We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price Preformer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is a great place for the money, clean, well equiped and bright. The staff was more than freindly. Did not have breakfast or use the shuttle so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

I just completed a 5 night stay at the Econo Lodge. This is a first class hotel! It has been a Platinum Award Winner in 2008, 2009, 2010 and
2011!! The staff is what makes this a first class hotel.
When I arrived last Sunday afternoon, I was greeted by Don Osborn who was working behind the desk. He is a very friendly person. He even asked me if I needed any help with carrying in my luggage from my car. After I brought my luggage in, I asked Don a question. By the time I turned around, their head house keeper, Genaro, carried my luggage up to my room.
The Econo Lodge is one of the few hotels that has hourly trips to the Mayo Clinic. Some hotels you have to wait 2 hours for service.
The owners of this hotel, Mike and Lynette Jacobson, are outstanding!
Since November 1st was a Holy Day in the Catholic Religion, I asked Lynette if she knew where the nearest Catholic Church was? I started to talk to her husband for a minute and before I knew it, Lynette had called 3 Catholic Churches to get the Mass times for me and gave me directions to them. This is what I call outstanding service!
The Assistant Manager, Josiah Bandy, is always there if you have any questions or you need any help with directions. All of the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very nice and clean. They have an excellent breakfast.
They have beautiful flowers planted outside with some nice shrubs too.
For the price you pay, this is a first class hotel! Try it for yourself and see why they have so many repeat customers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Econo Lodge for a week while we visited the Mayo Clinic because of others who had recommended it, and we agree that the hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff was very cheerful and helpful, and the breakfast was simple but adequate and included fresh fruit every day. It was great to have a microwave and refrigerator in the room. For the price, this hotel is a terrific value. If we go back to Mayo, we will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catfish49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed here on our way to Rapid City, SD from Toledo, Ohio just as a mid-point and were not disappointed! Hotel was very clean, staff was so helpful, and the breakfast was very nice. We would recommend the hotel. They also recommended the Whiskey Creek restaurant across the street which was excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzannev1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. Rooms are a little small but what do you expect for the very reasonable price. I travel 26 weeks a year. I would never stay at an Econo Lodge because of the reputation as a cheap dirty place. Well I did stay here because of the trip adviser reviews. Shuttle comes promptly for Mayo clinic at scheduled times. Staff is very friendly. Could not have been a better stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I'm originally from Rochester, MN and now live in the Denver, CO area. We still have many family and friends in Rochester and when we come back to visit, we always stay at Econo Lodge South. For most people, when they hear Econo Lodge, a certain picture comes to mind. I can tell you that this hotel is far from that. It's very clean, has many updates, and is really a pleasure to stay at. Unless you are used to staying at high-end hotels, you will really enjoy staying here. I do recommend, however, that you book one of the "larger" rooms. You'll appreciate the extra space.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank truax78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights as our son was a patient at Mayo. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, from the first call to make the reservation to the day we checked out. They even offered us breakfast earlier than usual, had the surgery been scheduled early in the day. The rooms aren't real big, but they are clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was good as well. The location was great as it was within 1 1/2 miles to Mayo and there were many restaurant options within walking distance. They also offer a Mayo Clinic shuttle, which we didn't use, but is available. You also get a Mayo Clinic discount if you or a family member is a patient, which is very nice. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buckyfanWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
1.9 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,241 reviews
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#4 of 50 in Rochester
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 50 in Rochester
69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 1850 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £67 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight consecutive year Platinum Award Winning hotel by Choice Hotels International is family owned and operated. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Hot Breakfast that includes Biscuits and Gravy, Eggs, Canadian Turkey-Bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing