We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Presented, Enough Information, Educates People About The State”

Minnesota History Center
Ranked #4 of 118 things to do in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An interactive museum with both permanent and changing exhibits, the Minnesota History Center hosts concerts, lectures, family days and other special events throughout the year. The building is also home to the Minnesota Historical Society library and archives, a research destination for schoolchildren, family historians and academics.
Amherst, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
548 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Well Presented, Enough Information, Educates People About The State”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Easy to reach, parking is not a huge space. The History Center has a series of exhibits, some ongoing, with a few changing periodically. The Minnesota's Greatest Generation enables one to experience items from the time in such a way that you get a sense of WWII in St.Paul. Some exhibits are more hands on of course. For anyone who lives lose to the Twin Cities, or visits several times a year, a Membership should be considered, just a Christmas/Birthday/Gradfuation Gift suggestion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MO4975678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    105
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I went here today with my kids and had a great time. There was a lot of sights to see...more than I expected and they were very well put together.The staff was very knowledgeable and the Toys exhibit was fantastic. My kids are already begging me to go back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaisyFay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Start your visit here!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lots of interactive exhibits and pretty good restaurant. Gift shop is good also. Get your Minnesota vacation started here for history of Minnesota, you betcha ya!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DQ512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A superb history museum”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My friend and I went to the old toy exhibit. We loved the exhibit. We then toured the rest of the museum. I applaud the wonderful folk who volunteer at the Center. I loved the detail and care of each exhibit. This is a treasure in St. Paul. Every Minnesotan should go through this history preservation site. I will return again and again. Thank you!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isanti
Level Contributor
70 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the Toy exhibit. Free on Tuesday nights”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went on a Tuesday night for free. It would have been well worth the full admission price. Great displays from each decade of television.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlshowalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnesota History Center also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing