We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They Sing to You” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sytje's Pannekoeken Restaurant

Sytje's Pannekoeken Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 298 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They Sing to You”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Quick, good food at a good value and if you order the Dutch pancake, they sing Pann-ee-Kooken as they bring it to your table.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    88
    42
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Original!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

What do we love about Pannekoeken? It's SO original!! You can go to a million places for breakfast all day, but where can you go for a tasty German pancake? HERE! Are they all sweet? NO! We ordered a variety (bacon, cinnamon, chocolate chip, strawberry and one off the dinner menu- the Rotterdam) and they were ALL awesome. And who else still serves split pea soup?? And those corn bread slices of heaven? Yum.
Oh, and...for the record, the one all of us loved the most? The Rotterdam with ham.
The location is great if you are visiting Mayo (although we weren't). Parking isn't ideal especially if you don't know the area and it could use a scrub down and coat of paint, but you can count on the fact that we'll go back even if none of that changes.
I was here as a teenager and although the location has changed they're still putting out AWESOME food! Check it out!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank howitstacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food OK, Seating Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were seated at a table near the corner, with no other customers inside the place. Fine. The next couple that came in was seated right next to us - and the tables are very close. It was like sharing a table with another couple, and we were the only 4 customers in the place!! They chatted loudly with each other and the server, while my wife & I couldn't even have a conversation because of the noise. In a largely empty room. We got our food, ate & left. Couldn't get out of there soon enough. How unbelievably rude to shoehorn your only 2 groups into one tiny space, when the whole place is open. Needless to say, we will NEVER go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoDakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very clean and exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

price,portions quality, cleanness and friendly. just so good didn't feel the need to eat anywhere else.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Roy, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Desperately needing coffee and something to eat after blood draws at The Mayo Clinic, my husband asked the nurse for a suggestion. We very much appreciate her sending us there because the food was delicious and the service was just as good. We didn't try their signature dish, but did top off our breakfast by sharing one of their giant fresh muffins...Yum! We chose the raspberry caramel pecan! It was wonderful! It's not a very fancy place, but for a good breakfast...we highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eldonovan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sytje's Pannekoeken Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sytje's Pannekoeken Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing