We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Good value for the price you pay for this hotel. I was in another chain the previous days and it was twice as much and half the value. The room was very good size and the temp in the room was good. The restaurant was ok nothing to write home about. I would stay there again if I have meetings in that area

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank You Anne for leaving us this feedback. I hope that you enjoyed your stay here at the Kelly Inn and hope that you stay with us again whenever you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the best western kelly inn in St. Paul for an nhl game, it was a little bit difficult to find but other than that it was perfectly located. Really close to the excel energy centre, some people we talked to from the hotel walked to the game but there was a really convenient shuttle service there and back. It worked out perfect, was free, fast and was constantly going back and forth so you don't have to be waiting long. The hot tub was broken when we got here but the pool area was nice anyways. The hotel is pretty far from the mall of America but it works well to make a day trip out of the mall. The room I got was very spacious compared to my friends room, we paid the same rate for a room with a pull out couch and a king bed as just a king bed which have us more space. Really great place to stay if you want to be downtown St. Paul and on the lower price end of most hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank You Jenna for the response and I'm glad that we had the chance to provide you with a nice place to stay. Make sure you let all your friends know about how your stay was. Yes the shuttle does run back and forth and there is not much of a wait time. Whenever you see it outside you just hop on. As long as you are going somewhere Downtown we will take you within the period that the shuttle runs. Hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel was in a great location, the complimentary shuttle service to the Xcel Center, and the free hotel parking were great! The rooms were spacious and clean, the beds were very comfortable. In room mini fridge and microwave was also nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank You for staying with us and I'm happy to hear that the shuttle service was excellent. Whether your here for a MN Wild Game or a Concert we will always have the free shuttle back and forth to the event. Even if you wanted to go early there is a shuttle that can take you down. Also just like you said we are the only hotel next to Downtown St Paul that offers free parking. Make sure you join us again the next time your in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very nice rooms! Clean and spacious. Towels were brand new (they still had the inspected sticker on them:) Got a good sleep in the comfy bed. At check in, the staff told me about the shuttle that took us wherever we wanted to go ~ was super convenient! Nice bar area. Good price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank You for staying with us and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Best Western Plus Kelly Inn. Make sure that you ask about our special packages the next time your around. I hope that you can join us again so that we can provide you with our superior customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We travel frequently with well-behaved dogs, and this is one of the most pet-friendly we have found. It is in a great location, very nice and clean with friendly and competent staff. Both times we have stayed there in the last year we have used the restaurant and have had excellent meals with good service. We would stay even without the dogs! Since we are in St Paul a couple of times a year to visit family, I know we will be staying at Kelly Inn again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Judith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank You for staying with us and I'm glad that you joined us again this year. Just like you said we are a pet friendly hotel and we do not charge for your pets. Join us again whenever you back and ask about our special packages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

shuttle great -15f weather my car did't start but could still get back and forth to local hospital. The internet needs update because said cont. bkft but had a sm restraurant. and $8 bkft menu. Location to Unitied and Children's hospital excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank You for the review Marie and I am glad that we can help you with shuttle services. Just so that you know our Hospital Shuttle Services run 24hrs on demand. You also get a discount for visiting friends and family at the hospital so make sure to mention the Hospital discount when you stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

No worries here. We come back every year. Comfy beds & pillows, clean, attractive rooms, prompt & courteous check-in & check-out. Staff is very accommodating. Pet friendly hotel. Ample, convenient parking. Restaurant also convenient and food is good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank You for staying with us and Yes we are a pet friendly hotel. We also do not charge a pet fee. So bring along your friend if you wish. We are also located right off hiway 94 and Kellogg so we are close to most attractions without the downtown traffic. I'm glad that you stayed here and hope that when you are in town again you choose us. Remember to ask about our shuttle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#10 of 16 in Saint Paul
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge

Address: 161 St Anthony Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55103-2382 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: £94 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of St. Paul's best hotels, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge provides lodging accommodations near the Xcel Energy Center, Rivercentre Convention Center, The Minnesota's State Capitol, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. We are also convenient to area businesses such as Lawson Software, Ecolab, and 3M and area attractions like the MN Science Museum and the Ordway Theater. When visiting St. Paul, Minnesota make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge your first choice for St. Paul Minnesota hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kelly Hotel Saint Paul
Best Western Kelly Hotel
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing