We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Monticello, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hotel was ok”
Reviewed 11 January 2010

When you first walk in it's a little small. The staff was friendly, very helpful and outgoing. The elevator and the fitness area was small, rooms was clean and spacious. Business center was small it had two computers. We came in the summer time so the air didn't work so we had to be moved to another room on the other side of the building. The breakfast was great and more than expected, it was a hot breakfast. We had sausauge, a waffle maker, toasted english muffins, hard boiled eggs, a variety of patries and drinks, milk, orange juice, french vanilla coffee, and tea. My kids loved the fact that the drinks stayed open all day, so they drank and ate cookies in the evening. We came there for a convention with our kids, so because the breakfast was great, it saved us money in the morning. Overall it was ok

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilshowers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    134
    62
    31
    12
See reviews for
237
75
51
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I tend to pick Marriott owned properties when traveling to new places because I find the quality is usually pretty consistent. This Springhill Suites property is comfortable, clean and friendly -- the latter being important because most folks who stay here are visiting loved ones at Mayo's St. Mary's Hospital. The first room I was in had a steady muffled drip noise on the AC/Heat unit in the window that would probably not bother most but it did me. I requested a new room and staff arrived and moved all my belongings to another room which was quieter. There were times I could hear guests next door to me, but wasn't a problem, since this is not a party hotel and people are quiet early in the evening. The Marriott Courtyard a block away where another family member was staying is a bit nicer with a bar and restaurant, but it also charges a bit more. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and, when I needed, went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. There are some good restaurants and bars located in the same block as the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

If you are looking for a place close to St. Mary's....just book it!....We stayed 2 nights....( hubby had to stay at the hosp.) and I have just booked Springhill again for my return trip. The hotel is clean, rooms are nice (the two-doubles is larger, w/separated sitting area) ....staff is friendly and the breakfast lady keeps the sausage & egg muffin makings, etc... well stocked....(they have the waffle maker also!). The (small) pool and the warm, "just right" jetted spa were nice also. Even though the hotel was at full capacity and on a semi-busy street, all was pretty quiet. (we stayed mid-week). McDonald's and KFC are within easy walking distance, we also ate at the "Canadian Honker" (just down the street)...decent, for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntington wv
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2009

It was a very hard time for us, but we had a very nice stay here. They were very nice. It was a little out dated but it was great for the price. We really liked the location too!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntingtonwvdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

This hotel was adequate, but not great. The "suite" was very small. This is not a true "suite" in the sense that there is no door between the sleeping area & the sitting area. This was really important for us because my 15 month old daughter was with us, so we wanted her to be able to sleep in a separate area. The decor was dated and I found it depressing. Breakfast was OK, but the selection, especially of fruit, was very limited. Some of the sausage was overcooked & tough. One good thing was that the sink & bath/toilet area were separate which was great for sharing the room & space. The room was very hot & it was difficult to cool down except with air conditioning. There was a "desk" that sort of doubled as a table...the executive-style chair did not even fit under it. And there was no outlets nearby to plug a computer into. We could not get the wireless internet to work from our computer.

The hotel is located directly across from St. Mary's hospital. The staff was very friendly & helpful. They did provide a clean pack-n-play for my daughter. Also, even though our room was right next to the elevator, it was very quiet.

We moved to the Staybridge Suites and were MUCH happier. Although Staybridge was a little more expensive (about $15/night with the Mayo discount), it was WELL worth it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILive2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorgersonProperties, Management representative at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 6 May 2009
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on offering “Outrageous Guest Service” and feel it sets us apart from our competition. We will definitely take a look at the issues you noted and see what adjustments we can make to improve future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

This hotel is the all suites Springhill Suites but keep in mind it's not as nice as the Courtyard down the street. This hotel has free parking along with the breakfast but other than that I would pay a little more to sta at the Courtyard. Overall this hotel OK. Rooms were clean but entryway is dirty, outdated silk flowers in the lobby, nice pool. It is fine for an overnight stay. We didn't have to sign any contract for being quiet. Just me & my mom stayed while my dad was in the hospital. We booked online for $101 plus tax - $111. At the Courtyard we paid $89 plus tax plus parking but it's a much nicer hotel. Beds were comfy but they are only double beds. I would not stay again as I just didn't think it was very clean. Would be fine for a family wanting the free breakfast in the AM. Pool is very small but at least they have one...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We've had 2 stays in February/March, each for 10 days, and really enjoyed the hotel. The staff was so accomodating. We came for the Mayo Clinic so we were under a lot of stress. This hotel clearly caters to the Mayo patients. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. They even cleaned snow off the cars. We had an appointment after check out and they let us keep our car in the lot so we wouldn't have to pay for parking at the clinic. Free breakfast was great. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for medical reasons. This hotel certainly knows that their core guests are here for Mayo Clinic appointments. We'll be coming back in August and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.6 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#10 of 52 in Rochester
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
1,218 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Property: SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Address: 1125 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1936
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#9 Family Hotel in Rochester
#19 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each spacious studio suite features separate sleeping, eating and working areas. Amenities include Complimentary High-Speed Internet access, a pull-out sofa bed, pantry area with mini-refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, a large desk and 2-line telephones. We'll get you started each day with a complimentary breakfast buffet. Free local calls, business center, free parking and free Mayo Clinic and airport shuttles. Located across from St. Marys Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary`s Hotel Rochester
Springhill Suites Rochester
Rochester Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing