We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Responsive Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
Certificate of Excellence
Albert Lea, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Responsive Staff!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I don’t normally post reviews, but after my recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express I felt compelled to do so. My daughter and I were in town to visit the university where she is thinking about attending college. Personally, I do not know much about the area and thought this was an important “fact finding mission” about where I was sending my only daughter. I must say it was a very pleasant experience that made me confident me that the people in the area look out for one another. My check-in went smoothly and I was even given an SCSU rate when the front desk staff inquired into the reason for my stay. Rooms were well kept and breakfast was what one would expect. When I returned from dinner at RJ I was approached by a group of very dirty individuals selling “junk” off a flat bed trailer. This did not make me feel safe at this hotel. Concerned, I informed the desk staff whom immediately took action to take care of the situation to have them removed. For this reason, I will continue to stay at the Holiday Inn Express when I visit my daughter at SCSU and I’m secure in the fact that the hotel will take action when I feel that safety is being jeopardized.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckhunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
duckhunter64,

Thank you for writing a review regarding the encounter you had in our parking lot. I am so happy staff took immediate steps to ensure safety for all guests. We look forward to your return during your daughters college days.

Again, thank you for the review.
Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    61
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
69
40
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Martin, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have an all staff meeting every 4 months. We have 6 of our field staff stay at this hotel. The service is great and we had an after work get together in their breakfast room. It worked great for a get together for about 25 people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
LoriD,

I am happy to hear you received great service and the breakfast bar fit your needs. As always, let us know if we can make it better. Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and we'll see you in four months!

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at this hotel. The bed was comfortable, and the room was extremely clean. Beyond that, it wasn't that great. The furniture and decor seems VERY old. The 1 bedroom suite didn't seem much larger than a standard room (like they just added a wall in the middle). The living room area was very dark, and every lighting fixture seemed to have a different color bulb (some seemed like bug lights). Proper lighting seems like such a cheap way to make a room seem nicer...just use the normal type of bulbs that people would use in their home (not in a bug light).

Checking in took forever. They were not busy, but the front desk clerk took a very long time to check us in. It was hard getting a luggage cart, and at one point saw a hotel worker using one to haul a bucket and tools. The complimentary breakfast was a nice amenity, but I agree with other reviewers that they need to staff this with two people, and not just one. There was one woman working to refill everything, and she seemed extremely overwhelmed. At one point, something with the juice machine broke, and she was so angry and frustrated that she literally threw the piece across the counter. I felt bad that she was overwhelmed, but I was also surprised that she'd behave that way in front of guests.

Overall, I'd say this place has the potential to be a lot better if some of the employees just cared about doing their job better. We'll probably try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Sunny1941,

We are happy to hear you found your room extremely clean. We are so excited that our remodel has begun and includes the items you mentioned; new furnishings, carpet, wall treatments, lighting and a new breakfast bar/lounge area. We will have a completely new look when it is completed!

However, I am very disappointed in the way the breakfast bar staff dealt with the juice machine problem, please accept my sincerest apology. I would encourage you to stay with us the next time your in town so we may show you we truely care about our guests stay.

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My family and I spent a night here while vacationing in the St. Cloud area. The front desk crew were friendly & very accomodating. The room was clean and comfortable which is what I expected after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. The morning breakfast buffet was hot & ready and thankfully the coffee was plentiful. The location was perfect for getting to local resturants and the the interstate for our drive to the Twin Cities the next morning. The next time I'm in St. Cloud I will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Tom L,

I am glad to hear we lived up to the reviews for cleanliness, friendliness and being accomodating! We believe our location is perfect, easy to access and close enough to central St Cloud. Thank you for making our hotel your location of choice.

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Arrived at 10:30 PM. The room was ready, clean, and very comfortable. The hotel is very easy to find from the interstate.The front desk clerk was very friendly at check in. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well after a long day of traveling. Simply what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
AdamM,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next stay!

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Wonderful typical Holiday Inn express. Although it is not far from St. Cloud, road construction slows things down. We were put in a room with a view of a wall. Unfortunately the -wifi didn't work . I went to the desk to complain and the manager emerged and told the clerk to upgrade us. Upgrade indeed! We wound up in a huge two bedroom suite. The wifi worked well. Crunch not the most comfortable, no real view but still a great value. Breakfast was nice but busy.

Room Tip: If Internet is important make sue you call the property directly so you won't end up in a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Patricia S,

I am pleased we were able to accomodate your needs during your stay. We do expect the road construction to be over soon, as it appears they are nearing the end and we couldn't be happier.

Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
272 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The employees at this HIE are great. They're friendly, helpful, and courteous. My room was equipped with a fridge and a comfy bed. The location is great with the exception of the dreaded road contruction. My two big complaints are maybe minor to some, but not to me. I use a hotel's exercise room and I am uncomfortable when there is no hand sanitizer or anything to wipe the equipment down. That's just basic cleanliness and it's not something that should be skimped on. Also, MSNBC was not one of my TV choices. Why not? I'd sure like to see it there next time I visit your establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzb_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
suzb_00,

Thank you for the wonderful review on our staff. The dreaded road construction is soon to be completed and it can't come soon enough!

I am so sorry that the cleaning solution was not available for you during your stay. We will get a hand sanitizer station put in place by your next visit. As for MSNBC, I will certainly look into that.

Again, thank you so much for the review we really appreciate hearing the good and the not so good from our guests. It helps us to make it a better hotel for our guests.

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Cloud hotels
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St Cloud
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
#2 of 19 in Saint Cloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn
#4 of 19 in Saint Cloud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
4.4 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel St Cloud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud
Address: 4322 Clearwater Rd, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-9630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Cloud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Cloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... to the Holiday Inn Express-St. Cloud! As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel the Holiday Inn Express-St. Cloud offers services and amenities to accommodate every traveler. Be sure to take advantage of the free Continental Deluxe Breakfast Bar and 3 pools, which include a swimming pool, wading pool and whirlpool. The 24 hour fitness center and High Speed Internet ready business center are also an added bonus to your stay. All tastefully appointed guest rooms feature a refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and two-line speakerphones with data ports. All guest rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access. King, Jacuzzi, and Executive Suites feature Kitchenettes and are certain to provide for you and your family's needs. Extended stay suites featuring full kitchens are also available. Stay Smart. Stay at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud Hotel Saint Cloud
Holiday Inn Saint Cloud
Saint Cloud Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing