We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excell center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
grand forks, United States
1 review
“excell center”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

don't stay here the service is horrible no one speaks English. the coursity van driver thinks he is trying out for nascar. people don't care about the hotel price is ridicoulour for the area/ just don't do it its not worth the trouble

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    128
    66
    38
    26
See reviews for
144
70
25
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having the words "best" and "plus" in this hotel's name could be considered false advertising. This property is tired and not clean. On the "plus" side, though, is the staff: very friendly and helpful. I had encounters with the front desk staff, the shuttle drivers, and house keeping staff and found everyone to be sincerely warm and inviting. The on-site restaurant/bar has a decent breakfast, and the bar makes good cocktails and serves very cold beer. This property was chosen by our company's travel arranger for a trade show event. Although less than a mile from the Saint Paul River Center, this hotel is not within walking distance as you would have to cross not one, but two interstate highways. A closer choice would be the Holiday Inn. Finally, your room choices are to overlook I-35, or a very old Sears store that has leased out its second floor to the DMV.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Cleanliness of the room was very shoddy. Family members also staying here had a nonsmoking room that someone was clearly smoking heavily in. Received some $'s off bill but could not be moved due to capacity. The later in the night pizza we had at the bar/restaurant was alright. (Not good when a frozen pizza is the best thing you can say about a hotel stay.) The breakfast was terrible, don't bother, you're better off finding a mcdonalds.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank twoandamunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My experience at this Best Western Plus Kelly Inn has been pretty good. The service I received from the staff all around has been positive, from the front desk to the ladies who came to clean the room. Breakfast is where things got tricky, but that's because they were overwhelmed with all the SEIU staff coming in and out with what looks like two waitresses.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dieu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our stay at the Kelly Inn was awesome. The room was nice and clean, service was quick and friendly. We travel to St. Paul once a year and have always stayed there and have always had an awesome stay. Totally recommend this hotel. Great location as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I normally use Tripadvisor to search for hotels but even after staying at this one, I haven't looked it up so I honestly don't know what others are saying but this bathroom felt like it hadn't been cleaned. I have pictures of the pee stains on the toilet (NO males with me as I was on a business trip and this picture was taken upon arrival). I stayed for two nights and hoped that the bathroom would get a bit of a cleaning the morning after my first night (it didn't). The gross hair and popcorn on the floor were still there when I checked out. I honestly haven't stayed in any hotel before (even my cheap, 3rd world country hotels) where I didn't think the bathroom wasn't cleaned before my arrival.
The room itself (bathroom aside) was nice. Great desk to work at, fast internet. The remote for the TV must have had dead batteries because that didn't work.
I didn't eat in the restaurant but could smell it every time I stepped into the elevator and it wasn't pleasant (I had a migraine one morning and that about sent me over). The hotel's venting system from the restaurant must include the elevator...it smelled like the deep fryer each and every time I was in the elevator. I didn't have much interaction with staff--I didn't feel that complaining about the bathroom would have gotten me anywhere...I don't want to upset people with key access to my room while I'm working. I
drank the coffee offered in the room (coffee maker) the first day but didn't receive a second coffee packet the second day.
The city was booked due to the all star game so a different hotel was out of the question. I was right by the noisy ice maker and elevator...thank goodness for constant on fan and earplugs to sleep with!

Room Tip: Not by the noisy ice maker and elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maestraWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It is the perfect location for seeing the Capitol, Historical Museum, St. Paul Cathedral and James J. Hill Mansion. We had no idea when we booked hotel how close and convenient it was. Everything was in walking distance. Also, not far from Mall of America and Airport. Would definitely stay here again if we come back to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 604davido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge

Property: Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
Address: 161 St Anthony Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55103-2382 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of St. Paul's best hotels, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge provides lodging accommodations near the Xcel Energy Center, Rivercentre Convention Center, The Minnesota's State Capitol, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. We are also convenient to area businesses such as Lawson Software, Ecolab, and 3M and area attractions like the MN Science Museum and the Ordway Theater. When visiting St. Paul, Minnesota make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge your first choice for St. Paul Minnesota hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kelly Hotel Saint Paul
Best Western Kelly Hotel
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing