We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while on the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while on the road”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The place is spotless. The staff is extraordinary, patient and hospitable. The rooms are quite and the beds are comfortable. Moreover, they create animal figures out of towels in the bathroom. The breakfast is varied from cold cereal to hot waffles. This two story hotel also has an elevator. This and and an AARP rate makes this a hotel one should stay at when visiting Rochester. Moreover, if one is unlucky to be in Rochester because you have to use the services of the Mayo Clinic - we didn't, we were on vacation - then arrangements can be made to and from the Clinic. Overall, one of the best hotels for an on the road overnight stay my wife and I have stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good morning George,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience and review our hotel. We strive to create great guest experiences. It has always been our goal to provide comfortable accommodations while extending our "Minnesota Nice" Hospitality to our guests. We make effort to make our guests feel at home. I would also like to thank you for recognizing the hard work of our team. Everyone from our front desk agents to housekeeping and maintenance work hard to keep our hotel clean and up-to-date.

We look forward to seeing you again. Enjoy the rest of this beautiful summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    56
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
62
52
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here in July 2014. While visiting family in hospital.The clerks were very friendly and helpful.I observed front desk clerk dusting front lobby furniture. Another time he was folding laundry.. They stay busy.The room was very comfortable.The breakfast bar stayed full.This hotel is worth the money I will be back if i am in this area again.

Room Tip: The room with king size bed and recliner is very nice for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and think of our hotel as nice and clean. Our team works hard to make our hotel look spotless everyday. Everyone from housekeepers to front desk agents take part in keeping the hotel clean and to our guests satisfaction.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff, rooms, and breakfast. We greatly appreciate your review for future guests, and we thank you for choosing us. We look forward to hosting you again. Have a lovely summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoyt, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I were in Rochester, Minnesota to visit the Mayo Clinic. The staff at the Econo Lodge were very helpful in a number of ways. They helped us use the excellent shuttle service that we used for our visits to the various locations at the Mayo Clinic. Also, they were very helpful when we had to adjust the length of our stay based on our appointments at the clinic. Furthermore, they had many good ideas for both local area dining and attractions to visit in the free time between appointments. Jens and Steve were especially helpful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geostewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Good afternoon! Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and found our staff to helpful. We know coming to the Mayo Clinic can be challenging and that length of stay can sometimes be unknown. We try to be flexible and accommodate extensions whenever possible. I'm glad extending your stay worked out well. As far as our staff goes, we believe we have some pretty amazing people on our team. I am happy to hear Jens and Steve were especially helpful, they are great at what they do!

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to seeing you again! Have a wonderful summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here with my family one night in June 2014 while coming back from the Black Hills of South Dakota. I was a bit worried about staying for one night with my husband and kids because they do not have a pool but we ended up being very happy with our stay.

The customer service at this hotel was excellent. There were young men who checked us in and out and they were wonderful. Much better than many of the adults we encountered at other hotels on our vacation! I believe this is a family run hotel, and you can totally tell that they are invested in making their hotel stand out above the rest--it definitely does!

The breakfast area is quite big so it is nice for families who may need more room to eat in the morning. We got to the breakfast area a bit late but still had plenty to eat.

The rooms were small but were very clean and tidy. My kids loved the towel in the bathroom which was made into an elephant! Very simple but a very nice touch!

The hotel also had a great little outdoor patio area that I wish we could have used but did not have time to.

There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and also a Perkins next door.

We would definitely stay here again in the future---pool or no pool!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at our hotel. My team and I would like to thank you for your kind words. Our mission is to exceed guest expectations. We work hard to ensure you are happy with your accommodations and feel comfortable and at home. We know you have options, so we really appreciate you chose us to do business with. Thanks for sharing your customer experience about our hotel with others. Your testimonial as a satisfied customer is very important to us, we really appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at this Econo Lodge from June 18, 2014 to June 28, 2014 while having appointments at the Mayo Clinic. This hotel is owned by a husband and wife who are front and center, not in a back office. They must have an excellent training program because their entire staff, from front desk reps to kitchen staff to housekeeping were more than accommodating. Many mornings we asked for a late room cleaning because my sick friend had to sleep in. One night we were enjoying wine in the lobby with other guests we had met, and we needed both a wine opener, Jens, one of the front desk staff, opened more than one bottle of wine for us. Jens also would quietly refill the ice water dispenser with filtered water from the water cooler, water the plants, etc. He always went above and beyond the call of duty. Our room was clean, comfortable, and large enough for 2 women staying for 10 days, and the rate was one of the best we found in Rochester. There is a workout room available 24 hours, which came in handy. There is no pool or restaurant, but the breakfast selections had both fruit/yogurt/hard boiled eggs, as well as waffles, donuts and bagels. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again if we return to the Mayo Clinic.

Room Tip: If you need peace and quiet, ask for a room at the back of the hotel, which abuts a residential stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanDon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking your for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We agree with your comments about our staff. We believe we have hired some the most helpful and friendliest people to be a part of our team. Our team members are extremely guest focused. We want them to feel empowered to do whatever it takes for guest satisfaction. Thank you so much for highly recommending our hotel, it means the world to us.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you in the future. Hope you enjoy a beautiful summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Az
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is the third time we have stayed in Rochester? We stayed three nights and will stay again when in town. The staff maybe on the younger side but so friendly and always with a smile. If you
Have any trouble with their free internet those young guys not only tell you, they will just do it for you and with a big smile. Some one is always right in the room for your breakfast to fill and clean up. Having that special coffee was an extra treat too. We recommend this motel 100 percent

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Mary,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review. We very much appreciate it and value your feedback. I am happy to hear that some members of our team were able to help you throughout your stay. Our guest's satisfaction is a top priority for us and we want to make sure any problems you may have get fixed immediately.

It means the world to us that you would recommend our hotel "100%". Your thoughtfulness is greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This location far exceeded any expectation I had for an Econo Lodge. Rooms while small were clean and well cared for and silly little touches like towel animals were something I most definitely didn't expect.

Everything about our stay here was excellent and you can tell this location is run by a team that gets great service and value to the customer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Rochester Mayo. Our mission is to exceed guest expectations, and we're thrilled to hear we exceeded yours. Our Housekeeping team takes great pride in their work, and they like adding a personal touch to enhance your experience. We're pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Have a great summer!

Ashley Jacobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
1,213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
1.6 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 1850 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight consecutive year Platinum Award Winning hotel by Choice Hotels International is family owned and operated. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Hot Breakfast that includes Biscuits and Gravy, Eggs, Canadian Turkey-Bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing