We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property that clearly understands travelers' needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a great property! Pleasant staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast; basically everything you could ask for, and more! They go far above and beyond what you will often find in similar brand properties. Just a couple of examples that I rarely see in similar properties; plenty of outlets for the electronic gadgets we all need to charge overnight, and the extra touch of housekeeping taking the time to make cute "towel animals"! That brought a smile at the end of a LONG day, which just makes you feel really good about the choice you made for the night! Thanks so much! I'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArcherFKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, General Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Steve,

I'm happy to hear that our hotel was "everything you could ask for, and more!" What a compliment! I'm so pleased you had a great stay at our hotel, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeepers! A little encouragement can go a long way, and your comments will make their day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

I booked this based on the reviews and was not disappointed. The room was comfortable as well as the bed. We really didn't hear much noise from the hallway. Overall a quiet stay. Breakfast was good and they kept it refilled pretty well. Someone from housekeeping apparently has an artistic touch and turned some of the linens into an elephant in the bathroom. This was one of the first things we saw and it set the mood for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lockpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, General Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

lockpak,

I'm happy to hear the reviews rang true. We appreciate you taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review, yourself. The fun towel designs are a creative touch that our housekeepers came up with! We have a great team of staff, and I will be sure to let our housekeepers know that you enjoyed that extra touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed there one night, and I read the reviews here on this site and they are very true. This is a very nice updated hotel. Very clean and very quiet. Beds were very comfortable, breakfast was good. Plenty of options. Took the shuttle to the clinic and it was very easy. I will be staying there again the next time I am in Rochester, MN. Nicer than some of the other big name hotels in the area. No pool, but I was not looking for that. They have an elevator to the 2nd floor also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 563trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

563trace,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the positive feedback, and are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

First, I can't believe the price for this nice of a hotel. It looked well-maintained from outside, but when we entered the lobby I was surprised how warm and inviting the atmosphere was.

Our room was very clean and fresh smelling. We had two comfortable Queen beds and I loved that each bed had (4) pillows. We slept well and made use of both the fridge and microwave.

I didn't have breakfast every morning, but when I did I found it tasty with standard continental choices and more. I'm not a big waffle, donut or cereal eater. For breakfast, I'm a protein lover, so I was very pleasantly surprised to find they also had yogurt and hard boiled eggs. The dining area was clean and well-staffed.

When we got up one morning, it had snowed about 4 inches. They had blown the snow off of our van, had cleared the parking lot, and had hand shoveled a path on both sides of our vehicle. What?!!! I've never been to a hotel that ever did that before!

We were in Rochester visiting family over the holidays, so the fitness room was a major plus. My wife, daughter and I all used the fitness room to help offset all of the eating.

I didn't expect to see an elevator in a hotel in this price range, especially one so big. So, I asked and found that they had just installed it and specifically chose a large size in case one of their Mayo clients needed to be transported by gurney. Very thoughtful!

I brought a lot of work with me and was pleased to be able to have easy internet access from both our room and the breakfast area. I had no issues watching Netflix movies in hi-def on my laptop.

We regularly stay in high end hotels, but will not waste the money staying anywhere other than here when we come to Rochester. It's so nice to find value like this. Anything else just seems like a waste of money.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side and it was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

David,

Thank you so much for taking the time to go on Trip Advisor to share your experience! It was so wonderful to read about your pleasant stay at our hotel. I have printed your review and shared it with our staff. Reviews like yours are very encouraging and make us enjoy our work all the more!!

THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is an older hotel that was newly remodeled. Though you could see that some items were reused, and there is nothing wrong with that, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and our stay was great. Though they have a continental breakfast, we met friends at the Perkins right next door for breakfast, which was 10% off because we were staying at the Econo Lodge.
Rochester has hotel rooms that range from a 1 star to 5 stars, but in many cases you get what you pay for, or you pay too much for what you get. Econo Lodge was a nice room for a great price.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We called this hotel directly, instead of going through an online booking, and got a room for even l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for the nice review. I am glad you noticed the changes from remodeling. We have finished the Elevator, Fitness room, Business Center. As you mentioned some of the furniture is older. We hired an Amish cabinet maker to build our furniture. I have found that Amish people work at their own speed. The new furniture was supposed to be completed a few months ago. I am hoping it will be finished this spring....? Thank you for staying with us.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We recently stayed there and were extremely happy with the friendly service, cleanliness, and quiet surroundings. The breakfast was included and it was great, too, something for everyone and everything fresh! The staff couldn't have been more helpful with whatever we needed. ( like the use of an ironing board and iron) They even printed out directions and times for the local show to make things easy for us. We told some people we met at the Mayo Clinic about our hotel (who were disappointed with the hotel they were staying at) and they decided to come over to the Econo Lodge. We saw them that evening there and they were thrilled they made the change. It's only a five minute drive to the Mayo Clinic and when we come back to Rochester, it is the only place we will stay.

Room Tip: We requested the small room but next time would request a larger one. The small room is really good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for the nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I want to thank you for recommending us to other people, it is our best form of advertizing and we appreciate it very much. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
1.9 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,241 reviews
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#4 of 50 in Rochester
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 50 in Rochester
69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 1850 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £67 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight consecutive year Platinum Award Winning hotel by Choice Hotels International is family owned and operated. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Hot Breakfast that includes Biscuits and Gravy, Eggs, Canadian Turkey-Bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing