We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful houses”
Review of Summit Avenue

Summit Avenue
Ranked #7 of 119 things to do in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old, wealthy St. Paul neighborhood with Victorian mansions.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful houses”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is an amazing street in St. Paul. I try to drive along Summit whenever I can. During the holidays there are beautiful light displays and during the Summer it's a walker or biker's paradise. Just love it. You can't visit St. Paul without checking this out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bigjude007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    75
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An amazing neighborhood”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Architecture, history. We recommend the guided walking tour, which starts at the Hill House. This is one the better preserved accessible 19th century neighborhood of upscale homes we've ever seen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pakrfan-wis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful houses”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you have some time to spare, take this great leisurely stroll down Summit Avenue for the gigantic Victorian homes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
152 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Architecture to die for!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

If you love residential architecture, you've got to walk Summit Avenue in St. Paul. The street has the largest collection of Victorian and Gilded Age houses (actually: mansions) in the United States. There are hundreds upon hundreds of these gorgeous homes, one more beautiful than the next. The most magnificent and massive is the James J. Hill House at one end of Summit Avenue. We had reservations to tour the Hill House but purposely arrived early so we could walk - and gawk! - at the mansions on the rest of the Avenue. We only walked about a mile down Summit. But even in this short distance, we saw breath-takingly beautiful homes. It's worth the trip!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermonters210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Such a Pretty Street to Take a Stroll”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I love this area! Always have and always will! It's worth visiting. If the weather allows, this is a perfect area to talk a walk.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella92694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Summit Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Summit Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing