We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overprice uncomfortable unsuitable if you are fresh post op” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreview, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overprice uncomfortable unsuitable if you are fresh post op”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

The star ratings for this hotel in my opinion are completely misleading.Noramlly,I'm not a whinner and hate to complain.This is right accross from St Mary's hospital so I thought it would be convenient for me.
The rooms are small,the bathrooms are outdated and don't look that clean.TVs are ancient and had poor reception.Beds are not very comfortable.AC is very loud and also outdated.For $135 a nite this was way below the standard to expect.I was not a family member but an actual patient that had surgery.So I wanted to stay post op at this hotel in case of problems as I live 100 miles away.
In the middle of the night my wife had to take me to the ER for a complication .When we went back to the hotel 4 hours later there were no more parking spots left even though we had a specific parking pass for the hotel.
The desk personnel(who are way overworked) tried to help us and I give them an "A: for their effort.

Halls are very narrow.With many small children running unsupurvised in the halls I was concerned I would sustain an injury to my post op site!

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mottthehopple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    132
    61
    31
    9
See reviews for
233
75
50
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

While this hotel is a suite hotel (meaning that there is one room with a couch and another with a bed), this is mainly a studio suite situation. Our room was VERY small. There was a half wall separating the bedroom from the living area, but it did not offer much privacy. The sofa bed was very small and uncomfortable, and both rooms shared a single tv on a swivel that would not stay put. The room had an smell reminiscent of very strong carpet deodorizer such as the potpourri kind covering up a smell which may have once been smoke, although it says it is a smoke free hotel. AAA rates this hotel as a 3 diamond, but I suspect that their inspectors have not been there in a while. Also, the air conditioning was not working very well, and I noticed other people in the lobby asking to be moved because their air conditioning was not working as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivybelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorgersonProperties, Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all of your comments very seriously and share them with our staff to help improve our performance for all of our guests. We apologize that we didn't wow you on this stay and sincerely hope you'll give us another opportunity when you are in Rochester again.

And please be assured we will carefully review each of the items you mentioned to ensure all our guests experience a clean, friendly hotel where everything works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

When you first walk in it's a little small. The staff was friendly, very helpful and outgoing. The elevator and the fitness area was small, rooms was clean and spacious. Business center was small it had two computers. We came in the summer time so the air didn't work so we had to be moved to another room on the other side of the building. The breakfast was great and more than expected, it was a hot breakfast. We had sausauge, a waffle maker, toasted english muffins, hard boiled eggs, a variety of patries and drinks, milk, orange juice, french vanilla coffee, and tea. My kids loved the fact that the drinks stayed open all day, so they drank and ate cookies in the evening. We came there for a convention with our kids, so because the breakfast was great, it saved us money in the morning. Overall it was ok

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilshowers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

I tend to pick Marriott owned properties when traveling to new places because I find the quality is usually pretty consistent. This Springhill Suites property is comfortable, clean and friendly -- the latter being important because most folks who stay here are visiting loved ones at Mayo's St. Mary's Hospital. The first room I was in had a steady muffled drip noise on the AC/Heat unit in the window that would probably not bother most but it did me. I requested a new room and staff arrived and moved all my belongings to another room which was quieter. There were times I could hear guests next door to me, but wasn't a problem, since this is not a party hotel and people are quiet early in the evening. The Marriott Courtyard a block away where another family member was staying is a bit nicer with a bar and restaurant, but it also charges a bit more. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and, when I needed, went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. There are some good restaurants and bars located in the same block as the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

If you are looking for a place close to St. Mary's....just book it!....We stayed 2 nights....( hubby had to stay at the hosp.) and I have just booked Springhill again for my return trip. The hotel is clean, rooms are nice (the two-doubles is larger, w/separated sitting area) ....staff is friendly and the breakfast lady keeps the sausage & egg muffin makings, etc... well stocked....(they have the waffle maker also!). The (small) pool and the warm, "just right" jetted spa were nice also. Even though the hotel was at full capacity and on a semi-busy street, all was pretty quiet. (we stayed mid-week). McDonald's and KFC are within easy walking distance, we also ate at the "Canadian Honker" (just down the street)...decent, for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntington wv
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

It was a very hard time for us, but we had a very nice stay here. They were very nice. It was a little out dated but it was great for the price. We really liked the location too!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huntingtonwvdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

This hotel was adequate, but not great. The "suite" was very small. This is not a true "suite" in the sense that there is no door between the sleeping area & the sitting area. This was really important for us because my 15 month old daughter was with us, so we wanted her to be able to sleep in a separate area. The decor was dated and I found it depressing. Breakfast was OK, but the selection, especially of fruit, was very limited. Some of the sausage was overcooked & tough. One good thing was that the sink & bath/toilet area were separate which was great for sharing the room & space. The room was very hot & it was difficult to cool down except with air conditioning. There was a "desk" that sort of doubled as a table...the executive-style chair did not even fit under it. And there was no outlets nearby to plug a computer into. We could not get the wireless internet to work from our computer.

The hotel is located directly across from St. Mary's hospital. The staff was very friendly & helpful. They did provide a clean pack-n-play for my daughter. Also, even though our room was right next to the elevator, it was very quiet.

We moved to the Staybridge Suites and were MUCH happier. Although Staybridge was a little more expensive (about $15/night with the Mayo discount), it was WELL worth it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WILive2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorgersonProperties, Management representative at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, 6 May 2009
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on offering “Outrageous Guest Service” and feel it sets us apart from our competition. We will definitely take a look at the issues you noted and see what adjustments we can make to improve future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.6 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#17 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#8 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Property: SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Address: 1125 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1936
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#9 Family Hotel in Rochester
#19 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each spacious studio suite features separate sleeping, eating and working areas. Amenities include Complimentary High-Speed Internet access, a pull-out sofa bed, pantry area with mini-refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, a large desk and 2-line telephones. We'll get you started each day with a complimentary breakfast buffet. Free local calls, business center, free parking and free Mayo Clinic and airport shuttles. Located across from St. Marys Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary`s Hotel Rochester
Springhill Suites Rochester
Rochester Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing