We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Covington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Covington Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Saint Paul B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A hotel with a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for one night at the Covington Inn on our way down the Mississippi. Not the easiest place to drive to, given the construction works on the access road, but Liz the comprehensive directions we got with our booking confirmation were easy to follow.
The 'Inn' has ample, well lit parking and a gentle ramp down to the jetty where the boat is moored.
Our room (the masters's quarters) was on the upper deck, with direct access to a spacious seating area overlooking the river and downtown St Paul. Impressive views by day: Spectacular by night. Great photo opportunities of the nighttime skyline and the tugboats going up and down river. For the middle of the city it was remarkably quiet, with only occasional sounds of traffic and trains across the river.
The room is up a narrow circular staircase, so not disabled friendly, but the downstairs rooms have relatively easy access.
Access to the city centre is over a pedestrian bridge and a lot of steps, but taxis are available.
Liz, the manager, was very welcoming and knowledgeable about local amenities. She's a wee gem and obviously works hard to make you feel at home.
Coffee was all set up the night before for those getting up early. The pleasant sitting room is a great place for breakfast, or just using the free - and fast - wifi and watching the river roll past.
We spent most of our time on the boat looking over at the high-rise Crowne Plaza, thinking how much more enjoyable it was here than being stuck in a cookie-cutter chain hotel.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purejammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Owner at Covington Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review here. You and I see eye to eye on looking outside the box, especially when it comes to exploring different places when we're traveling. I understand the need for the big hotels but when you know about a floating b & b, what other choice is there? I just want to say 'thank you' for your super nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    13
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
49
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

On a road trip from Lake Atasca to New Orleans following the Mississippi we were delighted to be able to stay on the river itself. This B&B is an oasis of calm in the city. Rooms are delightful, we really enjoyed the Captains Quarters. Liz is a great host and took care of a couple of Scots a long way from home very well. Don't worry about going out for dinner, our picnic on the deck as the sun went down was amazing! Unlikely we will ever be back here and that is very sad :(

Room Tip: Pilot room over two levels or the Captains Quarters
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

St. Paul has a dramatic waterfront, but the downtown hotels are on a high bluff and not really about the views. The shoreside park areas can be great for bike riding and there are "Nice Ride" bike rental spots in strategic places high and low but no neighborhoods of motels and cafes.

So the Covington Inn turns out to be not only interesting but, I think, the best place to be as a visitor if you're looking for something that you wouldn't find just anywhere. You can base yourself here and easily drive 5 minutes across the bridge to downtown, or, as I did walk to the base of the bridge and catch a bus.

There are no restaurants within walking distance-- but nice parkland all around. If you're a good sport and want to go out on the water or see a show you're a block away from a riverboat ride and a showboat attraction.

The conversion from towboat to inn was thoughtfully done. Cabins are snug with good views and the deck is expansive and has plenty of lounge chairs and tables. Bring your own wine and cheese and just hang out.

In the morning, early-risers are invited to turn on the coffeemaker whenever they're up so I enjoyed a long beautiful sunrise time before breakfast up on the deck while generously caffeinated. Delightful. And affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

This was the best B&B experience ever! It's wonderful little towboat renovated with 4 charming rooms and suites, each on a different floor.

Between our Mates Quarters with its own porch and bed next to the open windows, the lovely sitting /dining room, the communial porch on the main floor, the fabulous deck upstairs, and the fantastic breakfast, I can't decide which is my favorite. Oh wait, yes I can: it's Liz, the innkeeper!

Liz unites the whole experience with her wonderful hospitality, down to earth friendliness, and professionalism.

We will be back as often as we can, and even bought a gift certificate for our kids anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary in the Pilot House suite and it was a unique, wonderful experience. The suite is on 2 levels with the bedroom and bath on the second deck (floor) and the sitting room and private outside patio on the third deck (floor) in the old pilot house. You are on the south side of the Mississippi River looking toward the skyline of St.Paul. The boat is permanently moored and there was no rocking motion. In the morning, I took a nice walk along the Harriet Island Regional Park pathways. We watched the crews from the Minnesota Boat Club downriver on Raspberry Island sculling both evening and morning. Liz, the avuncular host, was very personable and made a fine breakfast of cinnamon French Toast with fruit and turkey sausage. I would highly recommend this venue for those looking for an upscale "Huckleberry Finn" experience on the river.

Room Tip: The Pilot House suite is the largest with 2 rooms and a private outdoor patio on the third deck,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just wanted to add that Liz is just a wonderful hostess and manager. You really could not ask for better customer service. My husband and I were just delighted with her attention to detail, kindness and professionalism. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My mom, dad and I stayed here while I was in town for business to try something different. We really enjoyed it! Far better than some fancy hotel downtown. We reserved the Pilot House Suite and I slept up in the wheelhouse on a fold out couch and my parents stayed downstairs. Worked out perfectly. Liz, the owner and innkeeper was very nice and helped us with all kinds of local to dos.

Room Tip: The Pilot House Suit is great because you get the wheelhouse and upper deck to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ISkiBum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.4 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covington Inn

Property: Covington Inn
Address: 100 Harriet Island Road B3, Saint Paul, MN 55107
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Covington Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covington Inn is a B & B on a renovated towboat on the Mississippi River in downtown Saint Paul. Come and relax on the deck all night and order in pizza or go to a fancy restaurant across the river. The four guest rooms all have private bathrooms, fireplaces for heat in the winter and air conditioners for the summer. This is a casual and comfortable romantic inn and the innkeeper is on-site for whatever help you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Covington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covington Hotel Saint Paul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing