We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing all the small details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I generally give positive reviews, however the Holiday Inn was booked by my employer. My complaints are that everything seems a little run down. There are white tiles in the bathroom with filthy grout. There were stray pubic hairs floating around and a burnt out lightbulb. My huge pet peeve is they have a toilet paper dispenser that is impossible to pull more than a square at a time. It's infuriating and stupid if you have children they can't use the bathroom without help. Are they concerned about toilet paper theft? You've got to be kidding me. To top it off I was serenaded by a rendition of "Baby Got Back" down the hallway as I walked. It was a housekeeper and she never stopped her antics as I walked to or entered my room. A word to management, drug testing your staff would clean up your image. At least one of your staff will pop hot for methamphetamine. It was bad enough I refused to let them "clean" my room during my stay and brought all my belongings with me each time I left. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doomquake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethadamek, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and will make sure the information is shared with the appropriate staff.

I am sorry for your poor experience at our hotel. If you would like to further discuss your stay, please call me at 320-253-9000.

Thank you,
Beth A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I came into St. Cloud for business and instead of staying at the "business man's special" hotels in town (which were sold out) I stayed at the Holiday Inn which still had rooms available. The hotel is quite large with one restaurant, and one bar which is open to the public, and seems to be a hangout for the college crowd. On pulling in at around 11pm on a Saturday night I witnessed a showing match outside the bar which was right by the lobby entrance and a young girl noisily getting sick in in the bushes, not a good first impression. The lobby is nicely appointed and the rest of my check in went smoothly. On the way to my room I walked through a large activity center which is like a courtyard in the center of the rooms which line the perimeter. They have a basketball court, pool, playground, hottub etc. It's about 1115 now and there's a basketball game going full swing, and there are coeds making out in the hottub, strike two. I call the front desk and they tell me that the courts and hottub stay open until 1130 on the weekend. As I lay down to sleep I'm jarred by the sound of extremely graphic and loud pornography coming from the room next to mine. I'd read the reviews about how thin the walls are but everyone I kid you not they are paper paper-thin almost unbelievably thin. I pound of the wall and a very embarrassed sounding gentleman apologizes, and I go to sleep for the rest of the night. I'm awakened the next morning by the gentleman next door's wake up call, which comes through crystal clear through the the thin walls. I decide I have enough and RE-call all hotels in town and luckily one has a cancellation and I check out of the holiday Inn cancelling my reservation and check in elsewhere. All in all the worst hotel experience I've ever had. The only bright spot was the front desk worker who helped me cancel my reservation, she was extremely kind and understanding, I wish I remembered her name.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblingMan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethadamek, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us make improvements to our hotel. I am sorry you do not have a good stay at our hotel.

Please feel free to call me at the hotel if you would like to further discuss your stay.

Sincerely,
Beth A
320-253-9000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived on Monday as my husband had to work here so I tagged along. You first arrive it's very impressive big and om lots of pools they have I believe 3 and one is like 8 ft deep so that's nice. We have a room on first floor it's very big it's a suite so we're enjoying that. I used the workout room this morning and it's nice and clean with 3 treadmills, stationary bike and an eliptical (sp). We ate here last night and the food was good; wasn't to impressed with my Gyro though. It was okay not great. As far as price really not sure as it's a business trip for my husband.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBelle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethadamek, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your guest room and the amenities we have to offer. I will pass along your comments regarding the Gyro you ate in the restaurant to our Food and Beverage Director.

We hope you will keep our hotel in mind for your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Beth A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was in town for one night. Another friend was staying here so I got a room, too. It was fine except for the odor from a smoker. Bar has live music on Wednesday nights. Good beer selection. Would probably try elsewhere if in St. Cloud again. Is close to a bunch of chain restaurants. Some interesting places in center of town to eat.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Tangobangomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethadamek, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry your room was smokey. We appreciate your valuable comments.

Please feel free to call the hotel directly if you would like to further discuss your stay.

Sincerely,
Beth A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We decoded to go stay at a hotel so the kids could go swimming. I looked into the reviews and we narrowed it down between here and days inn. We are so happy we chose to stay here because the kids had a blast from the kiddie wadding pool to the slides and arcade games.
Once the kiddos were tucked in with Nana I took advantage of the fitness room. Which is nice. We will be coming to stay again sometime soon

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjb0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethadamek, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We are so happy you chose our hotel as your lodging destination. It sounds like you enjoyed the amenities and were able to utilize our exercise room too!

We truly appreciate you reviewing your stay with us and hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Beth A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a youth tournament and stayed here as a team. Great place for kids! So much to do and keep them busy. I had a "suite" which is in its own little wing. The room was nice and clean. Had a "non-smoking" room initially that smelt like someone had been smoking in the room for 20yrs but they moved us right away and took care of us. Being a dad of twin girls, I typically get the pull-out couch to sleep on. Of all the pull outs I have slept on, this one was the most comfortable.

The one little issue with the room was the air vents were kinda loud and the plumbing system is a bit funny. It seemed like anytime a room around ours (not sure if above, below, next??) flushed their toilet, ours would partially flush as well. I tested it by throwing some toilet paper in there and leaving it to see what happened. After about two surrounding flushes , the paper was gone. So there was a lot of flushing sounds coming from the bathroom. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was NOT good... Do something else for breakfast!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethadamek, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feed back. I am glad hotel staff moved you when your first room was unsatisfactory and it sounds like you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

I am sorry the buffet was not satisfactory. I will make sure your comments reach our Food and Beverage Director.

If there is anything else we can do for you, please feel free to contact the hotel directly.

Sincerely,
Beth A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This appears to be an older hotel, but still kept up nicely. There is a huge "Kids Zone" recreation area in the hotel with at least 3 pools and all kinds of games (pool tables, arcade games, air hockey tables, etc.) & places to run around and play. Fantastic if you're traveling with kids of any age! Our room was nothing special - quite small, but still comfortable and clean. We were away from the kid zone so it was quiet at night, too. Wi-fi worked well.

Our one complaint was the quality of the food at the restaurant - the food was burnt, the pop tasted like syrup, the eggs were runny and the coffee was weak! Other than that, the hotel was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the kid zone area if you want quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoboticCanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethadamek, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and all the amenities we offer! We appreciate your valuable input!

I am sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience. I will forward your comments to our Food and Beverage Director.

Thank you,
Beth A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Cloud hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Saint Cloud
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
#3 of 19 in Saint Cloud
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, St. Cloud West, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St Cloud
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, St. Cloud East, MN
2.4 mi away
Courtyard St. Cloud
Courtyard St. Cloud
#8 of 19 in Saint Cloud
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud

Address: 75 37th Ave S, PO Box 1104, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-3750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Cloud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn® & Suites St. Cloud welcomes you! Located at the intersection of Highway 15 & 23, we are the premier choice for 100% non-smoking, full-service St. Cloud lodging! Ideal for corporate guests, we are conveniently located near many businesses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Cloud
Holiday Inn St Cloud
Saint Cloud Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Saint Cloud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing