We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West, MN
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was the most run down country inn we have ever stayed at. First off we checked into our non-smoking room which smelled worse than a VFW! Actually the entire third floor smells like an ashtray! The furniture was literally falling apart! Mismatched chairs at the table, under the mini fridge was covered in mold, wood on all furniture was scratched terribly, hair all over our bathroom floor, pool and hot tub freezing, hot breakfast was cold(we had to microwave everything)!! The only good thing about this hotel is the staff!! They were VERY accommodating in getting us switched to another room that smelled only slightly less like smoke. They always were friendly and greeted us when coming and going! This place needs a major makeover!! Also FYI we asked why the pictures on the website do not resemble what the hotel actually looks like and they said they share pictures with the NEW Country Inn on the other end of town! So don't be fooled, if you want a Country Inn stay on the other end of town NOT this one!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alymadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West, MN, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Alymadi-
I apologize for the experience you had with your recent stay with us! You are correct the hotel is in need of a renovation and we are the final planning stages of such. We apologize for the poor experience you had with our breakfast. We pride ourselves on offering great customer service and will take immediate action to ensure our breakfast standards are improved on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

After a long travel day this newer property and friendly and helpful staff were a welcome sight! Things continued to improve after checking into the spacious and clean room and having a peaceful/quiet sleep.
They have a decent continental breakfast, (although the breakfast and especially the coffee, could be better), but I was continuously impressed with the quality of the staff, particularly Karen "the weekend warrior".
This property is tucked conveniently off the highway in St. Cloud which was about in the middle between the Brainerd and Albertville....working perfectly for our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel itself is charming. The lobby and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were spotless white. The bathroom was clean and overall, it was a pretty good stay. The hotel is located within walking distance to numerous restaurants, including 5 Guys Burgers and Fries. On the down side, the work area in the room is nothing more than a wooden card table with wooden chairs. After sitting on wooden chairs for 6 - 8 hours... well, lets just say that it was not really conducive to work. If I were looking for a room simply to spend the night, this place would be perfect. However, when I travel to the Sartell/St. Cloud area again on business, I will probably look for a room that has an actual business desk and chair. My rear end will thank me for spending the extra few dollars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonnahsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 6:00 without a reservation so I was thinking I was pretty lucky. They have nice accomodations here and very nice staff at the front desk. Their breakfast is about the same as other hotels we have stayed in and the breakfast area was nice and clean and well taken care of by two staff people when I was sitting there. Good value with comfortable beds. Nice shower with one of the shower curtains that bow outward, so you don't feel like your in a cave in the shower, I like that. I would recommend this place to any travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Pretty much what the title says. The room was nice and clean. No problems with my few nights spent here on business. Breakfast is not the best, but what you would expect. Wouldn't mind staying here again, but would probably want to try other options first if I came back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussRexRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

What a great hotel, the front desk staff is always friendly and helpful. I have stayed at this hotel for several years. Anytime there is an issue with a room no matter how small, even a TV remote not working, it is fixed right away. The manager Jackie has a great staff and they really care about the guest. I look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfb1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The front desk folks were great, the room was clean but the furniture was not very comfortable. The breakfast Attendant Betty was very nice. The bed was not very comfortable either. The refrigerator was off when we got there, we turned it on and it froze our pop. They should have a note on the fridge as to what the dial should be set at or leave it on. The sink in the bathroom had a big crack in it. It needs some upkeep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Cloud hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
#3 of 19 in Saint Cloud
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St Cloud
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 19 in Saint Cloud
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud East, MN
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn
#4 of 19 in Saint Cloud
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West, MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West, MN

Address: 235 Park Avenue South, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-3779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Cloud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Cloud
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Cloud
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West, MN 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three miles from downtown, the newly renovated Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, St. Cloud West, MN now features 30 additional guest rooms as well as expanded spaces and services, including a breakfast room, meeting space and a veranda with a fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West, MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Saint Cloud
Saint Cloud Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing