We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Hospital than Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kahler Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kahler Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“More Hospital than Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you love that feeling of walking into a hospital room, the Kahler Grand is the right choice for you. The bathroom is identical (down to the shower curtain) of a hospital room bathroom and the rest of the room feels that way too. Basic, depressing, thin walls and poor lighting and everything has seen better days from the carpets, to the rust on the light fixtures to the plumbing that doesn't drain. Definitely not a retreat from the stress of being at the Mayo Clinic, more like: i can't wait to get to the hospital tomorrow because at the Clinic, they've got better cable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear lynx74,

We truly appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with the hotel staff.

Within the last year, we have completely renovated nearly 60 rooms, and we will be continuing to renovate and refresh more. I think you’ll find them larger, more modern, up-to-date, and closer to what you may be looking for. We also just completed a cable upgrade to include HD channels. The amount of channels available for viewing has been expanded too.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    239
    195
    168
    166
See reviews for
273
191
200
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a great stay at the Kahler Grand. So convenient for my husbands follow-up appointment at Mayo! Great location to experience downtown dining as well. Room was very nice and parking was convenient. Staff is friendly. This was our 2nd stay. The only other hotel we use in Rochester is the Kahler Inn and Siutes if our stay is longer and we want a kitchenette.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimMHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have now stayed at the Kahler Grand a number of times. The economy rooms we have stayed in have been clean, quiet and pleasant. Staff has been remarkable!! If you are looking for a well-priced and well-kept hotel, this is the place. It is fully true that staff will do anything to make sure your stay is the best it can be. As a Mayo patient, they catered to my dietary needs in their restaurants. Being connected to the Mayo by the Subway made it so much easier to get there. If you are in Rochester for the Mayo, be assured the parking in the hotel ramp is free. There are stores in the Subway that have just about everything you need. I will be returning to the Mayo for quite some time and will absolutely staying at the Kahler Grand every time!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Grove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Reservations were easy to make, staff very helpful, friendly. Discounts for Mayo Clinic patients/family. Extremely convienient location, connected to skyway and sublevel walkways. Room clean, ammenities nice and onsite restaurants good. Close to outside dining.On all my visits staff at every level was friendly and extremely accomadating. I always at Kahler Grand when I visit Rochester since my first stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked an Economy Room as my husband was going to be in the hospital for 3 days and the only time I would be in the room was to sleep. It was quiet and comfortable. Since it was across from the hospital, all I had to do was walk out any door and across the street to the hospital. Also, parking in the garage was free. The hotel might seem old and outdated, but very quaint and cozy. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this as a priceline deal and feel we got a screaming bargain. Most folks seemed to book this at the Mayo patient rate of $100 and we were just over $50 although if you use priceline they ding you for $14 for parking that is included in their other rates.

We had absolutely no concerns during our stay, the accommodations were excellent and we had a nice size room with a King bed. Not sure how they pick the room assignments but if you only need one bed I'd ask for a king as walking down the hall we saw many rooms that were half the size of the room we were in.

Another kudo was the fact we arrived at 8am and asked if we could leave our luggage in a storage room as we had a 9 am appointment. The front desk clerk said that would be fine but that she had a room ready if we'd like to check in!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

You cannot beat the location of this historic hotel in the heart of downtown Rochester. If you have appts at Mayo Clinic, you cannot get closer than the Kahler. You can connect to the Mayo Subway system and never have to step foot outside to get to your appointments. Rooms are outdated if you stay in the regular area - if you can, update to a suite or to the 'really' nice floors. Super close to great food and entertainment downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#20 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.0 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Property: Kahler Grand Hotel
Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90+-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant and historic. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Pairing the convenience of our location with a variety of accommodations ranging from smaller budget-friendly rooms to larger renovated executive guestrooms and services, the Kahler Grand boasts a hotel experience that maximizes comfort at every turn. We also feature 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for conferences, weddings and special events in the downtown area. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting. Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, Minnesota. Directly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing