We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this unique Days Inn. Will you?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My colleagues seem to prefer newer buildings connected to the Rochester skyway/subway system. I try to be more frugal and got this Days Inn through Hotwire the first time. This time, with a 5-day stay, the hotel chain's website gave a slightly better price than Hotwire.

Sharon at the front desk accommodated my early arrival by offering a different room with a higher rack rate but at no extra charge. A few minutes after check-in, she rang to ask if the room met my expectations. Indeed it did. Let me add that I never seek or expect upgrades, and regard early check-in not as an entitlement, but as a nice perk at the discretion of management.

The toilet, wash basin, and vanity counter were on one side of the room behind the usual kind of door. A whirlpool bath big enough for two was on the other side behind a pair of folding panel doors. This separation of toilet and bath fits traditional Japanese sensibilities, and a romantic couple might appreciate the arrangement. I was here alone and just showered in the bath instead of soaking.

Step into any room, and you will know this is a renovated hotel. Step into the stairwell, and you will know that this is an old building. Solid, but old. Some people will be put off by this; I found it charming. For comparison, the original Kahler Hotel in Rochester is of similar vintage but more elegant. The newer Kahler and other modern hotels connected by skyway/subway might appeal to more people. So be it. After Mayo Clinic and IBM, the third largest industry in Rochester is the hotel-restaurant-entertainment business. People can choose. I chose Days Inn, and would do it again. Sharon was as cheerful checking me out as checking me in, and kindly allowed me to keep my car in the free parking lot for several hours after I checked out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwayne O, General Manager at Days Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you so much for all the great comments we enjoyed have you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dwayne O, General Manager at Days Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 September 2013

time to renew property. Location is great, in very close proximity to ehere i had to go is the reason i chose this property. For the price i paid , i could have stayed somewhwre else. Lots of places in near by walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Shantilal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwayne O, General Manager at Days Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, we have a number of guest that stay with us for our historic nature and because we are priced lower than the Hotels right downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Bad water temperature regulation, no where to plug anything in other than one power strip. No storage

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwayne O, General Manager at Days Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, we do have a number of room types some of which will give you some more room and all our rooms have ample outlets as well as closets for storage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dwayne O, General Manager at Days Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sydelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dwayne O, General Manager at Days Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dwayne O, General Manager at Days Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brentwood Inn and Suites
Brentwood Inn and Suites
#25 of 50 in Rochester
137 reviews
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 50 in Rochester
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 1st Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Rochester Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Rochester-Downtown Hotel Rochester
Rochester Days Inn
Days Inn Rochester Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing