We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see and do!”

Minnesota Children's Museum
Ranked #12 of 127 things to do in Saint Paul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Bigger, Better, Bolder Museum is Open! This is our first major renovation since we opened our downtown St. Paul museum in 1995. Children and adults alike delight in our 10 new exhibits and enjoy a variety of new amenities. A glass addition along West Seventh Street houses The Scramble, a four-story climbing adventure. Elsewhere in the new museum, visitors delight in an updated pretend town, get creative in two maker workshops and engineer their own fun in an air-and-water exhibit. Families also enjoy a bigger toddler gallery and step out into a revamped rooftop and backyard. Kids craft their own adventures in a ninja-training course and a carpet skate park. This is play like it’s meant to be. Natural. Joyous. Genuine. Children will explore, experiment, try new things, test their limits, adapt and grow. Each exhibit helps children develop the life skills they need to succeed throughout life — how to think creatively, make plans, analyze problems, tackle challenges, speak and listen, work as part of a team and more.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I took my daughter, who loves Thomas the Train to MCM and she had a blast. With every turn there was something new to see and do.

Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Social Media Coordinator at Minnesota Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thanks for reviewing the Museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

It is a wonderful place to take your kids with you. Even better than an amusement park, my son spent hours on each station. If so good for their brain. They leant and get to know a lot. It's quite huge and totally worth of money. If you are new to children's museum like me. Come for a whole day, for lunch there is subway and a nice Chinese food restaurant out side you can go grab some food comeback in and eat in snack place. Or bring your own food with you. I am so glad that we took our 4 year old here it was a super day for us

Thank Madiha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Social Media Coordinator at Minnesota Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the Museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took a 4 year old and he absolutely loved it! Thomas the Train was the special exhibit, but he wasn't nearly as excited about that as he was the "anthill". He couldn't get enough of this! There were child sized tunnels with a couple of levels. Inside the tunnels, there were chutes, slides and all the kids were the ants, running and exploring the tunnels. He, also, enjoyed the wood shop, where he got to wear goggles and drill wood.
As an adult, you need to be prepared for hundreds of yelling children running around. Unfortunately, many did not appear to have been taught manners. They hogged many hands on activities, so that others never got a turn.
That said, he really enjoyed it, so it was worth it (especially on a rainy day) It is a wonderful place for children.

Thank ladydi50CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Social Media Coordinator at Minnesota Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been going to the MN Children's Museum for the last 10 years and have always had a very positive experience. We have been there with four kids who just turned one year old and they had fun in the Habitot area which is designed especially for the little ones. On summer days, you can get outdoors by heading to the rooftop. They have fun art activities to make and you can choose to play in the sand sculpting area. Just recently went there with a 5 year old, 8 and 10 year old. Even though they have been there multiple times, they still enjoy the Our World permanent exhibit where they can pretend to work in a restaurant, be a postal carrier or a rock star among many other jobs - so fun to interact with kids in this exhibit.

The Museum has a small eating area on the first level where you can bring your own food to eat which is what we often do. They have vending machines with snacks and drinks. Also there is a small selection of food in the gift shop.

3  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Social Media Coordinator at Minnesota Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was the best rainy day play solution!! The sheer volume of outstanding educational play opportunities was astounding. Its location, layout and variety of exhibits were highlights. Parking was a bit dicey but that's to be expected in any downtown area.

The hands on, interactive elements are just what little ones need to learn and grow! Our little one especially loved the water works, the simple machines operation and the Native American exhibit. We missed a lot but I will not hesitate to go back!

1  Thank HSMOFID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Social Media Coordinator at Minnesota Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnesota Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing