We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
WI
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights as our son was a patient at Mayo. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, from the first call to make the reservation to the day we checked out. They even offered us breakfast earlier than usual, had the surgery been scheduled early in the day. The rooms aren't real big, but they are clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was good as well. The location was great as it was within 1 1/2 miles to Mayo and there were many restaurant options within walking distance. They also offer a Mayo Clinic shuttle, which we didn't use, but is available. You also get a Mayo Clinic discount if you or a family member is a patient, which is very nice. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckyfanWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    55
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
62
52
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

A simple clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We have made this hotel our 'home away from home' for the past four visits to be with our daughter who now works for the Mayo Clinic in Rochester. The value is excellent for the price. The rooms are quiet, immaculately clean, the breakfast is good (hardboiled eggs; waffles; cereal; pastries, juice coffee, fruit, etc.) The people who own the hotel and the folks who staff it are all super-friendly and do anything they can to help guests feel at home. The rooms have a large recliner in addition to a small table and chairs. The linens are fresh and clean. The flat-screen tv is fine. Counterspace around the bath sink is small, but very clean. Overall, if you are looking for good value for the money, this is the place. They don't have an elevator to the second floor, but they will help with luggage if needed. I can't speak for other hotels in the area, but this hotel definitely deserves the "Platinum" rating that they have been given by their hotel chain as far as we are concerned!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mississippitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oostburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed here one night and was not disappointed. I took the free shuttle to/from Mayo. But I would advise that if 1) you are not driving, and 2) not on a tight budget, you should stay downtown. E.g., I walked around the Kahler Grand, and it seems very nice to have the subway walkway downstairs. It makes it so convenient to walk anywhere, even in inclement weather. Sure all the peripheral hotels provide a free shuttle. But be aware that they run about every hour, and they make several stops at other hotels before heading directly to Mayo.

Room Tip: There are two floors. No elevator to the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed at Econo lodge while my boyfriend had tests done at Mayo. The rooms are basic but clean. They do have a refrigerator and microwave in them. The staff is great; very helpful and accommodating. There's also a complimentary shuttle to Mayo clinic. Will return to Econo Lodge for future trips to Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcanada83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Clean,comfortable,friendly and courtious desk personal,nice breakfast,reliable shuttle and convienient location. The only draw back is that it does not have an elevator,but the price is right and still is a favorite of ours.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1m0ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We were going through Rochester and stayed at this spot overnight. We were greeted by the desk person, Don, a very helpful and pleasant young man. He was able to give us some ideas on what to do while there and where to go to dinner. Our room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. The entire establishment is no-smoking. If we're ever in the area again, we will definitely stay there and we would recommend this place to anyone needing a comfortable place to stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 1850 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight consecutive year Platinum Award Winning hotel by Choice Hotels International is family owned and operated. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Hot Breakfast that includes Biscuits and Gravy, Eggs, Canadian Turkey-Bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing