We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected a little better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The outside, lobby and common areas are nice, clean and nicely decorated. The staff on check in was friendly and attentive. I called ahead to advice we were checking in early and that we needed a pack and play set up and ready to go for our toddler. Not only was it set up (which has never been done at other hotels for us) but there was a nice cotton cover and pack and play sheet that was put on there as well. A nice touch for sure and much appreciated.
The room itself was a decent size as was the kitchenette area. It was what you would expect from a kitchenette hotel room. Didnt seem to be a busy weekend and noise was not an issue at all. In fact the people next to us had a few dogs staying with them, and they too were very quiet and well behaved!
The more disapointing parts of the room were the out dated and or worn carpet, paint, furniture and fixtures. There seemed to be large voids on the walls that would look necer with an apropriatly sized picture or art. These were all clean and in working order, just outdated and were showing their age. The bathroom had the ugly elongated plastic light fixture and bad lighting and the counter top was very dated-yellowish color. The toilet/bathtub area was clean for the most part. I did find a few hairs on the floor and I think that the shower curtain liner needed to be washed and or replaced, as it had a bit of water and soap residue on the bottom.
The most disapointing part of the whole room and stay was the bed :( It was a queen, which we were aware it would be a queen was very uncomfortable and hard. I looked under the sheets at the mattress and it looked like the top was once a plush or pillow top, but had since been worn down to the point you could almost feel the springs. The center seemed to be sagging as well. The bedding was fine, if not a little chilly since the window had a BAD draft coming in. I had to crank up the heat to feel comfortable at night betweent the bad mattress and too cold air this was not a good sleeping experience. This was a huge disapointment, since Ive come to expect very comfortable beds at Marriot hotels.
We did not use the pool or work out room, we were the over the weekend so we did not have the managers evening meal. The continental breakfast was good, and plentiful, there was something for everyone. The employees that maintained the area while we were there were very nice and kept the area clean and very well stocked. No issues with the breakfast at all.
I think that the rate we paid $109 per night with out fees and taxes was too much for this hotel given the bed and drafty bedroom situation. The out dated decor is something I could have dealt with in comparison to the money spent had the bed and sleeping experience been what Ive come to expect from Marriot. I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend it to any friends or family unless the mattress/window issue was resolved. With some paint, new carpet, a few modern pictures, new fixtures and furniture these rooms would be fantastic. But none of that matters if you cant sleep well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

There's no need to say much more than that there was a 1" black bug crawling up the side of my bed when I walked in my room last week. The rooms are spacious with adequate eating / working surfaces but nothing can make up for a pest problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank minnymouse88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel is in somewhat of a business district. It is on the same street as 2 additional Marriott hotels. It is quaint, older and showing it's age. We requested a room away from the interstate due to the reviews I read regarding noise. We stayed on the 3rd floor with our room facing the parking lot. We never had any issues with noise during our 3 night stay. We had a suite with a living room, small dining table, full kitchen (fridge, micro, stove, dishwasher, sink and ammenities), and bedroom with oversized Queen. There wasn't anything special about the room but it was comfortable and quiet, also showing its age.

The breakfast each morning was very generous, fresh waffles w/ALL the fixings, yogurt, cottage cheese, fresh fruit, toast, bagels, muffins, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, cereal, apple & orange juice, coffee and tea. Some of the items changed during each morning but overall very hearty breakfast and abundant. Also a nice dining area set up for breakfast.

Never went into the pool as it smelled so strong of chlorine but it was inside and heated.

As indicated this is the first time we have ever had something go missing from a Marriott hotel. There wasn't any safe in the room to put our personal items in. I hid everything our jewelry and everything I could think of but forgot about our little portable DVD player and realized when we were packing to leave it was gone (idiot for got to take the the cord so good luck with recharging). I reported it to the front desk just so they would know, the Clerk was very apologetic and advised he would have the Gen. Mgr. contact me but haven't heard from anyone. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from the interstate.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertscubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Nothing really special about this hotel. Did not eat any breakfasts or use the pool there. Shuttle used by one in our group to go to the MN state fair. It was off the beaten path. Glad to be able to use GPS for the address.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonandv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This Residence in was just "OK." There really wasn't anything special about it. The good points were that they had a pool, (which we didn't use), they had daily evening "socials," the complimentary breakfast was good, including eggs, muffins, potatoes, and some type of breakfast meat in addition to the usual continental breakfast items, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating.

The bad points were that it was a bit overpriced, (maybe because we were there on State Fair weekend), the rooms weren't all that well kept, (needed some repairs), and it was just a little "rough around the edges."

I did like that it was just a short hop to the shuttle for the state fair, and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Shop around. There is competition very near.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed there over Labor Day weekend-- nice place, great staff but be careful to select rooms away from Interstate I-35W; windows are cheap so lots of traffic noise. Great breakfast, pool, newer BBQ. Great access to interstate and park and ride. If you go for the MN state fair, they provide shuttle to park-n-ride, so you can get FREE ride to Fairgrounds.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms located next to Interstate 35W (western rooms)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Arrived about 11 p.m. on a Friday night. The motel is a bit hard to find as it's in a business park. Once we found the motel, we had a bit of a problem finding the main entrance. It wasn't obvious to us. When we finally got to the front desk, the young staff was very friendly and efficient. Our one bedroom suite was very nice. Would have prefered a king bed, but a queen was OK. Full sized refrigerator with ice maker was nice. No running down the hall to the ice machine! All glasses and dishes included. Full sized coffee maker with multiple coffee packs. 2 TVs worked great. Very clean room. The room furnishings are just starting to show some wear. Despite being right next to a highway, we heard little noise. They were very full that night and I think I took the last parking spot in the lot. They have a nice indoor pool and "sport court" with basketball hoop. The highlight of the stay was the breakfast. Full delicious hot breakfast with multiple items frequently restocked. To me, the 2 of us would have paid $20 at least in a restaurant for this! Thank you, Residence Inn Roseville, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,618,010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roseville hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseville - St Paul
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roseville, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Roseville
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Minneapolis/St. Paul North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville

Address: 2985 Centre Pointe Dr, Roseville, MN 55113-1105
Region: United States > Minnesota > Roseville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Roseville
Price Range: £94 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville Hotel Roseville
Residence Inn Roseville
Roseville Residence Inn
Residence Inn Minneapolis St. Paul/Roseville MN

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing