We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great hotel, good restaurant”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Doubletree in Rochester is comfortable, clean, and very inviting, with a Barnes and Noble bookstore just across the skywalk. High quality. The Pescara seafood grill in the hotel is also high class, with super seafood. I ate dinner and breakfast there. Only negatives were: green salad was so soaked in vinegary dressing that it was inedible (serve the dressing on the side if you're going to drench a salad with it!), and the breakfast of oatmeal was tasty, but why not offer cinnamon to sprinkle on it, and almond or rice milk to pour on it?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank tim52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebKnox, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear tim52024: Thank you very much for your post and for staying with us. I will pass along your comments to the Pescara management team! We hope that if you should return to Rochester, you will consider staying with us again.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    203
    63
    15
    12
See reviews for
233
142
91
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel appears classy and I was treated very well, the staff is excellent. The hotel is located in the downtown so parking is difficult and inconvenient, long walk from the garage to the room. Very comfortable and quiet room, well appointed and clean. Unfortunately the bathroom was not very clean. The sink was covered with shaving residue and the toilet grossed me out. Under the seat and around the base of the toilet things hadn't been cleaned in sometime. When using the tub you were looking right at mold, "drippings" and who knows what. It really made me wonder what was hiding in the rest of the room. Overall this is a very nice place to stay but the cleaning staff needs to pay more attention to details.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank WillyWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear WillyWorker: Thank you for your post, but I apologize for the uncleanliness that you experience during your time with us. I have forwarded your post to our Executive Housekeeper and also our General Manager. If you are able to message me what guestroom you were in or your name, we can dig deeper into this matter. Again, I apologize, but do hope that you will try us again should you return to Rochester.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We would be remiss if we did not take time to recognize the wonderful hotel experience that the Double Tree Hotel in Rochester MN provided us with during our recent stay there.
Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed and received our fresh baked cookies. The room we stayed in was immaculate and beautifully appointed. Common areas of the hotel were lovely as well. Hotel staff members were courteous and very helpful.
Foods served on the breakfast buffet in the Executive Club and in the Pescara Restaurant were fresh and well prepared.
We definitely will return to this hotel when we visit Rochester MN in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebKnox, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Deborah S: Thank you again for your post. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We would be remiss if we did not take time to recognize the wonderful hotel experience that the Double Tree Hotel in Rochester MN provided us with during our recent stay there.
Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed and received our fresh baked cookies. The room we stayed in was immaculate and beautifully appointed. Common areas of the hotel were lovely as well. Hotel staff members were courteous and very helpful.
Foods served on the breakfast buffet in the Executive Club and in the Pescara Restaurant were fresh and well prepared.
We definitely will return to this hotel when we visit Rochester MN in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Deborah S: Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments. We are very glad to hear about your wonderful stay and that you will return to our hotel when you return to our City. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The double tree hotel in downtown Rochester is the best place to stay if you are visiting family or the Mayo Clinic. its right next to the mall for good shopping and eating. the service is wonderful, and the beds are comfy.
my favorite part is the breakfast. right in the lobby is Pescara. An awesome restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. every morning they had a great variety of breakfast treats.
Overall, great service, and very cozy.

Room Tip: warm chocolate chip cookies when you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Sam M: Thank you for your post and for staying with us during your time in Rochester. I am so glad that you got to experience Pescara. I hope you had the Smoked Gouda Hashbrowns for breakfast, they are a favorite. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Doubletree/Rochester is an excellent property connected by inside bridges to all of Rochester and MAYO. The staff are welcoming and helpful. I got a room with a bad heating system so they moved me to the executive floor secondary to my inconvenience. The hotel also has a Limo for short trips, and the garage is right next door, with easy access. The restaurant--Pescara--is also quite good, even for me--a pickey gourmet!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have some view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prontomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear prontomac: Thank you for staying with us during your time in Rochester and for your great post! I am sorry to hear about your heating system, but glad to hear that you were able to get an alternative upgraded guestroom. Yes, Pescara, has won many awards for their great restaurant. It is one of the best in Rochester. Thank you again for staying with us!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed in a King Junior Suite on November 18th and my sister had a connecting room which was 2 queens. Both rooms were very clean. The Queen room was very small and we spent most of our time in the Suite because it has much more room to spread out in. The bathrooms were also small but clean. Our view was of the parking lot but there is no 'city' to speak of in Rochester. Check in was friendly and efficient with no errors in room charges at check-out. We ordered room service which was very good. We did not hear anyone else in the hotel at all.

The valet guys were very friendly as well and swift getting our car. The hotel is connected via skyway to some shops across the street and via a walking subway to The Mayo Clinic. Everything was great on our trip and we would recommend the DoubleTree to anyone traveling in this area. The trip to the airport was about 13 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorainSitges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear DorainSitges: Thank you for staying with us and for your post about our hotel. I am glad that you got to experience one of our Junior Suites. They are our most popular room type. We hope that you will stay with us again should you return to Rochester. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 52 in Rochester
1,201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 150 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-6507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#3 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Rochester/Downtown hotel has a great downtown location just two blocks from the Mayo Clinic campus and Methodist Hospital. Our upscale, full service hotel connects to the Mayo, Gonda, and Plummer buildings via Rochester's climate-controlled Skyway and Pedestrian Subway system. Shuttle and Town car service to the Mayo Campus are also available. The Doubletree is near the Mayo Civic Center and University of Minnesota campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Radisson Rochester
Rochester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing