We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Price for the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Was looking for a moderately priced hotel within walking distance of the Xcel Energy Center while attending a concert. This hotel offered shuttle service to the Xcel Center, which was worth spending a bit more for. Pleasant staff, clean room

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I requested room with view and was first placed on wrong side of building. Had to change rooms after a long trip and late arrival, the clerk offered no assistance getting luggage down then back up again. I found myself having to clean the grimy dust off bathroom counter before I could put down my toiletries. Smoke detector was dangling from ceiling by a wire. I spent an hour with their tech support trying to get their not-so-hi-speed wifi to work. Never rec'd my daily complimentary paper. Housekeeping was pretty stingy with the complimentary items-had to ask for lotion, some days there was only decaf coffee in the room, and FORGET complimentary breakfast here - charges definitely DO apply. The only thing going is the restaurant where service is sketchy but the food is pretty good. This BW has very good proximity to certain destinations, but they are running on the fumes of real customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank d2n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I am a Diamond member with the Best Western Rewards program and I am generally happy with the BW chain. I stay at the Kelly Inn often for business travel because of it's very convenient location. Because I'm a rewards member, I usually get a room upgrade that is wonderful. The staff is great and the rooms are clean. There are 4 gripes that I have consistently, and if these are important to you, you might want to look elsewhere for lodging: 1. Wi-fi works less than half the time and is very slow when it does. 2. TV's have poor reception despite that all are new-looking flat screens. Images are fuzzy and hard to watch. 3. AC does not cool the rooms below 75 degrees no matter how low you set them. 4. No continental or free breakfast, not even complimentary coffee in the lobby. The restaurant is poor and service is slow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Karla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyInnManagement, Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for being a loyal Best Western Rewards member and for bringing these items to our attention. We work every day to make the hotel a better place for our guests to stay at and it troubles us when someone does not have a pleasant experience.

I can assure you that we are look into each and every comment we get seriously and take action to ensure it does not occur in the future. To that end we have recently upgraded out WIFI system that has added 50% more speed, added the new flat screen TV’s you mentioned, addressed the picture issues with our provider and we train our staff to keep our room thermostats at a relaxing temperature when our guests arrive in their room. We also do provide free coffee in each room and our restaurant provides quality food at reasonable prices.

If you have any further comments you are always able to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here during the Minnesota Wild playoffs. The hotel is clean and comfortable, comfortable beds. The staff is helpful, the restaurant onsite is decent. Appreciated the shuttle to the Wild games at the X, very convenient. The shuttle bus driver was very friendly too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and the restaurant is very good and inexpensive. The availability of a shuttle makes enjoying the city life of downtown St. Paul very easy. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is the best hotel experience we have ever had at the MN State FFA Convention. The management and staff was fabulous and our group was just treated wonderfully. The hot breakfast was a wonderful surprise and was much appreciated by all the FFA students. It really meant a lot to have food in their bellies to be able to function in their competitions. The study room was a great adder that was very instrumental in this year’s last minute cram session, which helped them to obtain two state winning teams (forestry and wildlife) and a second place team (small animals) amongst his other teams’ accomplishments.

Please know that your hospitality was much appreciated and the Grand Rapids FFA chapter will be seeing you next year!

Thank you for being a FFA supporter!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a good hotel to stay at. We have stayed here many times. They have a free shuttle to the X Cell Center. They don't charge to park in their parking lot. All the other hotels in downtown St Paul area charges to park in their parking lot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank jodi926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#10 of 16 in Saint Paul
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge

Address: 161 St Anthony Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55103-2382 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: £94 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of St. Paul's best hotels, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge provides lodging accommodations near the Xcel Energy Center, Rivercentre Convention Center, The Minnesota's State Capitol, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. We are also convenient to area businesses such as Lawson Software, Ecolab, and 3M and area attractions like the MN Science Museum and the Ordway Theater. When visiting St. Paul, Minnesota make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge your first choice for St. Paul Minnesota hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kelly Hotel Saint Paul
Best Western Kelly Hotel
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing