We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Especially for Those with Car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed here one night and was not disappointed. I took the free shuttle to/from Mayo. But I would advise that if 1) you are not driving, and 2) not on a tight budget, you should stay downtown. E.g., I walked around the Kahler Grand, and it seems very nice to have the subway walkway downstairs. It makes it so convenient to walk anywhere, even in inclement weather. Sure all the peripheral hotels provide a free shuttle. But be aware that they run about every hour, and they make several stops at other hotels before heading directly to Mayo.

Room Tip: There are two floors. No elevator to the second.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed at Econo lodge while my boyfriend had tests done at Mayo. The rooms are basic but clean. They do have a refrigerator and microwave in them. The staff is great; very helpful and accommodating. There's also a complimentary shuttle to Mayo clinic. Will return to Econo Lodge for future trips to Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcanada83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Clean,comfortable,friendly and courtious desk personal,nice breakfast,reliable shuttle and convienient location. The only draw back is that it does not have an elevator,but the price is right and still is a favorite of ours.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1m0ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We were going through Rochester and stayed at this spot overnight. We were greeted by the desk person, Don, a very helpful and pleasant young man. He was able to give us some ideas on what to do while there and where to go to dinner. Our room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. The entire establishment is no-smoking. If we're ever in the area again, we will definitely stay there and we would recommend this place to anyone needing a comfortable place to stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Trip Advisor was the first place I went to find a place to stay in Rochester. I am so happy I did. This place was great. Extremely clean and friendly staff. We enjoyed the discount at Perkins. Another thing I loved was the power strips in the room. Between cell phone chargers, heart defib monitors, computers, etc. we have alot to plug in; it was a WONDERFUL extra touch. Way better than having half the stuff plugged in the bathroom.

Breakfast was nice. Waffles, hard boil eggs, cereal, oatmeal, donuts, toast, coffee and juices.

Within a 10 minute of Mayo main buildings. Free WiFi and parking. There is also a shuttle to Mayo but we didn't use it.

There is no elevator in the building. I could see how this could be difficult for many coming to the area for Mayo. My dad is still able to walk up stairs slowly so it wasn't an issue for us. We were at the top of the stairs in room 208.

Great price for the quality.

If dad decides to move forward with his operation we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Me9247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I always do my homework before I travel. I probably spend too much time. This place is clean. They have updated the place, so it is acceptable. The young staff is very accommodating. The breakfast is minimal, but it is free. If you are a picky eater, you may not be pleased, but for the rating and price, I think this is a great value. Be aware of the following 2 items. There are two floors and no elevators. I noticed some elderly and sick travelers struggling with the stairs. Second, the walls are a little thin. If you are a light sleeper, this may bother you. I only noticed it a couple of times in a week, but it was noticeable. I asked to print something from their computer and they let me. They had iron and ironing boards. They have coined washer/dryer available. Nice for this price!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Knobtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We used Trip Advisor prior to coming to Rochester to help us find a good place to stay. We are so pleased that we made the decision to stay here at the Econo Lodge. The previous review from the Mississippi travelers is quite accurate in the description of the value of this hotel. The hotel is owned and operated by a local couple. The staff is helpful, polite and courteous. The hotel is clean and is well maintained. Our room is on the second floor on the back side and is very quiet. It is especially nice to have a recliner in the room along with a table, 2 chairs and wireless internet. There are also 2 computers in the lobby for the use of the guests. We use the free shuttle to and from Mayo Clinic. The shuttle runs on a regular schedule M-F from approximately 6 AM-6PM. The hotel is conveniently located on Broadway, a main street through Rochester. Discount stores, grocery stores, and restaurants are nearby. They offer a special rate for Mayo Clinic patients. EconoLodge is part of the Choice Privileges Rewards Program. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowatravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
1.9 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 51 in Rochester
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 51 in Rochester
732 reviews
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 1850 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £65 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight consecutive year Platinum Award Winning hotel by Choice Hotels International is family owned and operated. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Hot Breakfast that includes Biscuits and Gravy, Eggs, Canadian Turkey-Bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing