We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”
Review of Kahler Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kahler Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
St.Paul, MN
1 review
“Value”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had a one night stay, very close to the Mayo. The Kahler is very convienent. A parking ramp is available and a link between the hotel and the Mayo. I stayed in an inexpensive room, nothing special. When traveling back to the Mayo I will use the Kahler again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We have a wide range of rooms at the Kahler Grand. Feel free to ask for a tour the next time you are in town. Thanks for staying at the Kahler Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    251
    199
    173
    177
See reviews for
284
199
207
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trenary, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have stayed at the Kahler Grand twice now when we had appointments at the Mayo Clinic. We love the fact that we can walk out the front door and across the street to the clinic. The staff at the front desk is wonderful in helping us if we have to change our reservation or helping us with parking. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I have used the fitness room, it has lots of equipment. I have also used the business center's computers. The Kahler Grand has food, shopping, shuttles to other facilities all right there in one place. I highly recomment this hotel to anyone with appointments at the Mayo Clinic.

Room Tip: We chose the smaller economy room. It was comfortable and big enough for our needs. It only has a fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kahler Grand last week and had no heat in our room. They got it fixed the next morning but the night was very cold. This is not the first time.

What is happening to all the nice little shops in the lobby and lower level. They seem to be moving out. My family has been staying at the Kahler since 1946 and we are going to try other Rochester hotels. It is tough to leave a long time friend when they are down but enough is enough. We are moving on. . .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are ever changing, and for the better. Everything we do is with the guest in mind. We hope you will change your mind and give us a try the next time you are in town. I am sorry for the heating issue, I can only imagine how you must have felt not having enough heat during the night. I am glad we could have at least get the heat circulating in the morning. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass Lake, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our first time at Mayo and Kahler Grand Hotel. Was an excellent experience while dealing with medical issues for my husband. Made it very easy for me to take care of him before our 5 1/2 hour trek back to northern MN. Was very nice to just use a wheelchair from the Mayo to our room, get him situated and room service ordered and then of course off for some shopping for me but felt comfortable leaving him because I was still very close to the room.

We will be back in December!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for letting everyone know about your experience at the Kahler Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

You can't beat the Kahler Grand Hotel for convenience to the Mayo Clinic. It was great to drop the coats, hats and gloves in our room and walk across the street via a warm, well-lit tunnel to my Mayo appointments. Though not the cheapest room available in Rochester, it is reasonable for location, location, location. Once the car is parked in their lot, not only is the clinic walkable, but various destinations close to the clinic are accessible w/o getting back into the vehicle. The room we had was small but clean and efficient. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Location is everything, so is a dinner for two in the Lord Essex and shopping stores galore... Thank you for staying with us at the Kahler Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Many visits to the Mayo Clinic are always highlighted by our stay in the Kahler Grand Hotel. We love the ambience and the convenience of this jaunty old Queen of the North. The staff is always cordial, the rooms newly modernized and comfortable, and the access to shopping, dining and The Clinic is unsurpassed. We always feel like we are "at home" when we stay at the Kahler. Sometimes we even bump into celebrities in the halls. You don't find that at the Motel Six.

Room Tip: We always ask for a corner room, because they seem roomier, and the two window walls let in just a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
jaunty old Queen of the North, Thank you for staying at the Kahler Grand. I kind of like that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have had occasion to be in Rochester 3 times in the past 1 1/2 years for medical appointments. Our son recommended we stay at the Kahler as someone had told him how convenient it was for patients. So we thought we would give it a try. We love staying here mainly for having Mayo Clinic directly across the street. The hotel is also very nice and accommodating. We have stayed in three different rooms and all have been fine. They have accommodations to meet all needs. The underground walkways to the Mayo Clinic and to many various shops and restaurants is also a plus. If the weather is bad you never have to go outside. Parking is also provided when you stay at the Kahler. We would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the Mayo Clinic or Rochester Hospital.

Room Tip: We always prefer a room with windows to the south as there is a walking only area there so no traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_M500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for staying at the Kahler Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#20 of 52 in Rochester
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
0.0 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Property: Kahler Grand Hotel
Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90+-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant and historic. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Pairing the convenience of our location with a variety of accommodations ranging from smaller budget-friendly rooms to larger renovated executive guestrooms and services, the Kahler Grand boasts a hotel experience that maximizes comfort at every turn. We also feature 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for conferences, weddings and special events in the downtown area. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting. Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, Minnesota. Directly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing