We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, great decor, slightly off downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Solon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great decor, slightly off downtown.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The desk service, shuttle drivers and service, and on-site restaurant (Twigs) at this facility are fantastic. We stayed in the main tower in the building with the reception area. We are not sure what the other buildings were like. The breakfast had great variety, and the bar/lounge had a good vibe. Nice workout area; two hot tubs and a nice size pool with great lighting. This hotel is not in downtown rochester, but is only 8 blocks away (we walked it 3 times) and the shuttle is available for free (tip the driver!) much of the day. You will not regret your choice to stay here - good value, great service, and clean, contemporary decor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area. We couldn't' be happier to hear how fantastic all of our staff was during your stay with us. We are glad you were able to enjoyed our complimentary expanded breakfast buffet and enjoyed the pancakes, waffles, scrambled eggs, breakfast meats and many many other items that we serve daily. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Twigs Tavern and Grille. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the fitness center and pool area. Thank you again for your wonderful comments, they mean the world to us. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    137
    52
    31
    34
See reviews for
184
66
40
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel was very clean, Room was quiet and very comfortable. Restaurant was great,excellent food and choices ,prices were very reasonable and wonderful service also. We have stayed there many times and would definitely come back again. We also appreciated the free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 660ronr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are so happy to hear how wonderful your stay was and how much you appreciated our Express Shuttle Service that we offer to only our guests. We are thrilled to hear how comfortable and quiet you found your guestroom accommodations. We are so excited to hear that you dined in Twigs Tavern and Grille and enjoyed a excellent meal with wonderful service. We are ecstatic to hear how many times you have stayed with us in the past and we are looking forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights for our visits to Mayo. Staff very helpful, shuttle service great. Breakfast great. About 6 blocks to downtown Rochester/Mayo if you want to walk. Will stay here again. We were in the main building, there are 2 others. Parking available. Restaurant in main building was also very good.

Room Tip: Ask for main building for easier access to restaurant. Shuttle will pick you up at any of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are so happy to hear how wonderful your stay with us was. We are thrilled to hear how helpful our staff was and that you enjoyed our complimentary expanded breakfast buffet that we offer. We are thrilled to hear how great you found our Express Shuttle Service. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location to the Mayo Clinic and downtown area and enjoyed our free parking. We are ecstatic that you were able to dine in Twigs Tavern and Grille and enjoyed a great meal. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel was a good value for a group trip with teenagers. Rooms were clean. Overall look of the hotel was older but updates made experience okay. The hotel had 3 room complexes with one across the street so it was a bit disjointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 907michellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We met a friend who is a patient. We decided to stay at your facility because they were. The shuttle service was great and convenient. The drivers very respectful. Hotel staff was accommodating as well.


Room Tip: It would be nice to have a recliner in the room also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are so happy to hear how wonderful your stay was. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Express Shuttle Service and found the services great and convenient. We are ecstatic to hear how respectful the drivers were. We couldn't be happier to hear how accommodating all of our staff was and we can't wait to share your wonderful comments with everyone. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. My parents and I stayed here during a recent visit to the Mayo Clinic. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the shuttle service top notch. I don't think I ever waited more than 5 minutes for the shuttle. Loved the refrigerator and microwave in the room, which came in handy. Very comfortable bed, with lots of pillows (but beware if you don't like soft beds!). The water temp and pressure were excellent. And the rooms were surprisingly quiet. I heard hall noise one night, then nothing for the next 3 nights. Only complaint is that the rooms were a little dark.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stacy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are thrilled to hear how friendly and helpful our staff was. We couldn't be happier to hear how wonderful you found our Express Shuttle Service to be, we are so glad that you were able to get to and from your appointments without any worries! We are so happy to hear how great you found your guestroom accommodations and were able to enjoy a quiet stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the refrigerator and microwave, as well as the comfortable beds. Thanks again for your wonderful comments, we can't wait to share your review with our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineola, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel offers very good value for money despite employees who have never heard of cordial reception. The rooms are excellent for the price; very clean; and very spacious. The breakfast is included and if you have people big on breakfast in your groups, they will delighted. The experience is one of utter honesty - including the employees, who have never heard of customer service, and don't at all "approve" of customers. It doesn't matter that they are dullards because if you are in Rochester at all, it is not to have some great time. It you are going to Rochester, stay here for great value for money; excellent location; and the very lovely TWIGS restaurant next store.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jules996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
1,212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.4 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing