close to a beautiful park. Interesting restaurant great staff, very accomodating

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Best Western for six nights when we accompanied my sister-in-law to the Mayo Clinic. The room was reasonably priced, the hotel restaurant was excellent, the shuttle bus to and from the Mayo Clinic was so helpful and the swimming pool was the perfect temperature. We will recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to the Mayo Clinic for treatments! We couldn't have been more satisfied!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The breakfast featured waffles, eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage and many other items. All were fresh and delicious. We also dined in the restaurant. While it had many fine options - vegetarian, gluten free, etc., it was overpriced. The room was OK but the sink did not hold water and the listing for TV channels was missing....the desk supplied a new one when asked. Service of personnel was good but some employees were distracted by use of personal cell phones.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marquisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel offers shuttle bus service within 5 miles. It has the Twigs restaurant attached which is wonderful and it also offers a hot breakfast, which is good. It is convenient to freeways and other major roads.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Margery A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western SOLDIERS FIELD. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and our Express Shuttle Service that we offer to our guests. We are so happy to hear how wonderful you found Twigs Tavern and Grille. We are glad you were able to enjoy our expanded breakfast buffet that we serve daily. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
796 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £93 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IBC Hospitality, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing