We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”
Review of Covington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Covington Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Saint Paul B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed for our wedding night in June! We were delighted to have the whole place to ourselves, which meant we got a free upgrade. The multi-level sweet is spectacular! We enjoyed a perfect romantic evening together followed by a delicious breakfast. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah3Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    13
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
50
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Literally on the water - it's a converted tug - in the center of St. Paul. Who would believe sleeping on the Mississippi could be so calm? Four very comfortable rooms/suites, each with a great gas-fired fireplace and bathroom. Even outside decks - not really needed in January, but they would be fun to enjoy in the summer with great views of the river and downtown St. Paul.

Topped off by an excellent breakfast, complimentary mini-chocolate bars in the cozy and comfortable sitting room.

Best news - No TV in the rooms. I didn't even ask about wifi!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My partner made to booking and kept it a secret... I wondered as we walked along the riverfront when we'd see the Covington. Then she pointed at a converted tugboat. I was surprised, and delighted.

This is a quiet place, on the river across from downtown St. Paul... in the city, but a bit apart. It would be a great place for a personal retreat. The hot breakfast was tasty, coffee plentiful, and ambience cozy (there are only four guest rooms). Rooms were surprisingly spacious, except a bit nautically compact in the bathrooms. Windows lack screens, which might be an issue in the warmer months. Furnishings were comfy and clean.

Room Tip: Wheelhouse 2-level suite isn't worth the premium, the Master's or Mate's rooms are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Covington Inn is not a link in a chain of hotels. It's unique -- a 66-old-tow boat docked on the Mississippi River across from downtown St. Paul. But what a tow boat! Gutted down to the studs and refurbished with care and good taste into four cozy bedrooms, each with a fireplace, bathroom and access to outside decks, the Covington Inn is unique, quirky and thoroughly delightful. Robust, delicious breakfast is served mornings in the main salon. The river has its own way of waking you up at the Covington Inn, and putting you to sleep at night. Smooth, graceful and quiet. Charming decor, cozy beds and couches, picturesque views from the decks. And an American bald eagle in the trees overlooking the scene.

Room Tip: The Pilot's Suite consists of a bedroom and a separate, larger sitting room up top with a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Born and raised in St. Paul, I was thrilled to discover this gem! Boyfriend is from out of town so we booked a night in the Riverview Suite. Down in the basement of the boat, small portholes offered a view of the river from just above water level. Very unique experience. Room was well attended, clean and comfortable. Boyfriend is tall (6'3") and his head nearly brushed the ceiling but that was all part of the charm and uniqueness of the boat experience. Breakfast was delicious, waffles with fresh fruit and caramel sauce. Liz was a delightful hostess. Spent a few hours in the morning sitting on the deck in the sun taking in the views of downtown and the mighty Mississippi River. No other experience like it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Attend a wedding that was held at the Covington. From what I heard from family, It was very affordable and the owners are super easy to work with and very helpful! There is a nearby playground for guests who arrived early with small children. I was invited to look into each of the guest rooms (the wedding party stayed the night), and I must say the decor and detail is both cozy and comforting. Sipping a sparking glass of champagne with Ol' Miss in the background doesn't get any better. I

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checkdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We found the BnB on a spontaneous trip to MN from Chicago, and were dropped in at the Convington. It's cute but can be somewhat of a turnoff at first glance, because it's on the river where lots of water debris (driftwood, trash) comes to rest. Liz kindly waited for us to arrive (6ish pm), and warmly welcomed us.

Appearance-wise: it does need a good outside cleaning (many cobwebs, some rusting on the 2nd level deck, a discarded rug laying on the 2nd deck). Maybe a cosmetic touch-up....

Breakfast was nothing special: scrambled eggs with cheese, some not yet ripe fruit, some home cooked potatoes (half were not thoroughly cooked). No breads, pastries, and such. I am a vegetarian with very little to no consumption of dairy products, and drink decaf coffee (there was none offered). Disappointing that any special diet restrictions or allergies were not taken into consideration.

While Liz (owner) seems to be a nice person, it also seems to us that she may benefit from a course in warmth and hospitality. I called her on her cell (she provided the number as a courtesy so we could reach her after hours) to ask about WiFi, left her a message, she never returned my call. She also seemed bothered by a discarded coffee creamer cuplette that spilled drops of cream on the floor, and brought it to the attention of the guest...necessary to do that?

Our bathroom in the Master's Quarters looked like it hadn't been dusted for QUITE awhile. I wet the corner of a towel and scrubbed a small section the a shelf, which yielded a nice layer of dirt/dust...yecchh.

While we understand that a business costs money to run, I feel signs asking guests to be more considerate of saving energy could be somewhat more diplomatic. One sign stated that If energy is wasted, one must be prepared to pay a $200 fee. Wha'?

Cute, unusual, quaint, but not worth the $199 we paid. Would not return.

Room Tip: The room (Master's Quarters) we stayed in was cute/quaint. But not worth almost $200!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissusFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.4 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covington Inn

Property: Covington Inn
Address: 100 Harriet Island Road B3, Saint Paul, MN 55107
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Covington Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covington Inn is a B & B on a renovated towboat on the Mississippi River in downtown Saint Paul. Come and relax on the deck all night and order in pizza or go to a fancy restaurant across the river. The four guest rooms all have private bathrooms, fireplaces for heat in the winter and air conditioners for the summer. This is a casual and comfortable romantic inn and the innkeeper is on-site for whatever help you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Covington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covington Hotel Saint Paul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing