We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Garner, Iowa
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed there everytime we are in the area and it is great!! We get the best sleep we have EVER gotten in a hotel... would like to know how to purchase the same bed that they have in this hotel! would love one to be in my home...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradandBrooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. The beds are very comfortable. Maybe the next time you are in town, we can sit down and talk about where to get a similar bed. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    102
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
74
48
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed quite a few times at the marriott mayo clinic area hotel. Above all I would like to point out its convenient location, near to many restaurants and shops and of course mayo. The staff is very helping and polite. Breakfast is very good at the concierge level and also on the main breakfast area. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms also, very clean and we'll maintained. Some overlook first avenue, some the indoors pool which sometimes gets really crowded especially on weekends where lots of kids (belonging to swimming teams?) come in to practice.,something that can be annoying if one wants to rest. I would definitely recommend the hotel and I would come back if I travel to rochester again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YAYOUKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I can't say enough about the valet staff at this hotel. They were so helpful - above and beyond type service. They went out of their way to help you and make sure your stay was pleasant and they seemed happy to do so. The beds were awesome.... so comfy. One very small issue is that some of the guests in our party said that they could not regulate the temperature in their rooms .... it was way too hot. (below zero outside) Not sure what is up with that , but our room was fine. Great staff , great location, nice rooms and amenities. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Rochester.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarabmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate hearing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic. This was our 2nd stay at this Marriott and we are booked for another stay this weekend. We have stayed at several hotels in Rochester as we use the Mayo Clinic. However, the Rochester Marriott is by far the nicest of them all. The staff goes above and beyond to help you. It starts with the valets, the counter service, room service, and everyone you just pass in the hallways. They are always friendly and say "hello". They also go out of their way to help you and see if you need anything. The rooms are very clean and nice. The beds are so comfortable. The food was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel. We look forward to our return this weekend. Thank you!
The Doede's

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraD992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Great to hear you like it here at the Marriott Rochester. Hope we see you again if you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at the Marriott in downtown Rochester and initially I thought the hotel looked great. Certainly the location is perfect, in the middle of downtown Rochester. However, I had some concerns with my stay. The mattress was very lumpy; a poor mattress. The bed did not have real pillows. You know how Marriott likes to put a bunch of pillows on the bed? Well the pillows were all of a decorative nature and none were real bed pillows. I woke up feeling very sore. The room was also super hot even though it was cold outside. I could not lower the heat. There was hot dry air and a lumpy bed and no real pillow. For some reason, the staff were not friendly or nice except the woman at the bar in the afternoon (she was nice). From room service, the chef salad was horrible. Smothered in too much dressing and all the meat and eggs diced up-- more like a blended shake than a salad. I did not eat it. A hamburger and fries in the bar with beverage ran around $30. Water level in pool so low it's not enjoyable or safe to swim. No open patio or windows; the pool is in the middle of the building. They have little signs everywhere that they are available to help with your nursing or medical needs, but the prices are very high, and the "caring" message comes across as cynical. In the end, this hotel was not up to Marriott standards, in my opinion. Only thing going for it is location.

Room Tip: I didn't feel relaxed after staying here. If you do, make sure you can control the room tempera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
In reading your review, not a lot went right with your stay. I would hope that we could have addressed some of these concerns while you were here. If you are ever back in the area, I would not hesitate to address each and every concern with you if that would help. We are constantly upgrading and bringing in new furniture and menu items in the restaurant. Please check on us the next time you are in town to see how much we are improving day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayetteville, ar
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Moved here from the Holiday inn express because there rooms were noisy. great facility and close to everything at Mayo Clinic connected by the subway. Staff was freindly and very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckFayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for trying us out. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at when in the Rochester area or visiting The Mayo Clinic. Totally the most convenient for access. You never have to go outdoors. Hotel Manager, Tamala was awesome. Rooms are clean, staff is very gracious. No complaints whatsoever, would go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. We appreciate hearing everything about your great stay here at the Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#17 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 101 1st Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3135
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rochester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#17 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern updated guestrooms and a convenient location connected to Mayo Clinic make Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area one of the top hotels in Downtown Rochester, Minnesota. The hotel offers 202 renovated guestrooms and suites, Salute wine bar and more. This downtown Marriott also has easy access to local attractions including the Mayo Civic Center and shopping options via climate-controlled walkways. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, coming to Rochester for leisure, or traveling for business, our downtown hotel provides everything you need to make your stay seamless: in-room dining service, business services, a fitness center, and convenient continental and full American breakfast each morning available in our restaurant (for a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing